Electrical Permit in Gilbert, Arizona
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
Electrical installations, alterations, repairs, and replacements
Issued byDevelopment Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division)
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Gilbert applies the Electrical Code of the Town of Gilbert, currently the 2017 NEC adopted by Ordinance 2739 effective January 1, 2020, to the installation, alteration, repair, and replacement of electrical systems. Residential electrical permits are available through the One Stop Shop portal, and submittals require a site plan and one-line diagram per the Miscellaneous Residential Checklist. An individual residential electrical permit costs $150 with a plan review goal of 3 working days.
Typical threshold: Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Electrical installations, alterations, repairs, and replacements
What an electrical permit costs in Gilbert
How Gilbert compares in Arizona
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. |
| Gilbertthis page | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified |
| Peoria | It depends | Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. |
| Phoenix | Permit required | Not specified |
| Pima County | It depends | New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not. |
How to apply in Gilbert
In Gilbert, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Gilbert, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Gilbert, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division) sets the exact checklist for Gilbert.
Where to apply in Gilbert:
Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division)
- 90 E. Civic Center Drive, Gilbert, AZ 85296
- Phone: (480) 503-6700
- Email: onestopshop@gilbertaz.gov
Electrical Permit in Gilbert compared with nearby Arizona localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Arizona schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. | Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). | |
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. | Fee schedule sets a flat $100 fee only for electrical service upgrades of 400 amps or... | |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified | Flat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120... | |
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified | A stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table... | |
| Peoria | It depends | Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Gilbert, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Gilbert: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Gilbert: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Gilbert: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Gilbert: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Gilbert: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Gilbert: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Gilbert: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Gilbert permit portal or by phone at (480) 503-6700.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Gilbert
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Typical threshold: Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. Usually needed: Electrical installations, alterations, repairs, and replacements.
- Budget the fee. Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Gilbert, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Gilbert permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division). Phone: (480) 503-6700. Address: 90 E. Civic Center Drive, Gilbert, AZ 85296.
- Plan for inspections. In Gilbert, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Gilbert?
- Gilbert applies the Electrical Code of the Town of Gilbert, currently the 2017 NEC adopted by Ordinance 2739 effective January 1, 2020, to the installation, alteration, repair, and replacement of electrical systems. Residential electrical permits are available through the One Stop Shop portal, and submittals require a site plan and one-line diagram per the Miscellaneous Residential Checklist. An individual residential electrical permit costs $150 with a plan review goal of 3 working days. Always confirm with the Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division) before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Gilbert?
- Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- How long does an electrical permit take in Gilbert?
- Plan review goal 3 working days per review for electric, plumbing, mechanical. Times can vary by workload and project scope, so confirm with the office.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Gilbert?
- You can apply through the Gilbert permit portal or contact the Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division) directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Gilbert?
- Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Gilbert applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Gilbert
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | Decks are not addressed in Gilbert's published amendments to the IRC R105.2 exemption list, so permit requirements follow the unamended 2018 IRC provisions, which Gilbert's own pages do not restate. | If a permit is required, valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50 |
| Fence Permit | It depends | Gilbert's amended IRC R105.2 exempts only fences not over 3 feet high; the Town's pool barrier policy statement says internal fences over 3 feet in height require building permits and inspections. | Walls/Fences fee $180 as a separate single-family permit, or $120 when combined with a... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Gilbert's amended IRC R105.2 mechanical exemption list includes a replacement-based exemption and cross-references the exemption for water heating appliance replacements by an Arizona licensed contractor. | Individual Mechanical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). |
| Patio Permit | It depends | Only one-story detached non-habitable accessory structures up to 200 square feet are exempt from permit; attached patio covers and larger structures require a building permit. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50 |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Water softeners and like-for-like replacements of gas or electric water heating appliances (not tankless) installed by an Arizona licensed contractor are exempt from permit. | Individual Plumbing Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Non-permanent wading pools of rubber or plastic holding no more than 18 inches of water are excepted from the pool enclosure regulations. | Swimming pool permit fee $300 for permanent in-ground pools/spas and $140 for portable... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | Re-roofing not requiring a structural change is exempt from permit; a re-roof that involves a structural change requires a building permit. | If a permit is required, valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50 |
| Shed Permit | It depends | Structures less than 200 square feet do not require a permit; a permit is required at 200 square feet or larger, or if the shed has electrical or plumbing utilities or is connected to the house or another structure. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50 for work valued up to $1,100 |
| Solar Permit | It depends | Solar photovoltaic systems and solar hot water heating systems are exempt from permit when installed by an Arizona licensed contractor using equipment listed and labeled by a nationally recognized third-party testing agency. | No Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies |
Electrical Permit in other Arizona localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Gilbert documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Gilbert was verified. 5 official sources: gilbertaz.gov, gilbertaz.gov, gilbertaz.gov, gilbertaz.gov, gilbertaz.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Arizona localities