Arizona / Gilbert

Deck Permit in Gilbert, Arizona

It depends

We could not confirm this

Per the adopted 2018 IRC; confirm scope with Development Services

Based on building code Verified

Issued byDevelopment Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division)

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Gilbert enforces the 2018 IRC with Town amendments (Ordinance 2739, effective January 1, 2020) and makes it unlawful to construct structures regulated by the code except in compliance with it. The Town's amendments to the IRC R105.2 work-exempt-from-permit list do not mention decks, so the unamended 2018 IRC exemption criteria govern. Gilbert publishes no deck-specific threshold on its pages; homeowners should confirm with Development Services at (480) 503-6700 before building.

Typical threshold: Decks are not addressed in Gilbert's published amendments to the IRC R105.2 exemption list, so permit requirements follow the unamended 2018 IRC provisions, which Gilbert's own pages do not restate.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your deck, they usually handle the permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare deck contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Per the adopted 2018 IRC; confirm scope with Development Services

What a deck permit costs in Gilbert

Line item
deck permitBy formulaIf a permit is required, valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50; building plan review fee is 65 percent of the calculated permit fee.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Gilbert compares in Arizona

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ChandlerIt dependsDecks not exceeding 200 sq ft in area, not more than 30 inches above grade at any point, not attached to a dwelling or townhouse, and not serving a required exit door are exempt from a building permit; any deck exceeding those limits or attached to the residence requires a permit.
Gilbertthis pageIt dependsDecks are not addressed in Gilbert's published amendments to the IRC R105.2 exemption list, so permit requirements follow the unamended 2018 IRC provisions, which Gilbert's own pages do not restate.
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specified
MesaPermit requiredNot specified
PeoriaIt dependsPlatforms not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade that are not over a basement or story below and are not part of an accessible route are exempt from a permit.
PhoenixIt dependsplatforms or decks not more than 30 inches above grade do not require a permit; elevated or attached decks do require a permit
Pima CountyIt dependsDecks and non-structural flat work not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade, not over any basement or story below, and not part of an accessible route do not require a permit; a deck greater than 30 inches above finished grade or floor level requires a permit.

How to apply in Gilbert

In Gilbert, a residential deck permit application is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the IRC deck provisions. In practice that means a scaled site plan locating the deck and its setbacks, plus deck plans and structural details covering the footings, posts, beams, joists, ledger, guards, and stairs.

What most deck permit applications include:

  • For Gilbert, a permit application identifying the work, the deck's size (square footage), and whether electrical work such as lights or receptacles is included, submitted for plan review before construction begins (IRC R106).
  • For Gilbert, a scaled site plan (for example 1/4 inch to 1 foot) showing the new deck's location relative to the house, its overall length and width, and dimensioned distances from the deck to all property lines and other structures so required setbacks can be verified (IRC R106.1.1).
  • For Gilbert, a deck plan drawn to scale showing overall dimensions and the framing layout: joist size, spacing, span, and species; beam size and span; post size and height; and footing or pier size and depth (IRC R507.4 posts, R507.5 beams, R507.6 joists, R507.3 footings).
  • For Gilbert, a section or side elevation with connection details showing the ledger attachment to the house band joist with flashing, the fastener or bolt schedule, joist hangers, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the required lateral load connection (IRC R507.9 ledger connection, R507.9.2 lateral connection, R507.2.4 flashing).
  • Footing sizing derived from tributary area, the soil bearing value, and design loads per IRC Table R507.3.1, with footings shown bearing on undisturbed soil at the frost depth required by the jurisdiction (IRC R507.3).
  • Details for the guards required where the walking surface is more than 30 inches above grade, and for the stairs and handrails, showing guard height and opening limits, stair riser and tread dimensions, and handrail location (IRC R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).
  • For designs that fall outside the prescriptive R507 tables (for example multi-story or stacked decks, or a ledger attached to a cantilever), engineered and stamped structural plans are submitted in place of the prescriptive details (IRC R507.1 and R301).

General submittal guidance from IRC R106.1.1 (construction documents) and IRC R507 (exterior decks), 2021 IRC. Source. Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division) sets the exact checklist for Gilbert.

Where to apply in Gilbert:

Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division)

Deck Permit in Gilbert compared with nearby Arizona localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Arizona schedule saysVerified
GilbertIt dependsDecks are not addressed in Gilbert's published amendments to the IRC R105.2 exemption list, so permit requirements follow the unamended 2018 IRC provisions, which Gilbert's own pages do not restate.If a permit is required, valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50
ChandlerIt dependsDecks not exceeding 200 sq ft in area, not more than 30 inches above grade at any point, not attached to a dwelling or townhouse, and not serving a required exit door are exempt from a building permit; any deck exceeding those limits or attached to the residence requires a permit.No deck-specific line item, billed as a standard building permit by construction...
Maricopa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo deck-specific line item, valuation-based building permit fee under Table 1-A with a...
MesaPermit requiredNot specifiedNo separate deck line
PeoriaIt dependsPlatforms not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade that are not over a basement or story below and are not part of an accessible route are exempt from a permit.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum 87 dollars

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Gilbert, deck work is inspected in sequence as it is built: the footings before concrete is placed, the framing before the decking boards go down, and a final inspection once the deck is complete. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if missed.

