Virginia / Fairfax County

Solar Permit in Fairfax County, Virginia

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential rooftop or ground-mounted solar PV system

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byFairfax County Land Development Services

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A residential solar permit is required for all roof-mounted and free-standing residential solar projects in Fairfax County. Standalone electrical records are no longer required if only solar work is performed. Applications are submitted through the PLUS portal and require architectural drawings and specification sheets. A separate solar energy equipment tax exemption program may reduce property tax liability.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential rooftop or ground-mounted solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Fairfax County

Line item
solar permitBy formulaSee Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Fairfax County compares in Virginia

No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Arlington CountyPermit requiredFees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNo solar-specific line
Culpeper CountyPermit requiredResidential solar PV permit fees are $500 or less
Fairfax Countythis pagePermit requiredSee Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNo solar-specific line
Henrico CountyPermit requiredResidential solar needs only an electrical permit with no separate building...
Loudoun CountyPermit requiredBuilding permit fee is $230 and electrical permit fee is $70 for rooftop systems

How to apply in Fairfax County

In Fairfax County, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Fairfax County, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Fairfax County, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Fairfax County, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Fairfax County Land Development Services sets the exact checklist for Fairfax County.

Where to apply in Fairfax County:

Fairfax County Land Development Services

Solar Permit in Fairfax County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedSee Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees
Arlington CountyPermit requiredResidential solar electric systems require both an electrical permit and a building permit; no size exemption is published.Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo solar-specific line
Culpeper CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential solar PV permit fees are $500 or less
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo solar-specific line

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Fairfax County, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Fairfax County: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Fairfax County: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Fairfax County: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Fairfax County: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Fairfax County: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Fairfax County: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Fairfax County permit portal or by phone at 703-222-0801.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Fairfax County

In 2024, Fairfax County authorized permits for 2,861 new residential housing units (1,032 single-family, 1,829 in multi-family buildings), valued at $498M, down from 3,248 the year before. That works out to about 2.5 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,160,925.

About Fairfax County

Fairfax County has about 428,352 housing units. The median home is valued at $699,700, against a median household income of $150,113. About 68% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1983.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Fairfax County?
A residential solar permit is required for all roof-mounted and free-standing residential solar projects in Fairfax County. Standalone electrical records are no longer required if only solar work is performed. Applications are submitted through the PLUS portal and require architectural drawings and specification sheets. A separate solar energy equipment tax exemption program may reduce property tax liability. Always confirm with the Fairfax County Land Development Services before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Fairfax County?
See Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Fairfax County?
You can apply through the Fairfax County permit portal or contact the Fairfax County Land Development Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Fairfax County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Fairfax County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Fairfax County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNo single line item
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an addition under Table 1's area-based residential rate, $0.15 to $0.28 per...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for...
EV Charger PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical...
Fence PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNot published
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedDirect replacement of HVAC equipment is a household appliance permit, $78.75 for one...
Patio PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential addition or alteration plumbing work starts at the $141.75 base fee for...
Pool PermitIt dependspool over 150 sq ft surface area, over 5000 gallons, or over 24 inches deep requires a building permitBuilding permit to construct a swimming pool is a flat $83.50 per Appendix Q effective...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsreplacing 256 sq ft or more of roof plywood (decking) requires a permit; shingle-only replacement and under 256 sq ft plywood replacement are exemptResidential roof repairs and new roof structures are billed at 3 percent of the...
Shed PermitIt dependssingle-story shed 256 sq ft or larger requires a building permit; under 256 sq ft no permit requiredSheds over 256 square feet are billed as a new building under Table 1's area rate, $0.15...
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedBilled as a household appliance permit, $78.75 for one appliance per Ch.

Solar Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Fairfax County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Fairfax County was verified. 2 official sources: fairfaxcounty.gov, fairfaxcounty.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Fairfax County Land Development Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Virginia localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Fairfax County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes