EV Charger Permit in Henrico County, Virginia
Permit required
We could not confirm this
Issued byHenrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
What an EV charger permit costs in Henrico County
How Henrico County compares in Virginia
No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration... |
| Fauquier County | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Henrico Countythis page | Permit required | No EV-specific fee |
| Loudoun County | Permit required | No EV-specific fee line |
| Orange County | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Prince William County | Permit required | No permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing... |
How to apply in Henrico County
In Henrico County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.
What most EV charger permit applications include:
- For Henrico County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
- For Henrico County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
- For Henrico County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
- Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
- For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
- For Henrico County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).
General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections sets the exact checklist for Henrico County.
Where to apply in Henrico County:
Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections
- 4301 East Parham Road, Henrico, VA 23228
- Phone: (804) 501-4360
EV Charger Permit in Henrico County compared with nearby Virginia localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Virginia schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Henrico County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific fee | |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line | |
| Culpeper County | Permit required | Not specified | Not published | |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical... | |
| Fauquier County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Henrico County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
- In Henrico County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
- In Henrico County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
- In Henrico County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
- In Henrico County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
- In Henrico County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
- In Henrico County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Henrico County permit portal or by phone at (804) 501-4360.
Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your EV Charger Permit checklist for Henrico County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required.
- Budget the fee. No EV-specific fee; charger circuits operate above 50 volts so they take the standard existing-dwelling electrical permit at $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and material cost plus $6 per additional $1,000 plus a 2% state levy, per the county electrical permit and fee pages. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Henrico County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added. Start at the Henrico County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections. Phone: (804) 501-4360. Address: 4301 East Parham Road, Henrico, VA 23228.
- Plan for inspections. In Henrico County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an EV charger permit in Henrico County?
- A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required. Always confirm with the Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections before starting.
- How much does an EV charger permit cost in Henrico County?
- No EV-specific fee; charger circuits operate above 50 volts so they take the standard existing-dwelling electrical permit at $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and material cost plus $6 per additional $1,000 plus a 2% state levy, per the county electrical permit and fee pages. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Henrico County?
- You can apply through the Henrico County permit portal or contact the Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Henrico County?
- Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Henrico County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Henrico County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Falls under the existing-dwelling building permit formula of $100 for the first $5,000... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Existing-dwelling addition or alteration permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Existing-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences 7 feet or less in height that do not serve as a swimming pool barrier are exempt; taller fences and any fence serving as a pool barrier require a building permit | Fences up to 7 feet that are not a pool barrier need no permit |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Existing-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | on-grade concrete or paver patios are exempt; a permit is required for a patio cover, roofed patio structure, or an addition built over or attached to the patio | No permit fee |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Existing-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | pools, hot tubs, or spas with a surface area greater than 150 sq ft, more than 5,000 gallons, or 24 inches or more deep require a building permit; smaller and shallower pools are exempt | Existing-dwelling addition or alteration permit fee applies to swimming pools requiring... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | like-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when more than 256 sq ft of roof sheathing (decking) is repaired or replaced and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areas | Roof covering replacement is exempt in unlimited amounts so typical reroofing needs no... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | sheds and playhouses over 256 sq ft or more than one story require a building permit; 256 sq ft or less and only one story is exempt | Sheds of 256 sq ft or less and one story need no permit |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential solar needs only an electrical permit with no separate building permit per... |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | Electric, gas and oil water heaters need a mechanical permit for new or replacement... |
EV Charger Permit in other Virginia localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Henrico County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this EV charger permit page for Henrico County was verified. 1 official source: law.lis.virginia.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Virginia localities
Permit office
Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections
(804) 501-4360Permit portal