  1. Footing or pier inspection in Gilbert: after the holes are dug and any forms or reinforcing are set but before concrete is placed, the inspector checks footing depth and diameter, a flat undisturbed bearing surface, and that the holes are free of water (IRC R109.1.1 foundation inspection; R507.3 footings).
  2. Framing inspection in Gilbert: after the deck is framed but before the decking conceals it, the inspector verifies the ledger attachment and its flashing, the fastener and bolt schedule, joist hangers and metal connectors, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the lateral load connection; call it before decking is installed (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R507.9 ledger and flashing).
  3. Final inspection in Gilbert: after the deck is complete and before it is used, the inspector confirms guard height and opening limits (a 4 inch sphere must not pass, 4 3/8 inch at stairs), stair riser and tread dimensions, handrail height and graspability where there are 4 or more risers, stair landings, and required stair lighting (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Gilbert permit portal or by phone at (480) 503-6700.

Inspection sequence from IRC R109 (inspections: R109.1.1 footing before concrete, R109.1.4 frame, R109.1.6 final), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a deck permit in Gilbert?
Gilbert enforces the 2018 IRC with Town amendments (Ordinance 2739, effective January 1, 2020) and makes it unlawful to construct structures regulated by the code except in compliance with it. The Town's amendments to the IRC R105.2 work-exempt-from-permit list do not mention decks, so the unamended 2018 IRC exemption criteria govern. Gilbert publishes no deck-specific threshold on its pages; homeowners should confirm with Development Services at (480) 503-6700 before building. Decks are not addressed in Gilbert's published amendments to the IRC R105.2 exemption list, so permit requirements follow the unamended 2018 IRC provisions, which Gilbert's own pages do not restate. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a deck permit cost in Gilbert?
If a permit is required, valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50; building plan review fee is 65 percent of the calculated permit fee. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a deck permit in Gilbert?
You can apply through the Gilbert permit portal or contact the Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division) directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a deck permit themselves in Gilbert?
Under Arizona law (A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5), (A)(9), (A)(14)(a); 32-1164(A)(2), (B)): Arizona addresses owner-builders through its contractor licensing law rather than through the building code itself. A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(5) exempts property owners who build or improve structures on their own land and do the work themselves, with their own employees, or with duly licensed contractors, as long as the finished structure is for the owner's own occupancy and is not intended for sale or rent. Selling or renting within one year of completion or of the certificate of occupancy is prima facie evidence the project was really undertaken for sale or rent, which defeats the exemption, a rule that functions much like Florida's one-year restriction. The exemption does not waive the underlying permit requirement: several of the chapter's small-job licensing exemptions, including the $1,000 casual-work exemption in A.R.S. 32-1121(A)(14), expressly do not apply whenever the work requires a local building permit, so once a job needs a permit, anyone doing that work for someone else generally must hold an Arizona contractor's license regardless of dollar amount. Acting as a contractor without a license, on permit-required work or otherwise, is a class 1 misdemeanor under A.R.S. 32-1164, carrying a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a repeat offense. Confirm how Gilbert applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Gilbert

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Electrical PermitPermit requiredExemptions include work by a serving utility and solar or like-for-like water heating appliance replacements installed by an Arizona licensed contractor under amended exemption 16.Individual Electrical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026).
Fence PermitIt dependsGilbert's amended IRC R105.2 exempts only fences not over 3 feet high; the Town's pool barrier policy statement says internal fences over 3 feet in height require building permits and inspections.Walls/Fences fee $180 as a separate single-family permit, or $120 when combined with a...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredGilbert's amended IRC R105.2 mechanical exemption list includes a replacement-based exemption and cross-references the exemption for water heating appliance replacements by an Arizona licensed contractor.Individual Mechanical Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026).
Patio PermitIt dependsOnly one-story detached non-habitable accessory structures up to 200 square feet are exempt from permit; attached patio covers and larger structures require a building permit.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredWater softeners and like-for-like replacements of gas or electric water heating appliances (not tankless) installed by an Arizona licensed contractor are exempt from permit.Individual Plumbing Permit, residential: $150 (fee schedule revised 7/1/2026).
Pool PermitPermit requiredNon-permanent wading pools of rubber or plastic holding no more than 18 inches of water are excepted from the pool enclosure regulations.Swimming pool permit fee $300 for permanent in-ground pools/spas and $140 for portable...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsRe-roofing not requiring a structural change is exempt from permit; a re-roof that involves a structural change requires a building permit.If a permit is required, valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50
Shed PermitIt dependsStructures less than 200 square feet do not require a permit; a permit is required at 200 square feet or larger, or if the shed has electrical or plumbing utilities or is connected to the house or another structure.Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50 for work valued up to $1,100
Solar PermitIt dependsSolar photovoltaic systems and solar hot water heating systems are exempt from permit when installed by an Arizona licensed contractor using equipment listed and labeled by a nationally recognized third-party testing agency.No Town permit fee when the licensed-contractor exemption applies

Deck Permit in other Arizona localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Gilbert documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this deck permit page for Gilbert was verified. 3 official sources: gilbertaz.gov, gilbertaz.gov, gilbertaz.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Development Services (Plan Review and Inspection Division). Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Deck Permit requirements across Arizona localities

Deck permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Gilbert permit record

It depends
Get quotes