Arizona / Maricopa County

Electrical Permit in Maricopa County, Arizona

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For service upgrades new circuits or electrical installations

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byMaricopa County Planning and Development Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required in unincorporated Maricopa County for service upgrades, new circuits, and electrical installations. Like-for-like electrical repairs and service upgrades up to 400 amps are available as expedited permit types through the Permit Center. Applications are submitted online through the county Permit Center portal.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For service upgrades new circuits or electrical installations

What an electrical permit costs in Maricopa County

Line item
electrical permitBy formulaFlat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120 over 400 amps, per the Summary of the Fee Schedule flat rate table.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Maricopa County compares in Arizona

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ChandlerIt dependsLike-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit.
GilbertPermit requiredExemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16.
Maricopa Countythis pagePermit requiredNot specified
MesaPermit requiredNot specified
PeoriaIt dependsMinor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit.
PhoenixPermit requiredNot specified
Pima CountyIt dependsNew electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not.

How to apply in Maricopa County

In Maricopa County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Maricopa County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Maricopa County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Maricopa County Planning and Development Department sets the exact checklist for Maricopa County.

Where to apply in Maricopa County:

Maricopa County Planning and Development Department

  • 301 West Jefferson Street Phoenix AZ 85003
  • Phone: 602-506-3301

Electrical Permit in Maricopa County compared with nearby Arizona localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Arizona schedule saysVerified
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120...
ChandlerIt dependsLike-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit.Fee schedule sets a flat $100 fee only for electrical service upgrades of 400 amps or...
GilbertPermit requiredExemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16.Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026).
MesaPermit requiredNot specifiedA stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table...
PeoriaIt dependsMinor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Maricopa County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Maricopa County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Maricopa County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Maricopa County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Maricopa County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Maricopa County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Maricopa County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Maricopa County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Maricopa County permit portal or by phone at 602-506-3301.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Maricopa County

In 2024, Maricopa County authorized permits for 36,380 new residential housing units (21,667 single-family, 14,713 in multi-family buildings), valued at $9.1B, down from 38,292 the year before. That works out to about 7.8 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 4,673,096.

About Maricopa County

Maricopa County has about 1,850,862 housing units. The median home is valued at $414,700, against a median household income of $85,518. About 65% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1992.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Maricopa County?
An electrical permit is required in unincorporated Maricopa County for service upgrades, new circuits, and electrical installations. Like-for-like electrical repairs and service upgrades up to 400 amps are available as expedited permit types through the Permit Center. Applications are submitted online through the county Permit Center portal. Always confirm with the Maricopa County Planning and Development Department before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Maricopa County?
Flat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120 over 400 amps, per the Summary of the Fee Schedule flat rate table. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Maricopa County?
You can apply through the Maricopa County permit portal or contact the Maricopa County Planning and Development Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Maricopa County?
Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Maricopa County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Maricopa County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo deck-specific line item, valuation-based building permit fee under Table 1-A with a...
Fence PermitIt dependsany fence over 1 foot in height requires at minimum a drainage clearance permit; fences over 6 feet require a building permit and zoning clearanceValuation-based: fence material valued per lineal foot from $3 (barbed wire) to $18...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat fee of $50 for mechanical work under the Minor Self Service flat rate schedule, per...
Patio PermitIt dependsattached patio cover or patio enclosure connected to the house requires a building permit; ground-level open patio slab does notNo flat patio fee
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat fee of $50 to install or replace plumbing equipment, fixtures, or devices under...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedIn-ground pools are valued at $200 per perimeter foot with the Table 1-A fee applied to...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsre-roofing is exempt unless in a wildfire hazard zone or structural changes are involvedNo permit or fee for a like-kind reroof using the same material as the original roofing...
Shed PermitIt dependsstructures under 200 sq ft with no electrical plumbing or mechanical are exempt from a building permit; all others require a permitNon-habitable accessory buildings are valued as a private garage with the Table 1-A fee...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140 plan review...

Electrical Permit in other Arizona localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Maricopa County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Maricopa County was verified. 2 official sources: maricopa.gov, maricopa.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Maricopa County Planning and Development Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Arizona localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Maricopa County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes