Electrical Permit in Mesa, Arizona
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For new electrical circuits, service panel work, or electrical installations
Issued byCity of Mesa Development Services Department
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Typical job value
- $384,385
- declared valuation
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required in Mesa for all electrical work including new circuits, service panel upgrades, and wiring installations. Mesa adopted the 2023 National Electrical Code effective January 8, 2026. Individual electrical trade permits are required for all such work. Applications are submitted through the Mesa E-Permit Online Portal.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For new electrical circuits, service panel work, or electrical installations
What an electrical permit costs in Mesa
How Mesa compares in Arizona
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. |
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Mesathis page | Permit required | Not specified |
| Peoria | It depends | Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. |
| Phoenix | Permit required | Not specified |
| Pima County | It depends | New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not. |
How to apply in Mesa
In Mesa, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Mesa, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Mesa, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of Mesa Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for Mesa.
Where to apply in Mesa:
City of Mesa Development Services Department
- 55 N Center Street, Mesa, AZ 85201
- Phone: 480-644-4273
- Email: PermitServices@MesaAZ.gov
Electrical Permit in Mesa compared with nearby Arizona localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Arizona schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified | A stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table... | |
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. | Fee schedule sets a flat $100 fee only for electrical service upgrades of 400 amps or... | |
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. | Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). | |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified | Flat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120... | |
| Peoria | It depends | Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. | Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Mesa, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Mesa: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Mesa: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Mesa: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Mesa: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Mesa: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Mesa: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Mesa: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Mesa permit portal or by phone at 480-644-4273.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Mesa
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For new electrical circuits, service panel work, or electrical installations.
- Budget the fee. A stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table, $220 minimum for the $0 to $8,333 bracket, plus a 4% technology improvement fee capped at $800, per the Development Services Schedule of Fees (Ord. 5524, Dec 2025). Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Mesa, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Mesa permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Mesa Development Services Department. Phone: 480-644-4273. Address: 55 N Center Street, Mesa, AZ 85201.
- Plan for inspections. In Mesa, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
First-time inspection pass rates in Mesa
Measured from Mesa's own inspection event log: how often each inspection type passes on the first visit.
- Building Final: 72% pass first time (n=4,756)
- Strap / Shear: 81% pass first time (n=3,785)
- Pre-Slab / Int. Footing: 90% pass first time (n=3,592)
- Plumbing Underground: 88% pass first time (n=3,578)
- Framing: 61% pass first time (n=3,463)
to . Source: City of Mesa permit inspections (open data). Full study.
Permitting activity in Mesa
In 2024, Mesa authorized permits for 2,735 new residential housing units (1,367 single-family, 1,368 in multi-family buildings), valued at $913M, up from 2,162 the year before. That works out to about 5.2 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 528,159.
About Mesa
Mesa has about 221,129 housing units. The median home is valued at $364,300, against a median household income of $78,779. About 64% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1988.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Mesa?
- An electrical permit is required in Mesa for all electrical work including new circuits, service panel upgrades, and wiring installations. Mesa adopted the 2023 National Electrical Code effective January 8, 2026. Individual electrical trade permits are required for all such work. Applications are submitted through the Mesa E-Permit Online Portal. Always confirm with the City of Mesa Development Services Department before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Mesa?
- A stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table, $220 minimum for the $0 to $8,333 bracket, plus a 4% technology improvement fee capped at $800, per the Development Services Schedule of Fees (Ord. 5524, Dec 2025). See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Mesa?
- You can apply through the Mesa permit portal or contact the City of Mesa Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Mesa?
- Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Mesa applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Mesa
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No separate deck line |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences under 6 feet in height do not require a permit; fences 6 feet or taller require a building permit | No general fence fee line (the only named fence line is a $120 per-inspection Desert... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Stand-alone mechanical work is valuation based via the Residential Rate Table, $220... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | open ground-level patio slabs do not require a permit; covered patio structures or enclosed patio rooms require a permit | Patio covers and enclosures are valuation based via the Residential Rate Table, $220... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | A stand-alone plumbing permit is valuation based via the Residential Rate Table, $220... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat all-inclusive fee of $330 for a residential in-ground swimming pool or spa, plus a... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roofing with identical original materials does not require a permit; structural changes or different materials require a permit | A like-for-like or better roof covering replacement needs no permit and no fee per the... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | detached structures under 200 sq ft without utilities are exempt; structures 200 sq ft or larger or those with utilities require a permit | Sheds under 200 sq ft with no utility connections need no permit per the Residential... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Most residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed Arizona... |
Electrical Permit in other Arizona localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Mesa documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Mesa was verified. 2 official sources: mesaaz.gov, mesaaz.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Mesa Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Arizona localities