Arizona / Scottsdale

Electrical Permit in Scottsdale, Arizona

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For installation alteration or repair of any electrical wiring on buildings pools or equipment

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byCity of Scottsdale Planning and Development Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required in Scottsdale for installing, altering, or repairing electrical wiring on any building, structure, swimming pool, or mechanical equipment. Adding or altering electrical circuits requires a permit. Plan review is generally not required for standard single-family residential electrical work. Applications are submitted through the Scottsdale SPUR portal.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For installation alteration or repair of any electrical wiring on buildings pools or equipment

What an electrical permit costs in Scottsdale

Line item
electrical permitBy formulaTypical single-family electrical work (rewire, panel relocation, service upgrade to 400 amp) is a no-plan-review Minimum Permit, flat $121, per the FY26/27 Permit Fee Schedule - Miscellaneous (Res. 13661); larger-scope work prices differently.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Scottsdale compares in Arizona

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ChandlerIt dependsLike-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit.
GilbertPermit requiredExemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16.
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specified
MesaPermit requiredNot specified
PeoriaIt dependsMinor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit.
PhoenixPermit requiredNot specified
Scottsdalethis pagePermit requiredNot specified

How to apply in Scottsdale

In Scottsdale, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Scottsdale, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Scottsdale, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of Scottsdale Planning and Development Department sets the exact checklist for Scottsdale.

Where to apply in Scottsdale:

City of Scottsdale Planning and Development Department

  • 7447 E. Indian School Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
  • Phone: 480-312-3111

Electrical Permit in Scottsdale compared with nearby Arizona localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Arizona schedule saysVerified
ScottsdalePermit requiredNot specifiedTypical single-family electrical work (rewire, panel relocation, service upgrade to 400...
ChandlerIt dependsLike-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit.Fee schedule sets a flat $100 fee only for electrical service upgrades of 400 amps or...
GilbertPermit requiredExemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16.Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026).
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120...
MesaPermit requiredNot specifiedA stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Scottsdale, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Scottsdale: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Scottsdale: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Scottsdale: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Scottsdale: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Scottsdale: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Scottsdale: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Scottsdale: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Scottsdale permit portal or by phone at 480-312-3111.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Scottsdale

In 2024, Scottsdale authorized permits for 1,320 new residential housing units (403 single-family, 917 in multi-family buildings), valued at $483M, up from 1,067 the year before. That works out to about 5 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 262,647.

About Scottsdale

Scottsdale has about 138,422 housing units. The median home is valued at $709,900, against a median household income of $107,372. About 68% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1990.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Scottsdale?
An electrical permit is required in Scottsdale for installing, altering, or repairing electrical wiring on any building, structure, swimming pool, or mechanical equipment. Adding or altering electrical circuits requires a permit. Plan review is generally not required for standard single-family residential electrical work. Applications are submitted through the Scottsdale SPUR portal. Always confirm with the City of Scottsdale Planning and Development Department before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Scottsdale?
Typical single-family electrical work (rewire, panel relocation, service upgrade to 400 amp) is a no-plan-review Minimum Permit, flat $121, per the FY26/27 Permit Fee Schedule - Miscellaneous (Res. 13661); larger-scope work prices differently. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Scottsdale?
You can apply through the Scottsdale permit portal or contact the City of Scottsdale Planning and Development Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Scottsdale?
Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Scottsdale applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Scottsdale

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Fence PermitIt dependswalls and fences 3 feet or shorter do not require a permit except retaining walls; fences over 3 feet require a building permitFence walls are a $237 base fee plus $0.27 per linear foot, per the FY26/27 Permit Fee...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedA furnace or AC changeout is a no-plan-review Minimum Permit, flat $121, per the FY26/27...
Patio PermitIt dependsopen patio slabs not more than 30 inches above grade do not require a permit; covered patio structures and patio enclosures do require a permitPatio covers are permitted as a covered non-A/C addition, $237 base fee plus $0.54 per...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedTypical single-family plumbing work (water line repair, water heater, sewer line repair)...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedAttached pools and spas are $0.61 per square foot plus a $237 base fee and a $195...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsre-roofing with similar materials does not require a permit; new roof installation or complete replacement requires a permitSame-material re-shingling or retiling needs no permit so no fee applies per the city's...
Shed PermitIt dependsdetached non-habitable structures under 200 sq ft without utilities are exempt from a building permit; larger structures or those with utilities require a permitA shed needing a permit is priced as a Single Family Detached Structure, $237 base fee...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $168 residential solar permit fee per the FY26/27 Permit Fee Schedule -...

Electrical Permit in other Arizona localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Scottsdale documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Scottsdale was verified. 2 official sources: scottsdaleaz.gov, scottsdaleaz.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Scottsdale Planning and Development Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Arizona localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Scottsdale permit record

Permit required
Get quotes