Virginia / Fairfax County

EV Charger Permit in Fairfax County, Virginia

Permit required

We could not confirm this

Based on building code Verified

Issued byFairfax County Land Development Services

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

What an EV charger permit costs in Fairfax County

Line item
EV charger permitBy formulaBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical Installation Fees at the $141.75 base fee for Level One (1 to 100 fixtures, circuits or equipment), per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Fairfax County compares in Virginia

No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Fairfax Countythis pagePermit requiredBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration...
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Henrico CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific fee
Loudoun CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific fee line
Orange CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Prince William CountyPermit requiredNo permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing...

How to apply in Fairfax County

In Fairfax County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.

What most EV charger permit applications include:

  • For Fairfax County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
  • For Fairfax County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
  • For Fairfax County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
  • Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
  • For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
  • For Fairfax County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).

General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Fairfax County Land Development Services sets the exact checklist for Fairfax County.

Where to apply in Fairfax County:

Fairfax County Land Development Services

  • 12055 Government Center Pkwy Fairfax VA 22035
  • Phone: 703-222-0801

EV Charger Permit in Fairfax County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical...
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific line
Culpeper CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific line
Henrico CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific fee

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Fairfax County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.

  1. In Fairfax County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
  2. In Fairfax County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
  3. In Fairfax County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
  4. In Fairfax County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
  5. In Fairfax County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
  6. In Fairfax County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Fairfax County permit portal or by phone at 703-222-0801.

Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Fairfax County

In 2024, Fairfax County authorized permits for 2,861 new residential housing units (1,032 single-family, 1,829 in multi-family buildings), valued at $498M, down from 3,248 the year before. That works out to about 2.5 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,160,925.

About Fairfax County

Fairfax County has about 428,352 housing units. The median home is valued at $699,700, against a median household income of $150,113. About 68% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1983.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an EV charger permit in Fairfax County?
A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required. Always confirm with the Fairfax County Land Development Services before starting.
How much does an EV charger permit cost in Fairfax County?
Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical Installation Fees at the $141.75 base fee for Level One (1 to 100 fixtures, circuits or equipment), per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Fairfax County?
You can apply through the Fairfax County permit portal or contact the Fairfax County Land Development Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Fairfax County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Fairfax County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Fairfax County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNo single line item
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an addition under Table 1's area-based residential rate, $0.15 to $0.28 per...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for...
Fence PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNot published
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedDirect replacement of HVAC equipment is a household appliance permit, $78.75 for one...
Patio PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential addition or alteration plumbing work starts at the $141.75 base fee for...
Pool PermitIt dependspool over 150 sq ft surface area, over 5000 gallons, or over 24 inches deep requires a building permitBuilding permit to construct a swimming pool is a flat $83.50 per Appendix Q effective...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsreplacing 256 sq ft or more of roof plywood (decking) requires a permit; shingle-only replacement and under 256 sq ft plywood replacement are exemptResidential roof repairs and new roof structures are billed at 3 percent of the...
Shed PermitIt dependssingle-story shed 256 sq ft or larger requires a building permit; under 256 sq ft no permit requiredSheds over 256 square feet are billed as a new building under Table 1's area rate, $0.15...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedSee Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedBilled as a household appliance permit, $78.75 for one appliance per Ch.

EV Charger Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Fairfax County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this EV charger permit page for Fairfax County was verified. 1 official source: law.lis.virginia.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Fairfax County Land Development Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Virginia localities

EV charger permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Fairfax County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes