Arizona

Do you need a solar permit in Arizona?

By Mario Bailey Last checked

Always required
7
of 8 jurisdictions
Conditional
1
depends on size or scope
Not required
0
exempt outright

Solar Permit rules nationwide, beyond Arizona.

Rooftop solar panels on a tile-roofed house in a hillside neighborhood

Requirements and size thresholds for solar permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Arizona county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.

Comparing states? See solar permit rules across every locality we cover.

What to know about solar permits in Arizona

Solar permits in Virginia usually cover the rooftop PV system and its electrical interconnection. Costs depend on system size and your locality, and many homeowners weigh financing options such as solar loans against paying up front. Some Virginia localities use SolarAPP+ for faster automated approvals. Always use a licensed electrical or solar contractor, since the work must pass inspection.

The application steps and inspection sequence for solar permits come from the model code rather than from Arizona law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a solar permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Arizona jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.

Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.

Locality Permit required? Typical threshold Confidence
Chandler Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Gilbert Conditional Solar photovoltaic systems and solar hot water heating systems are exempt from permit when installed by an Arizona licensed contractor using equipment listed and labeled by a nationally recognized third-party testing agency. Confirmed on official page
Maricopa County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Mesa Yes Not specified From an official source
Peoria Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Phoenix Yes Not specified From an official source
Pima County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Scottsdale Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page

What a solar permit costs in Arizona

6 Arizona jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.

Chandler

Flat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a separate flat $150 fee for a residential solar water heating system permit, both per Fee Schedule 4.6.4(k)-(l) under Res. 4703

last checked

Maricopa County

Roof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140 plan review itemized) and ground-mounted under 6 feet at $500 ($200 plus $190 itemized) in the June 2024 Summary of the Fee Schedule; the header totals and itemized lines disagree, so confirm the current total with Permitting Services

last checked

Mesa

Most residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed Arizona contractor needs no permit per the Residential Construction Homeowners Guide; an install outside that exemption is a stand-alone electrical permit, valuation based via the Residential Rate Table, $220 minimum

last checked

Phoenix

Residential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with plan review and 3 inspections down to $293 administrative fee with no plan review and 1 inspection, or Table A valuation for non-standard systems, per the PDD Fee Schedule effective 1/20/2026

last checked

Pima County

Residential photovoltaic installation is treated as minor electrical work, flat fee $27, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 2026-07-01

last checked

Scottsdale

Flat $168 residential solar permit fee per the FY26/27 Permit Fee Schedule - Miscellaneous (Res. 13661)

last checked

Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.

Common questions about solar permits in Arizona

Do I need a solar permit in Arizona?
In most of Arizona, yes. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Arizona city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 8 Arizona jurisdictions we have verified for solar work, 7 require a permit outright, 1 depends on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
Is there a solar permit exemption in Arizona?
1 of the 8 Arizona jurisdictions we cover sets a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one Arizona county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each Arizona jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.

Ready to move on your solar permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

Planning more than a solar permit? Check your whole project