Do you need an electrical permit in Florida?
By Mario Bailey Last checked
- Always required
- 25
- of 28 jurisdictions
- Conditional
- 3
- depends on size or scope
- Not required
- 0
- exempt outright
Electrical Permit rules nationwide, beyond Florida.
Requirements and size thresholds for electrical permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Florida county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.
Comparing states? See electrical permit rules across every locality we cover.
What to know about electrical permits in Florida
Electrical permits in Virginia cover new wiring, service upgrades, and added circuits, while simple device swaps are often exempt. Costs vary by locality and scope. A licensed electrician is strongly recommended, because electrical work is a common cause of inspection failures and safety issues.
The application steps and inspection sequence for electrical permits come from the model code rather than from Florida law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how an electrical permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Florida jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.
Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.
| Locality | Permit required? | Typical threshold | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alachua County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Brevard County | Conditional | Permits are required for the installation or replacement of electrical wiring, meter cans, and breaker panels; this does not include changing fixtures that do not require moving or changing wiring. | Confirmed on official page |
| Broward County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Charlotte County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Clay County | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Collier County | Yes | Permits shall not be required for the following: ... Electrical: 1. Repair work performed by licensed electrical contractors that does not exceed $1,500.00 in value of materials and labor. 2. Repair or replace existing light fixtures and ceiling fans. 3. Repair or replace electrical wall switches and wall outlet devices of 20 amps or less and 120 volts. 4. Repair/replace low voltage (under 77 volts) devices. | Confirmed on official page |
| Escambia County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Hernando County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Hillsborough County | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Jacksonville | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Lake County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Lee County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Leon County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Manatee County | Conditional | Any alteration of electrical wiring requires a permit. Residential low voltage (wired or wireless) work does not require a permit unless its cost exceeds $5,000 within any 12-month period. Repair or replacement of a wall switch or outlet device rated 20 amps and 120 volts or less does not require a permit. | Confirmed on official page |
| Marion County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Miami-Dade County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Orange County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Osceola County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Palm Beach County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Pasco County | Conditional | Replacement of existing light fixtures or switches and garage door openers on existing electrical are exempt; other electrical work requires a permit and electrical work is excluded from the state exemption for work valued at less than $7,500. | From an official source |
| Pinellas County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Polk County | Yes | Only minor electrical repairs with no extensions or modifications are exempt; all installation, alteration, replacement or extension work, service changes and added outlets or circuits require a permit. | Confirmed on official page |
| Santa Rosa County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Sarasota County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Seminole County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| St. Johns County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| St. Lucie County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Volusia County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| No localities match your filter. | |||
What an electrical permit costs in Florida
25 Florida jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.
No electrical-specific flat fee is published; electrical work falls under the $150.00 minimum base permit fee plus the dollar-value-of-construction fee, per the Building Fee Schedule effective 11/01/2025.
last checked
Brevard's Residential Electrical Permit Application fee table lists a Building Code Review fee of $75.00 for the first $1,000 of job value plus $3.25 per $1,000 thereafter, plus a $25.00 Application Processing Fee and state surcharges of 1.5% (BCA) and 1% (FBC). No effective date is shown.
last checked
Electrical permit is the greater of a $125 minimum base fee or 3.0% of job value, per Section 40.30 of the Building Permits Fee Schedule (Ord. 2025-038, eff. 5-1-25)
last checked
At application: flat fee $90, plus a building fee of 0.004 x ICC valuation (if valuation is $50,000 or more) and a 0.025 x building-fee surcharge.
last checked
FY24/25 Building Fee Schedule, Electrical Permits (Section 208.2), effective January 1, 2025: new residential/mobile home minimum fee $50.00; ampere-service fees from $50.00 (100 amp) to $150.00 (400 amp); electrical sub-feeds $50.00 per tier; existing residential minimum fee $50.00, additional ampere service $0.50 each, panel-run additions/alterations $2.25, air conditioning or electric heat (each) $20.00, and each outlet or lighting connection $0.50. (Resolution No. 2023/2024-97, effective October 1, 2024.)
last checked
Fee Schedule (Resolution 2025-231, effective January 1, 2026), Electrical Permit Review Fees: valuation up to $4,999.99, "$100.00 plus applicable inspection fees as required"; "The minimum for any electrical permit review fee shall be $150.00 per unit or tenant space plus applicable inspection fees as required."
last checked
Electric, Other: $165.00; Low Voltage Electric: $126.56, per Resolution No. 2026-037 (effective March 3, 2026).
last checked
Residential Electrical (General) trade permit fee is $130 flat for inspection-only work with no plan review, full fee due at submission, per Building Permit Fee Schedule effective October 5, 2024
last checked
City Fees schedule (Municipal Code Section 320.409), Electrical Permit Fees, new single-family residential occupancy: $170.00 for a 0-100, 101-150, or 151-200 ampere service, plus $20.00 for each additional 50 amperes or fractional part; a temporary service is $80.00.
