Arizona / Peoria

Solar Permit in Peoria, Arizona

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Residential rooftop photovoltaic and energy storage installations

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byDevelopment and Engineering Department, Building Development

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Residential solar PV systems require electrical/building permits, with two application paths: a conventional submittal using the Solar Permit Application (400S) or the automated SolarAPP+ platform for licensed contractors, followed by a permit application in the Development Services portal. Handout 235 sets submittal requirements, including truss checks, and no structural engineering analysis is needed when panel weight does not exceed 5 pounds per square foot and point loads do not exceed 40 pounds. Any required derate or panel upgrade permit must be issued before the solar permit. Over the counter review is available by appointment for systems up to a 40 amp back fed breaker.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Residential rooftop photovoltaic and energy storage installations

What a solar permit costs in Peoria

Line item
solar permitBy formulaResidential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or less/8K or less and a Residential Solar De-Rate Permit is 115 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev 9/2025); SolarAPP+ charges its own processing fee for automated plan review.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Peoria compares in Arizona

No Arizona jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
ChandlerPermit requiredFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a...
GilbertIt dependsNo Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140...
MesaPermit requiredMost residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed...
Peoriathis pagePermit requiredResidential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or...
PhoenixPermit requiredResidential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with...
Pima CountyPermit requiredResidential photovoltaic installation is treated as minor electrical work...

How to apply in Peoria

In Peoria, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Peoria, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Peoria, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Peoria, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Development and Engineering Department, Building Development sets the exact checklist for Peoria.

Where to apply in Peoria:

Development and Engineering Department, Building Development

Solar Permit in Peoria compared with nearby Arizona localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Arizona schedule saysVerified
PeoriaPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or less/8K or...
ChandlerPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a separate flat...
GilbertIt dependsSolar photovoltaic systems and solar hot water heating systems are exempt from permit when installed by an Arizona licensed contractor using equipment listed and labeled by a nationally recognized third-party testing agency.No Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140 plan review...
MesaPermit requiredNot specifiedMost residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed Arizona...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Peoria, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Peoria: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Peoria: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Peoria: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Peoria: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Peoria: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Peoria: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Peoria permit portal or by phone at 623-773-7225.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Peoria?
Residential solar PV systems require electrical/building permits, with two application paths: a conventional submittal using the Solar Permit Application (400S) or the automated SolarAPP+ platform for licensed contractors, followed by a permit application in the Development Services portal. Handout 235 sets submittal requirements, including truss checks, and no structural engineering analysis is needed when panel weight does not exceed 5 pounds per square foot and point loads do not exceed 40 pounds. Any required derate or panel upgrade permit must be issued before the solar permit. Over the counter review is available by appointment for systems up to a 40 amp back fed breaker. Always confirm with the Development and Engineering Department, Building Development before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Peoria?
Residential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or less/8K or less and a Residential Solar De-Rate Permit is 115 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev 9/2025); SolarAPP+ charges its own processing fee for automated plan review. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
How long does a solar permit take in Peoria?
First plan review 7 business days for Solar per posted Plan Review Timelines. Times can vary by workload and project scope, so confirm with the office.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Peoria?
You can apply through the Peoria permit portal or contact the Development and Engineering Department, Building Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Peoria?
Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Peoria applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Peoria

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsPlatforms not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade that are not over a basement or story below and are not part of an accessible route are exempt from a permit.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars
Electrical PermitIt dependsMinor in-kind work is exempt, including replacement of receptacles, switches or control devices rated 60 amperes or less and in-kind replacement of circuit breakers rated 125 amperes or less other than a service disconnect; new or altered wiring, services and panels require a permit.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev...
Fence PermitIt dependsFences not over 3 feet high are exempt; fences over 3 feet and up to 7 feet require a building permit demonstrating zoning and site drainage compliance, and walls over 7 feet also require structural calculations.Fence valuation for permit fees is 1.50 dollars per linear foot under 3 feet, 4 dollars...
HVAC PermitIt dependsLike-for-like replacement by a licensed contractor of an outdoor refrigeration unit of 5 tons or less is exempt, while replacement of equipment located inside the building and any new or altered mechanical system requires a permit.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars
Plumbing PermitIt dependsLeak repairs, clearing stoppages and in-kind replacement of water closets, valves or fixtures are exempt, and a like-for-like water heater replacement in a one- or two-family dwelling is exempt only when performed by a licensed contractor; relocating or replacing concealed piping, valves or fixtures requires a permit.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev...
Pool PermitPermit requiredPrefabricated above-ground pools accessory to a dwelling holding not more than 5,000 gallons are exempt from a pool permit, but the required barrier must still be permitted.Swimming Pool, Spa and/or Hot Tub Permit is 345 dollars and Swimming Pool Plot Plan...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsRe-roofing with the same type of material as the original roofing is exempt, provided not more than two layers of asphalt shingles are applied over an existing asphalt shingle roof; other roof replacements require a permit.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars (Development Fee Schedule Rev...
Shed PermitIt dependsOne-story detached accessory structures used as tool and storage sheds, playhouses and similar uses are exempt from a building permit when the floor area is not greater than 200 square feet.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars

Solar Permit in other Arizona localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Peoria documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Peoria was verified. 6 official sources: peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov, peoriaaz.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Development and Engineering Department, Building Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Arizona localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Permit required
Get quotes