Electrical Permit in Pima County, Arizona
It depends
Sometimes, depending on the project
For new electric outlet or fixture installations, or any photovoltaic system, in unincorporated Pima County
Issued byPima County Development Services Department
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Pima County's official "Do I Need a Permit?" list requires a permit for new electric outlet or fixture installations and for photovoltaic systems or generators. It exempts low-voltage wiring and devices (under 25 volts, not exceeding 50 volt-amps), temporary decorative holiday lighting, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets and fixtures in the same location. Applications are submitted through the county's online permitting portal.
Typical threshold: New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For new electric outlet or fixture installations, or any photovoltaic system, in unincorporated Pima County
What an electrical permit costs in Pima County
How Pima County compares in Arizona
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. |
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified |
| Peoria | It depends | Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. |
| Phoenix | Permit required | Not specified |
| Pima Countythis page | It depends | New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not. |
How to apply in Pima County
In Pima County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Pima County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Pima County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Pima County Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for Pima County.
Where to apply in Pima County:
Pima County Development Services Department
- 201 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701
- Phone: 520-724-9000
Electrical Permit in Pima County compared with nearby Arizona localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Arizona schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pima County | It depends | New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not. | Flat fee tiered by scope: minor work such as a service upgrade, reconnect, or up to five... | |
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. | Fee schedule sets a flat $100 fee only for electrical service upgrades of 400 amps or... | |
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. | Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). | |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified | Flat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120... | |
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified | A stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Pima County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Pima County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Pima County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Pima County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Pima County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Pima County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Pima County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Pima County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Pima County permit portal or by phone at 520-724-9000.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Pima County
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not. Usually needed: For new electric outlet or fixture installations, or any photovoltaic system, in unincorporated Pima County.
- Budget the fee. Flat fee tiered by scope: minor work such as a service upgrade, reconnect, or up to five new circuits is $27, moderate work such as rewiring a single family dwelling is $248, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 2026-07-01. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Pima County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Pima County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Pima County Development Services Department. Phone: 520-724-9000. Address: 201 N. Stone Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701.
- Plan for inspections. In Pima County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Pima County?
- Pima County's official "Do I Need a Permit?" list requires a permit for new electric outlet or fixture installations and for photovoltaic systems or generators. It exempts low-voltage wiring and devices (under 25 volts, not exceeding 50 volt-amps), temporary decorative holiday lighting, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets and fixtures in the same location. Applications are submitted through the county's online permitting portal. New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Pima County?
- Flat fee tiered by scope: minor work such as a service upgrade, reconnect, or up to five new circuits is $27, moderate work such as rewiring a single family dwelling is $248, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 2026-07-01. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Pima County?
- You can apply through the Pima County permit portal or contact the Pima County Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Pima County?
- Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Pima County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Pima County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | Decks and non-structural flat work not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade, not over any basement or story below, and not part of an accessible route do not require a permit; a deck greater than 30 inches above finished grade or floor level requires a permit. | Assessed as a building permit: base fee $69 plus 1.096% of the ICC square foot... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | Non-retaining walls and fences no more than 7 feet in height do not require a permit; fences taller than 7 feet require a building permit. | Fee is $0.25 per lineal foot plus the standard $69 base permit fee, per the Development... |
| HVAC Permit | It depends | New or replacement central air conditioners/furnaces, mini-split systems, and modifying or replacing duct work require a permit; portable cooling, heating, or ventilation units, and replacing an existing evaporative cooler with a like unit, do not. | Flat fee tiered by scope: minor work such as a residential air conditioner unit is $27... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | An open, ground-level patio slab counts as non-structural flat work not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade and does not require a permit; enclosing a porch or patio (adding walls, screens, or a roof enclosure) requires a permit. | No patio-specific line |
| Plumbing Permit | It depends | New pipe work, propane tanks, septic systems, sewer connections, solar water heaters, water heater replacement, and new dishwashers require a permit; clearing stoppages or repairing leaks that do not involve replacing valves, pipes, or fixtures, fixture swaps (sinks, toilets, tubs), and grade-supported water tanks up to 5,000 gallons do not. | Flat fee tiered by scope: minor work such as a water heater or a gas, water, or drain... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | Pre-fabricated residential pools installed entirely above ground require a building permit once they exceed 18 inches in depth and 5,000 gallons; any in-ground or custom-built residential pool or spa requires a building permit through Administrative Review regardless of size. | Not published |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | Re-roofing with like materials (tile, shingles, etc.) does not require a permit; structural roof work requires a permit. | No fee for re-roofing with like materials since no permit is required per the county's... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | One-story detached tool and storage sheds, playhouses, and similar non-habitable accessory structures are the category Pima County's own adopted code amendments refer to as "structures exempted from permits"; the standard exemption size carried in the adopted IRC for this category is 200 sq ft with no electrical, plumbing, or mechanical connections, though Pima's own published guidance pages do not restate that figure directly. | No shed-specific line |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential photovoltaic installation is treated as minor electrical work, flat fee $27... |
Electrical Permit in other Arizona localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Pima County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Pima County was verified. 1 official source: pima.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Pima County Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Arizona localities