last checked
Residential Trades - Electric, Plumbing, Mechanical, Gas (to include new, change-outs, upgrades): $0.03 per square foot, $100 minimum, per the county's FY 2026 Adopted Fee Schedule (Office of Building Services). Electrical work shares this single combined trade-fee line with plumbing, mechanical, and gas; the schedule does not price it separately.
last checked
Fee schedule effective 2026-04-15: $50 application fee and $35 technology fee per application plus an operational support fee; electrical trade plan review $35 initial, inspections $75 per record covering up to 2 inspections
last checked
Fee Schedule, Residential Plan Review/Inspection (sq ft based): Electrical Plan Review $0.10 per sq ft, Electrical Inspection $0.09 per sq ft; standalone trade permits: "Electrical Only Permit Fee $135.00" or "Electrical Minimum Base Fee $90.00" for multi-trade projects.
last checked
Manatee County Development Services Building Fee Schedule, effective 04/01/2023 (R-23-043, R-23-045, R-23-046): Electrical Express (Residential Only) $133; Electrical Standard $133 for residential t-poles, owner-performed work, and commercial alteration, new, renovation, or other work.
last checked
Res Electrical Scope: $100.00, per Resolution 25-R-295 (effective Oct. 1, 2025).
last checked
Residential wiring for new construction, additions, repairs and alterations is $0.11 per square foot of the master permit floor area subject to a $227.90 minimum electrical permit fee, per the county electrical fee sheet (rev 10/25)
last checked
Minimum Electrical Permit fee is $38 flat, scaling with service amperage for new or upgraded service, for example $75 for a 0-150 amp single-phase 240V service, per the FY2025-26 Fee Directory
last checked
Appendix A's Electrical Permit Fees section lists a $125.00 base fee, plus 'Service - Up to 200 AMP' $45.00, 'Service - Each additional 100 AMP up to 1200 AMP' $3.00, 'Service - Each Sub-Feed Panel or Sub-Meter' $4.50, and 'Service - Temporary' $22.50. A separate 'Low Voltage Electric Permit' is $40.00, cited to F.S. 553.793(5). Effective October 1, 2025, per Resolution #25-036R.
last checked
Charged by value of construction with a $75 minimum, per the PZB Building Division fee schedule
last checked
Base fee $45; $10 per system component or feature; low voltage $2 per termination point; alternate method $40 for the first $1,000 of valuation plus $2 per additional $1,000 per posted fee Resolution 18-17
last checked
No flat generic electrical line; the fee defaults to a $100 minimum per required inspection plus $125 minimum plan review when applicable, unless the work matches a listed item, per Electrical Stand Alone Permit Fees section VI of the FY26 BDRS schedule
last checked
Residential electrical permit fee is $85.00 per Construction Fees Resolution 17-025; fees due at permit issuance.
last checked
Resolution No. 2025-29 lists, under Electrical Permits, New Construction, 'Electrical Wiring Permit up to 800 amp (per unit)' at $67.00 (single-family detached) / $133.00 (all other construction), with a higher tier above 800 amp at $150.00 / $300.00.
last checked
Electrical permit fee (single family residential new construction, includes T-pole): $180.00; Base Electrical permit fee (other) $45.00 plus $6.00 per $1,000 value of work. Per the Section 20.10 fee schedule (Resolution 2024-R-139, adopted Dec. 12, 2023).
last checked
Electrical Permit Fees (F.S. 553-80): Permit Issuance Fee $11.00, plus itemized charges such as Simple Permanent Service or Feeder Panel $24.00, Construction Temporary Service $24.00, and Service Change/Increase Amps $19.00 (plus $42.00 if over 800 amps), per St. Johns County's Schedule of Fees and Services, Exhibit A (amended 07/21/2026).
last checked
Volusia County Building Permit Fee Schedule (Resolution 2005-191, as revised October 1, 2025), Exhibit B, Electrical Permit Fee Schedule: "BUILDINGS: All Electrical Permits - Minimum Fee ..... $58.30 (Includes all electrical wiring or fixture installations)", with additional per-ampere fees for new or increased service.
last checked
Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.
Common questions about electrical permits in Florida
- Do I need an electrical permit in Florida?
- In most of Florida, yes. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Florida city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 28 Florida jurisdictions we have verified for electrical work, 25 require a permit outright, 3 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
- Is there an electrical permit exemption in Florida?
- 3 of the 28 Florida jurisdictions we cover set a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one Florida county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each Florida jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.
Ready to move on your electrical permit?
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
Planning more than an electrical permit? Check your whole project