Virginia / Henrico County

Solar Permit in Henrico County, Virginia

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing rooftop or ground-mounted solar energy equipment

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byHenrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A permit is required for residential solar energy equipment installation in Henrico County; the county's own Permit Center guidance lists solar energy equipment among the fixtures and equipment whose initial installation requires a permit. The Virginia USBC contains no exemption for solar work, which involves structural attachment and electrical wiring.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing rooftop or ground-mounted solar energy equipment

What a solar permit costs in Henrico County

Line item
solar permitBy formulaResidential solar needs only an electrical permit with no separate building permit per the county's solar pathway memo, billed at $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and material cost plus $6 per additional $1,000 plus a 2% state levy.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Henrico County compares in Virginia

No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Arlington CountyPermit requiredFees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNo solar-specific line
Culpeper CountyPermit requiredResidential solar PV permit fees are $500 or less
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredSee Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNo solar-specific line
Henrico Countythis pagePermit requiredResidential solar needs only an electrical permit with no separate building...
Loudoun CountyPermit requiredBuilding permit fee is $230 and electrical permit fee is $70 for rooftop systems

How to apply in Henrico County

In Henrico County, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Henrico County, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Henrico County, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Henrico County, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections sets the exact checklist for Henrico County.

Where to apply in Henrico County:

Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections

  • 4301 East Parham Road, Henrico, VA 23228
  • Phone: (804) 501-4360

Solar Permit in Henrico County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Henrico CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential solar needs only an electrical permit with no separate building permit per...
Arlington CountyPermit requiredResidential solar electric systems require both an electrical permit and a building permit; no size exemption is published.Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo solar-specific line
Culpeper CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential solar PV permit fees are $500 or less
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedSee Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Henrico County, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Henrico County: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Henrico County: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Henrico County: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Henrico County: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Henrico County: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Henrico County: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Henrico County permit portal or by phone at (804) 501-4360.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Henrico County?
A permit is required for residential solar energy equipment installation in Henrico County; the county's own Permit Center guidance lists solar energy equipment among the fixtures and equipment whose initial installation requires a permit. The Virginia USBC contains no exemption for solar work, which involves structural attachment and electrical wiring. Always confirm with the Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Henrico County?
Residential solar needs only an electrical permit with no separate building permit per the county's solar pathway memo, billed at $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and material cost plus $6 per additional $1,000 plus a 2% state levy. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Henrico County?
You can apply through the Henrico County permit portal or contact the Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Henrico County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Henrico County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Henrico County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedFalls under the existing-dwelling building permit formula of $100 for the first $5,000...
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedExisting-dwelling addition or alteration permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedExisting-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and...
EV Charger PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific fee
Fence PermitIt dependsfences 7 feet or less in height that do not serve as a swimming pool barrier are exempt; taller fences and any fence serving as a pool barrier require a building permitFences up to 7 feet that are not a pool barrier need no permit
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedExisting-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and...
Patio PermitIt dependson-grade concrete or paver patios are exempt; a permit is required for a patio cover, roofed patio structure, or an addition built over or attached to the patioNo permit fee
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedExisting-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and...
Pool PermitIt dependspools, hot tubs, or spas with a surface area greater than 150 sq ft, more than 5,000 gallons, or 24 inches or more deep require a building permit; smaller and shallower pools are exemptExisting-dwelling addition or alteration permit fee applies to swimming pools requiring...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependslike-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when more than 256 sq ft of roof sheathing (decking) is repaired or replaced and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areasRoof covering replacement is exempt in unlimited amounts so typical reroofing needs no...
Shed PermitIt dependssheds and playhouses over 256 sq ft or more than one story require a building permit; 256 sq ft or less and only one story is exemptSheds of 256 sq ft or less and one story need no permit
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedElectric, gas and oil water heaters need a mechanical permit for new or replacement...

Solar Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Henrico County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Henrico County was verified. 3 official sources: law.lis.virginia.gov, henrico.gov, henrico.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Henrico County Department of Building Construction and Inspections. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Virginia localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Henrico County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes