Arizona / Chandler

Solar Permit in Chandler, Arizona

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential rooftop or ground-mounted solar photovoltaic or solar water heating system

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byCity of Chandler Development Services Department, Building Safety Division

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Chandler charges a dedicated $150.00 permit fee for residential solar photovoltaic systems and a separate $150.00 fee for residential solar water heating systems, confirming a permit is required for both; the city's own "Work Exempt from Permit" list contains no solar exemption. The Development Services Division lists "Residential Miscellaneous including Solar PV and Solar Water Heaters" as its own review category with a 10-working-day overall turnaround. Arizona's A.R.S. Section 9-468 sets statewide processing standards for municipal solar permits (standardized submittal content, limits on requiring a PE stamp, and permission to use an automated permitting platform), but the permit requirement itself and its fee are established by Chandler.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential rooftop or ground-mounted solar photovoltaic or solar water heating system

What a solar permit costs in Chandler

Line item
solar permitBy formulaFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a separate flat $150 fee for a residential solar water heating system permit, both per Fee Schedule 4.6.4(k)-(l) under Res. 4703.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Chandler compares in Arizona

No Arizona jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Chandlerthis pagePermit requiredFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a...
GilbertIt dependsNo Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140...
MesaPermit requiredMost residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed...
PeoriaPermit requiredResidential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or...
PhoenixPermit requiredResidential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with...
Pima CountyPermit requiredResidential photovoltaic installation is treated as minor electrical work...

How to apply in Chandler

In Chandler, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Chandler, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Chandler, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Chandler, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of Chandler Development Services Department, Building Safety Division sets the exact checklist for Chandler.

Where to apply in Chandler:

City of Chandler Development Services Department, Building Safety Division

Solar Permit in Chandler compared with nearby Arizona localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Arizona schedule saysVerified
ChandlerPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a separate flat...
GilbertIt dependsSolar photovoltaic systems and solar hot water heating systems are exempt from permit when installed by an Arizona licensed contractor using equipment listed and labeled by a nationally recognized third-party testing agency.No Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140 plan review...
MesaPermit requiredNot specifiedMost residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed Arizona...
PeoriaPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or less/8K or...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Chandler, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Chandler: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Chandler: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Chandler: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Chandler: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Chandler: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Chandler: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Chandler permit portal or by phone at 480-782-3074.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Chandler?
Chandler charges a dedicated $150.00 permit fee for residential solar photovoltaic systems and a separate $150.00 fee for residential solar water heating systems, confirming a permit is required for both; the city's own "Work Exempt from Permit" list contains no solar exemption. The Development Services Division lists "Residential Miscellaneous including Solar PV and Solar Water Heaters" as its own review category with a 10-working-day overall turnaround. Arizona's A.R.S. Section 9-468 sets statewide processing standards for municipal solar permits (standardized submittal content, limits on requiring a PE stamp, and permission to use an automated permitting platform), but the permit requirement itself and its fee are established by Chandler. Always confirm with the City of Chandler Development Services Department, Building Safety Division before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Chandler?
Flat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a separate flat $150 fee for a residential solar water heating system permit, both per Fee Schedule 4.6.4(k)-(l) under Res. 4703. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Chandler?
You can apply through the Chandler permit portal or contact the City of Chandler Development Services Department, Building Safety Division directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Chandler?
Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Chandler applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Chandler

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsDecks not exceeding 200 sq ft in area, not more than 30 inches above grade at any point, not attached to a dwelling or townhouse, and not serving a required exit door are exempt from a building permit; any deck exceeding those limits or attached to the residence requires a permit.No deck-specific line item, billed as a standard building permit by construction...
Electrical PermitIt dependsLike-for-like repair or replacement of motors, transformers, overcurrent devices (breakers), or similar equipment on a single-family residence is exempt when the replacement is the same rating, installed in the same location, and properly labeled; new wiring, circuits, service work, or new outlets and fixtures require a permit.Fee schedule sets a flat $100 fee only for electrical service upgrades of 400 amps or...
Fence PermitIt dependsFences not over 7 feet high are exempt from a building permit; a fence taller than 7 feet requires Planning approval and a building permit. A separate zoning limit caps front-yard fence height at 3 feet regardless of the building-permit threshold.No fence-specific fee line, a permit is only required for retaining walls over 4 feet or...
HVAC PermitIt dependsLike-for-like replacement of an evaporative cooler (equal or lesser airflow, same location) or of gas-fired air-conditioning equipment, direct-vent equipment, furnaces, or log lighters (equal or lesser BTU, same location) is exempt from a permit; new HVAC installations or non-like replacements require a permit.No HVAC or mechanical-specific fee line, mechanical permits are billed as a standard...
Patio PermitIt dependsAn open, unattached patio slab no more than 200 sq ft in area and not more than 30 inches above grade falls under the same code exemption as an unattached deck and does not require a permit; a patio cover (roofed structure) requires a permit regardless of size, per the city's Patio Covers guidance.No patio-cover-specific fee line, patio covers are billed as a standard building permit...
Plumbing PermitIt dependsLike-for-like replacement of water conditioning/treatment equipment, solar pool or spa heating equipment, or electric water heating equipment is exempt when the replacement has equal or lesser capacity/amperage and is installed in the same location; new pipe work or system alterations require a permit.No stand-alone plumbing fee line, minor combined work of 1-6 plumbing openings with...
Pool PermitIt dependsA prefabricated swimming pool less than 18 inches deep is exempt from a building permit; any pool or spa (in-ground or prefabricated) 18 inches deep or greater requires a permit, and a compliant safety barrier is required regardless of depth once a permit-triggering pool exists.Flat $110 residential pool permit fee per Fee Schedule 4.6.4(d), a separate flat $55 fee...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsRe-roofing with the same type of material as the existing roof, where the replacement covering classification is equal to or greater and does not increase structural loads, is exempt provided it does not exceed two layers over an existing roof; replacing with a different material, exceeding two layers, or increasing structural load requires a building permit.No reroof-specific fee line, a reroof is billed as a standard building permit by...
Shed PermitIt dependsOne-story detached accessory structures (storage sheds, open-air ramadas) with floor area of 120 sq ft or less and height of 7 ft or less (up to 9 ft with 2 additional feet of setback per additional foot of height) are exempt if not connected to any electrical, gas, or water utility; exceeding either limit or connecting a utility requires a building permit.Flat $150 residential ramada/accessory storage building permit fee per Fee Schedule...

Solar Permit in other Arizona localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Chandler documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Chandler was verified. 3 official sources: chandleraz.gov, chandleraz.gov, chandleraz.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Chandler Development Services Department, Building Safety Division. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Arizona localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Chandler permit record

Permit required
Get quotes