Deck Permit in Fairfax County, Virginia
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
Before constructing any new residential deck or altering an existing deck
Issued byFairfax County Land Development Services
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
A building permit is required for all residential deck construction and alterations in Fairfax County. On-grade paver and concrete patios are exempt, but any deck with post and beam construction requires a permit. An electrical permit is also needed if new outlets or non-low-voltage lighting are added. Applications are submitted through the PLUS portal.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds your deck, they usually handle the permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare deck contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before constructing any new residential deck or altering an existing deck
What your deck permit must meet in Virginia
Under Virginia's Uniform Statewide Building Code, which adopts the 2021 International Residential Code, a residential deck must meet prescriptive rules for guards, stairs, footings, and how the deck ties to the house. These are the concrete numbers a homeowner needs before building.
- Guards are required wherever the deck floor is more than 30 inches above grade (measured 36 inches out from the deck edge), and those guards must be at least 36 inches tall.
- Guard and railing openings must be small enough that a 4-inch diameter sphere cannot pass through any opening.
- Stairs are limited to a maximum riser height of 8 1/4 inches and a minimum tread depth of 9 inches, with individual steps not varying by more than 3/8 inch, and a minimum stair width of 36 inches.
- Any stairway with four or more risers must have a handrail on at least one side, mounted 34 to 38 inches above the stair nosing.
- Footings must bear on solid, undisturbed ground below the local frost line (24 inches below grade in Fairfax County and Northern Virginia), going deeper if solid ground is not reached, using concrete of at least 3,000 psi.
- The ledger board must be positively bolted to the house with 1/2-inch lag screws or through-bolts (not nails alone), be at least a 2x8 and no shallower than the deck joists, use continuous flashing, and may not be attached through brick veneer.
- Deck framing follows prescriptive span tables for joists, beams, and footings and is designed for a 40 psf live load (IRC R507).
Based on Virginia USBC / 2021 Virginia Residential Code (2021 IRC): R312 guards, R311.7 stairs, R403.1.4 footing depth, R507 decks. Read the code. Local amendments can be stricter; confirm the current requirement with your office before you build.
What a deck permit costs in Fairfax County
How Fairfax County compares in Virginia
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington County | Permit required | No size exemption is published for decks; new decks and deck modifications are treated as additions requiring a Residential Building Permit. |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Fairfax Countythis page | Permit required | Not specified |
| Henrico County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Loudoun County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Orange County | Permit required | Not specified |
| Prince William County | It depends | building permit required if deck floor is 16.5 inches or more above finished grade |
How to apply in Fairfax County
In Fairfax County, a residential deck permit application is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the IRC deck provisions. In practice that means a scaled site plan locating the deck and its setbacks, plus deck plans and structural details covering the footings, posts, beams, joists, ledger, guards, and stairs.
What most deck permit applications include:
- For Fairfax County, a permit application identifying the work, the deck's size (square footage), and whether electrical work such as lights or receptacles is included, submitted for plan review before construction begins (IRC R106).
- For Fairfax County, a scaled site plan (for example 1/4 inch to 1 foot) showing the new deck's location relative to the house, its overall length and width, and dimensioned distances from the deck to all property lines and other structures so required setbacks can be verified (IRC R106.1.1).
- For Fairfax County, a deck plan drawn to scale showing overall dimensions and the framing layout: joist size, spacing, span, and species; beam size and span; post size and height; and footing or pier size and depth (IRC R507.4 posts, R507.5 beams, R507.6 joists, R507.3 footings).
- For Fairfax County, a section or side elevation with connection details showing the ledger attachment to the house band joist with flashing, the fastener or bolt schedule, joist hangers, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the required lateral load connection (IRC R507.9 ledger connection, R507.9.2 lateral connection, R507.2.4 flashing).
- Footing sizing derived from tributary area, the soil bearing value, and design loads per IRC Table R507.3.1, with footings shown bearing on undisturbed soil at the frost depth required by the jurisdiction (IRC R507.3).
- Details for the guards required where the walking surface is more than 30 inches above grade, and for the stairs and handrails, showing guard height and opening limits, stair riser and tread dimensions, and handrail location (IRC R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).
- For designs that fall outside the prescriptive R507 tables (for example multi-story or stacked decks, or a ledger attached to a cantilever), engineered and stamped structural plans are submitted in place of the prescriptive details (IRC R507.1 and R301).
General submittal guidance from IRC R106.1.1 (construction documents) and IRC R507 (exterior decks), 2021 IRC. Source. Fairfax County Land Development Services sets the exact checklist for Fairfax County.
Where to apply in Fairfax County:
Fairfax County Land Development Services
- 12055 Government Center Pkwy Fairfax VA 22035
- Phone: 703-222-0801
Deck Permit in Fairfax County compared with nearby Virginia localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Virginia schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as an addition under Table 1's area-based residential rate, $0.15 to $0.28 per... | |
| Arlington County | Permit required | No size exemption is published for decks; new decks and deck modifications are treated as additions requiring a Residential Building Permit. | Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule | |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | Not specified | $114 flat fee for a deck, carport, gazebo, or similar accessory addition per the... | |
| Culpeper County | Permit required | Not specified | Not published | |
| Fauquier County | Permit required | Not specified | Not published |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Fairfax County, deck work is inspected in sequence as it is built: the footings before concrete is placed, the framing before the decking boards go down, and a final inspection once the deck is complete. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if missed.
- Footing or pier inspection in Fairfax County: after the holes are dug and any forms or reinforcing are set but before concrete is placed, the inspector checks footing depth and diameter, a flat undisturbed bearing surface, and that the holes are free of water (IRC R109.1.1 foundation inspection; R507.3 footings).
- Framing inspection in Fairfax County: after the deck is framed but before the decking conceals it, the inspector verifies the ledger attachment and its flashing, the fastener and bolt schedule, joist hangers and metal connectors, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the lateral load connection; call it before decking is installed (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R507.9 ledger and flashing).
- Final inspection in Fairfax County: after the deck is complete and before it is used, the inspector confirms guard height and opening limits (a 4 inch sphere must not pass, 4 3/8 inch at stairs), stair riser and tread dimensions, handrail height and graspability where there are 4 or more risers, stair landings, and required stair lighting (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Fairfax County permit portal or by phone at 703-222-0801.
Inspection sequence from IRC R109 (inspections: R109.1.1 footing before concrete, R109.1.4 frame, R109.1.6 final), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Deck Permit checklist for Fairfax County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: Before constructing any new residential deck or altering an existing deck.
- Budget the fee. Billed as an addition under Table 1's area-based residential rate, $0.15 to $0.28 per square foot depending on construction type, subject to the $141.75 base fee minimum, per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Fairfax County, a residential deck permit application is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the IRC deck provisions. In practice that means a scaled site plan locating the deck and its setbacks, plus deck plans and structural details covering the footings, posts, beams, joists, ledger, guards, and stairs. Start at the Fairfax County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Fairfax County Land Development Services. Phone: 703-222-0801. Address: 12055 Government Center Pkwy Fairfax VA 22035.
- Plan for inspections. In Fairfax County, deck work is inspected in sequence as it is built: the footings before concrete is placed, the framing before the decking boards go down, and a final inspection once the deck is complete. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if missed.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Fairfax County
In 2024, Fairfax County authorized permits for 2,861 new residential housing units (1,032 single-family, 1,829 in multi-family buildings), valued at $498M, down from 3,248 the year before. That works out to about 2.5 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,160,925.
About Fairfax County
Fairfax County has about 428,352 housing units. The median home is valued at $699,700, against a median household income of $150,113. About 68% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1983.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a deck permit in Fairfax County?
- A building permit is required for all residential deck construction and alterations in Fairfax County. On-grade paver and concrete patios are exempt, but any deck with post and beam construction requires a permit. An electrical permit is also needed if new outlets or non-low-voltage lighting are added. Applications are submitted through the PLUS portal. Always confirm with the Fairfax County Land Development Services before starting.
- How much does a deck permit cost in Fairfax County?
- Billed as an addition under Table 1's area-based residential rate, $0.15 to $0.28 per square foot depending on construction type, subject to the $141.75 base fee minimum, per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a deck permit in Fairfax County?
- You can apply through the Fairfax County permit portal or contact the Fairfax County Land Development Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a deck permit themselves in Fairfax County?
- Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Fairfax County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Fairfax County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | No single line item |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for... |
| EV Charger Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical... |
| Fence Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Not published |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Direct replacement of HVAC equipment is a household appliance permit, $78.75 for one... |
| Patio Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential addition or alteration plumbing work starts at the $141.75 base fee for... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | pool over 150 sq ft surface area, over 5000 gallons, or over 24 inches deep requires a building permit | Building permit to construct a swimming pool is a flat $83.50 per Appendix Q effective... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | replacing 256 sq ft or more of roof plywood (decking) requires a permit; shingle-only replacement and under 256 sq ft plywood replacement are exempt | Residential roof repairs and new roof structures are billed at 3 percent of the... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | single-story shed 256 sq ft or larger requires a building permit; under 256 sq ft no permit required | Sheds over 256 square feet are billed as a new building under Table 1's area rate, $0.15... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | See Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | Billed as a household appliance permit, $78.75 for one appliance per Ch. |
Deck Permit in other Virginia localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Fairfax County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this deck permit page for Fairfax County was verified. 2 official sources: fairfaxcounty.gov, fairfaxcounty.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Fairfax County Land Development Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page