Arizona / Phoenix

Solar Permit in Phoenix, Arizona

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential rooftop solar PV system

From an official source Verified

Issued byCity of Phoenix Planning and Development Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A building and electrical permit is required for all residential solar PV installations in Phoenix. Phoenix accepts SolarAPP+ instant approvals for eligible single-family and duplex rooftop systems. The Phoenix Fire Department requires a separate fire permit for PV and battery energy storage systems. SolarAPP+ applications can be emailed to pdd.records@phoenix.gov.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential rooftop solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Phoenix

Line item
solar permitBy formulaResidential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with plan review and 3 inspections down to $293 administrative fee with no plan review and 1 inspection, or Table A valuation for non-standard systems, per the PDD Fee Schedule effective 1/20/2026.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Phoenix compares in Arizona

No Arizona jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
ChandlerPermit requiredFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a...
GilbertIt dependsNo Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140...
MesaPermit requiredMost residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed...
PeoriaPermit requiredResidential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or...
Phoenixthis pagePermit requiredResidential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with...
Pima CountyPermit requiredResidential photovoltaic installation is treated as minor electrical work...

How to apply in Phoenix

In Phoenix, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Phoenix, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Phoenix, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Phoenix, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department sets the exact checklist for Phoenix.

Where to apply in Phoenix:

City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department

Solar Permit in Phoenix compared with nearby Arizona localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Arizona schedule saysVerified
PhoenixPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with plan review...
ChandlerPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a separate flat...
GilbertIt dependsSolar photovoltaic systems and solar hot water heating systems are exempt from permit when installed by an Arizona licensed contractor using equipment listed and labeled by a nationally recognized third-party testing agency.No Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140 plan review...
MesaPermit requiredNot specifiedMost residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed Arizona...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Phoenix, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Phoenix: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Phoenix: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Phoenix: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Phoenix: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Phoenix: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Phoenix: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Phoenix permit portal or by phone at 602-261-8078.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Phoenix

In 2024, Phoenix authorized permits for 8,997 new residential housing units (4,062 single-family, 4,935 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.4B, down from 14,468 the year before. That works out to about 5.3 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,708,127.

About Phoenix

Phoenix has about 642,867 housing units. The median home is valued at $381,900, against a median household income of $77,041. About 57% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1984.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Phoenix?
A building and electrical permit is required for all residential solar PV installations in Phoenix. Phoenix accepts SolarAPP+ instant approvals for eligible single-family and duplex rooftop systems. The Phoenix Fire Department requires a separate fire permit for PV and battery energy storage systems. SolarAPP+ applications can be emailed to pdd.records@phoenix.gov. Always confirm with the City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Phoenix?
Residential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with plan review and 3 inspections down to $293 administrative fee with no plan review and 1 inspection, or Table A valuation for non-standard systems, per the PDD Fee Schedule effective 1/20/2026. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Phoenix?
You can apply through the Phoenix permit portal or contact the City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Phoenix?
Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Phoenix applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Phoenix

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsplatforms or decks not more than 30 inches above grade do not require a permit; elevated or attached decks do require a permitDeck permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits under...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedElectrical permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences and walls over 3 feet tall require a permit; fences under 3 feet tall are exemptResidential fences carry a $98 minimum permit fee for project valuations of $1 to...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedHVAC (mechanical) permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPatio permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPlumbing permits have no dedicated fee line (water heaters get the $98 minimum tier)...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential pool and spa permits carry a minimum $234 permit fee plus a $30 aquatics...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsre-roofing with same material as original is exempt; more than two layers of asphalt shingles over existing asphalt or structural changes require a permitRoof replacement permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building...
Shed PermitIt dependsdetached structures without utilities at or under 200 sq ft are exempt; structures over 200 sq ft or with utilities require a permitShed permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits under...

Solar Permit in other Arizona localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Phoenix documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Phoenix was verified. 2 official sources: phoenix.gov, phoenix.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Phoenix Planning and Development Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Arizona localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Phoenix permit record

Permit required
Get quotes