Electrical Permit in Phoenix, Arizona
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For new electrical circuits, service upgrades, or electrical installations beyond minor repairs
Issued byCity of Phoenix Planning and Development Department
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required in Phoenix for new wiring, additional circuits, and service panel upgrades. Minor electrical repairs such as replacing switches, outlets, or fixtures in kind do not require a permit. Electrical work associated with pools and solar systems requires separate electrical permits. Applications are submitted through the SHAPE PHX portal.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For new electrical circuits, service upgrades, or electrical installations beyond minor repairs
What an electrical permit costs in Phoenix
How Phoenix compares in Arizona
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. |
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified |
| Peoria | It depends | Minor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit. |
| Phoenixthis page | Permit required | Not specified |
| Pima County | It depends | New electric outlet/fixture installations and photovoltaic systems or generators require a permit; wiring/devices operating under 25 volts and not exceeding 50 volt-amps, and like-for-like repair or replacement of switches, controls, overcurrent devices, fixed motors, transformers, or outlets/fixtures in the same location, do not. |
How to apply in Phoenix
In Phoenix, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Phoenix, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Phoenix, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department sets the exact checklist for Phoenix.
Where to apply in Phoenix:
City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department
- 200 West Washington Street, Second Floor, Phoenix, AZ 85003
- Phone: 602-262-7811
- Email: residential.building@phoenix.gov
Electrical Permit in Phoenix compared with nearby Arizona localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Arizona schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits... | |
| Chandler | It depends | Like-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit. | Fee schedule sets a flat $100 fee only for electrical service upgrades of 400 amps or... | |
| Gilbert | Permit required | Exemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16. | Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026). | |
| Maricopa County | Permit required | Not specified | Flat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120... | |
| Mesa | Permit required | Not specified | A stand-alone electrical permit is valuation based on the same Residential Rate Table... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Phoenix, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Phoenix: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Phoenix: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Phoenix: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Phoenix: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Phoenix: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Phoenix: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Phoenix: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Phoenix permit portal or by phone at 602-262-7811.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Phoenix
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For new electrical circuits, service upgrades, or electrical installations beyond minor repairs.
- Budget the fee. Electrical permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits under Table A, minimum $195 base fee for valuation up to $1,000 then a rising per-$1,000 rate per the PDD Fee Schedule effective 1/20/2026. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Phoenix, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Phoenix permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department. Phone: 602-262-7811. Address: 200 West Washington Street, Second Floor, Phoenix, AZ 85003.
- Plan for inspections. In Phoenix, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Phoenix
In 2024, Phoenix authorized permits for 8,997 new residential housing units (4,062 single-family, 4,935 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.4B, down from 14,468 the year before. That works out to about 5.3 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,708,127.
About Phoenix
Phoenix has about 642,867 housing units. The median home is valued at $381,900, against a median household income of $77,041. About 57% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1984.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Phoenix?
- An electrical permit is required in Phoenix for new wiring, additional circuits, and service panel upgrades. Minor electrical repairs such as replacing switches, outlets, or fixtures in kind do not require a permit. Electrical work associated with pools and solar systems requires separate electrical permits. Applications are submitted through the SHAPE PHX portal. Always confirm with the City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Phoenix?
- Electrical permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits under Table A, minimum $195 base fee for valuation up to $1,000 then a rising per-$1,000 rate per the PDD Fee Schedule effective 1/20/2026. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Phoenix?
- You can apply through the Phoenix permit portal or contact the City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Phoenix?
- Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Phoenix applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Phoenix
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | platforms or decks not more than 30 inches above grade do not require a permit; elevated or attached decks do require a permit | Deck permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits under... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences and walls over 3 feet tall require a permit; fences under 3 feet tall are exempt | Residential fences carry a $98 minimum permit fee for project valuations of $1 to... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | HVAC (mechanical) permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building... |
| Patio Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Patio permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Plumbing permits have no dedicated fee line (water heaters get the $98 minimum tier)... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential pool and spa permits carry a minimum $234 permit fee plus a $30 aquatics... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roofing with same material as original is exempt; more than two layers of asphalt shingles over existing asphalt or structural changes require a permit | Roof replacement permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | detached structures without utilities at or under 200 sq ft are exempt; structures over 200 sq ft or with utilities require a permit | Shed permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits under... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with plan review... |
Electrical Permit in other Arizona localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Phoenix documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Phoenix was verified. 2 official sources: phoenix.gov, phoenix.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Arizona localities