Electrical Permit in Peoria, Arizona
It depends
Sometimes, depending on the project
New wiring or circuits, panel upgrades, sub-panels and service changes
Issued byDevelopment and Engineering Department, Building Development
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Peoria adopts the 2017 National Electrical Code with amendments, and its amended Section 105.2 lists narrow electrical exemptions such as cord-and-plug equipment, in-kind replacement of small switches and receptacles, and in-kind breaker replacement up to 125 amperes other than a service disconnect. Other electrical work, including panel upgrades and sub-panels, requires a permit; the city notes derate or panel upgrade permits must be issued before a related solar permit. Miscellaneous minor electrical permits qualify for over the counter review by appointment, applied for with the 400M application through the Development Services portal.
Typical threshold: Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
New wiring or circuits, panel upgrades, sub-panels and service changes
What an electrical permit costs in Peoria
How Peoria compares in Arizona
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. |
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified |
| Peoriathis page | It depends | Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. |
| Phoenix | Permit required | Not specified |
| Pima County | It depends | New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not. |
How to apply in Peoria
In Peoria, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Peoria, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Peoria, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Development and Engineering Department, Building Development sets the exact checklist for Peoria.
Where to apply in Peoria:
Development and Engineering Department, Building Development
- 9875 N. 85th Avenue, Peoria, AZ 85345
- Phone: 623-773-7225
- Email: building.applications@peoriaaz.gov
Electrical Permit in Peoria compared with nearby Arizona localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Arizona schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peoria | It depends | Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev... | |
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. | Fee schedule sets a flat $100 fee only for electrical service upgrades of 400 amps or... | |
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. | Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). | |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified | Flat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120... | |
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified | A stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Peoria, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Peoria: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Peoria: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Peoria: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Peoria: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Peoria: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Peoria: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Peoria: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Peoria permit portal or by phone at 623-773-7225.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Peoria
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. Usually needed: New wiring or circuits, panel upgrades, sub-panels and service changes.
- Budget the fee. Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev 9/2025). Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Peoria, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Peoria permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Development and Engineering Department, Building Development. Phone: 623-773-7225. Address: 9875 N. 85th Avenue, Peoria, AZ 85345.
- Plan for inspections. In Peoria, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Peoria?
- Peoria adopts the 2017 National Electrical Code with amendments, and its amended Section 105.2 lists narrow electrical exemptions such as cord-and-plug equipment, in-kind replacement of small switches and receptacles, and in-kind breaker replacement up to 125 amperes other than a service disconnect. Other electrical work, including panel upgrades and sub-panels, requires a permit; the city notes derate or panel upgrade permits must be issued before a related solar permit. Miscellaneous minor electrical permits qualify for over the counter review by appointment, applied for with the 400M application through the Development Services portal. Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Peoria?
- Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev 9/2025). See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Peoria?
- You can apply through the Peoria permit portal or contact the Development and Engineering Department, Building Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Peoria?
- Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Peoria applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Peoria
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | Platforms not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade that are not over a basement or story below and are not part of an accessible route are exempt from a permit. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars |
| Fence Permit | It depends | Fences not over 3 feet high are exempt; fences over 3 feet and up to 7 feet require a building permit demonstrating zoning and site drainage compliance, and walls over 7 feet also require structural calculations. | Fence valuation for permit fees is 1.50 dollars per linear foot under 3 feet, 4 dollars... |
| HVAC Permit | It depends | Like-for-like replacement by a licensed contractor of an outdoor refrigeration unit of 5 tons or less is exempt, while replacement of equipment located inside the building and any new or altered mechanical system requires a permit. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev... |
| Patio Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars |
| Plumbing Permit | It depends | Leak repairs, clearing stoppages and in-kind replacement of water closets, valves or fixtures are exempt, and a like-for-like water heater replacement in a one- or two-family dwelling is exempt only when performed by a licensed contractor; relocating or replacing concealed piping, valves or fixtures requires a permit. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Prefabricated above-ground pools accessory to a dwelling holding not more than 5,000 gallons are exempt from a pool permit, but the required barrier must still be permitted. | Swimming Pool, Spa and/or Hot Tub Permit is 345 dollars and Swimming Pool Plot Plan... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | Re-roofing with the same type of material as the original roofing is exempt, provided not more than two layers of asphalt shingles are applied over an existing asphalt shingle roof; other roof replacements require a permit. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | One-story detached accessory structures used as tool and storage sheds, playhouses and similar uses are exempt from a building permit when the floor area is not greater than 200 square feet. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or less/8K or... |
Electrical Permit in other Arizona localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Peoria documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Peoria was verified. 6 official sources: codelibrary.amlegal.com, peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Development and Engineering Department, Building Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Arizona localities