Arizona / Maricopa County

Solar Permit in Maricopa County, Arizona

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential rooftop or ground-mounted solar PV system

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byMaricopa County Planning and Development Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A permit is required for all residential solar PV installations in unincorporated Maricopa County whether roof-mounted or ground-mounted. Roof-mounted systems on the main dwelling may use the SolarAPP+ automated review path through GoSolarApp.org for eligible projects. Ground-mounted systems under 6 feet tall are processed as minor permits; taller systems are classified as accessory structures.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential rooftop or ground-mounted solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Maricopa County

Line item
solar permitBy formulaRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140 plan review itemized) and ground-mounted under 6 feet at $500 ($200 plus $190 itemized) in the June 2024 Summary of the Fee Schedule; the header totals and itemized lines disagree, so confirm the current total with Permitting Services.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Maricopa County compares in Arizona

No Arizona jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
ChandlerPermit requiredFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a...
GilbertIt dependsNo Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies
Maricopa Countythis pagePermit requiredRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140...
MesaPermit requiredMost residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed...
PeoriaPermit requiredResidential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or...
PhoenixPermit requiredResidential solar photovoltaic permits use fixed-fee options from $780 with...
Pima CountyPermit requiredResidential photovoltaic installation is treated as minor electrical work...

How to apply in Maricopa County

In Maricopa County, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Maricopa County, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Maricopa County, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Maricopa County, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Maricopa County Planning and Development Department sets the exact checklist for Maricopa County.

Where to apply in Maricopa County:

Maricopa County Planning and Development Department

  • 301 West Jefferson Street Phoenix AZ 85003
  • Phone: 602-506-3301

Solar Permit in Maricopa County compared with nearby Arizona localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Arizona schedule saysVerified
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedRoof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140 plan review...
ChandlerPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat $150 fee for a residential solar photovoltaic system permit and a separate flat...
GilbertIt dependsSolar photovoltaic systems and solar hot water heating systems are exempt from permit when installed by an Arizona licensed contractor using equipment listed and labeled by a nationally recognized third-party testing agency.No Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies
MesaPermit requiredNot specifiedMost residential rooftop solar under 10,000 sq ft installed by a licensed Arizona...
PeoriaPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential Solar Photovoltaic Permit is 184 dollars for a 40 amp circuit or less/8K or...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Maricopa County, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Maricopa County: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Maricopa County: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Maricopa County: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Maricopa County: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Maricopa County: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Maricopa County: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Maricopa County permit portal or by phone at 602-506-3301.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Maricopa County

In 2024, Maricopa County authorized permits for 36,380 new residential housing units (21,667 single-family, 14,713 in multi-family buildings), valued at $9.1B, down from 38,292 the year before. That works out to about 7.8 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 4,673,096.

About Maricopa County

Maricopa County has about 1,850,862 housing units. The median home is valued at $414,700, against a median household income of $85,518. About 65% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1992.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Maricopa County?
A permit is required for all residential solar PV installations in unincorporated Maricopa County whether roof-mounted or ground-mounted. Roof-mounted systems on the main dwelling may use the SolarAPP+ automated review path through GoSolarApp.org for eligible projects. Ground-mounted systems under 6 feet tall are processed as minor permits; taller systems are classified as accessory structures. Always confirm with the Maricopa County Planning and Development Department before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Maricopa County?
Roof-mounted residential solar is printed at $300 ($150 inspection plus $140 plan review itemized) and ground-mounted under 6 feet at $500 ($200 plus $190 itemized) in the June 2024 Summary of the Fee Schedule; the header totals and itemized lines disagree, so confirm the current total with Permitting Services. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Maricopa County?
You can apply through the Maricopa County permit portal or contact the Maricopa County Planning and Development Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Maricopa County?
Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Maricopa County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Maricopa County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo deck-specific line item, valuation-based building permit fee under Table 1-A with a...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat rate by residential service size, $50 for 1-200 amps, $75 for 201-400 amps, $120...
Fence PermitIt dependsany fence over 1 foot in height requires at minimum a drainage clearance permit; fences over 6 feet require a building permit and zoning clearanceValuation-based: fence material valued per lineal foot from $3 (barbed wire) to $18...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat fee of $50 for mechanical work under the Minor Self Service flat rate schedule, per...
Patio PermitIt dependsattached patio cover or patio enclosure connected to the house requires a building permit; ground-level open patio slab does notNo flat patio fee
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedFlat fee of $50 to install or replace plumbing equipment, fixtures, or devices under...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedIn-ground pools are valued at $200 per perimeter foot with the Table 1-A fee applied to...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsre-roofing is exempt unless in a wildfire hazard zone or structural changes are involvedNo permit or fee for a like-kind reroof using the same material as the original roofing...
Shed PermitIt dependsstructures under 200 sq ft with no electrical plumbing or mechanical are exempt from a building permit; all others require a permitNon-habitable accessory buildings are valued as a private garage with the Table 1-A fee...

Solar Permit in other Arizona localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Maricopa County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Maricopa County was verified. 2 official sources: maricopa.gov, maricopa.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Maricopa County Planning and Development Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Arizona localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Maricopa County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes