Virginia / Fairfax County

Electrical Permit in Fairfax County, Virginia

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For new wiring, service upgrades, new fixtures, equipment replacement, and EV charging circuits

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byFairfax County Land Development Services

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required in Fairfax County for new residential service, new electrical equipment and fixtures, replacement of electrical equipment or fixtures, and EV charging station circuits. A Household Appliance permit covers direct appliance replacement requiring one final inspection only. Apply through the PLUS portal.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For new wiring, service upgrades, new fixtures, equipment replacement, and EV charging circuits

What an electrical permit costs in Fairfax County

Line item
electrical permitBy formulaResidential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for Level One (1 to 100 fixtures, circuits or equipment), rising by level to $265.65 for over 175, per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Fairfax County compares in Virginia

No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Arlington CountyPermit requiredFees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyPermit required$171 for a new single-family dwelling
Fairfax Countythis pagePermit requiredResidential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base...
Fauquier CountyIt dependsA single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the...
Henrico CountyPermit requiredExisting-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor...
Loudoun CountyPermit requiredBase fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits...
Orange CountyPermit requiredBilled under the residential Trades category at $0.15 per square foot with a...

How to apply in Fairfax County

In Fairfax County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Fairfax County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Fairfax County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Fairfax County Land Development Services sets the exact checklist for Fairfax County.

Where to apply in Fairfax County:

Fairfax County Land Development Services

Electrical Permit in Fairfax County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for...
Arlington CountyPermit requiredLike for like replacement of switches, receptacles, lighting fixtures and similar elements of the same type, size and location is exempt unless located in plenums or penetrating fire rated or smoke protected construction.Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNot specified$171 for a new single-family dwelling
Culpeper CountyIt dependsNot specifiedNot published
Fauquier CountyIt dependsNot specifiedA single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Fairfax County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Fairfax County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Fairfax County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Fairfax County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Fairfax County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Fairfax County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Fairfax County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Fairfax County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Fairfax County permit portal or by phone at 703-222-0801.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Fairfax County

In 2024, Fairfax County authorized permits for 2,861 new residential housing units (1,032 single-family, 1,829 in multi-family buildings), valued at $498M, down from 3,248 the year before. That works out to about 2.5 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,160,925.

About Fairfax County

Fairfax County has about 428,352 housing units. The median home is valued at $699,700, against a median household income of $150,113. About 68% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1983.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Fairfax County?
An electrical permit is required in Fairfax County for new residential service, new electrical equipment and fixtures, replacement of electrical equipment or fixtures, and EV charging station circuits. A Household Appliance permit covers direct appliance replacement requiring one final inspection only. Apply through the PLUS portal. Always confirm with the Fairfax County Land Development Services before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Fairfax County?
Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for Level One (1 to 100 fixtures, circuits or equipment), rising by level to $265.65 for over 175, per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Fairfax County?
You can apply through the Fairfax County permit portal or contact the Fairfax County Land Development Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Fairfax County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Fairfax County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Fairfax County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNo single line item
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an addition under Table 1's area-based residential rate, $0.15 to $0.28 per...
EV Charger PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical...
Fence PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNot published
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedDirect replacement of HVAC equipment is a household appliance permit, $78.75 for one...
Patio PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential addition or alteration plumbing work starts at the $141.75 base fee for...
Pool PermitIt dependspool over 150 sq ft surface area, over 5000 gallons, or over 24 inches deep requires a building permitBuilding permit to construct a swimming pool is a flat $83.50 per Appendix Q effective...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsreplacing 256 sq ft or more of roof plywood (decking) requires a permit; shingle-only replacement and under 256 sq ft plywood replacement are exemptResidential roof repairs and new roof structures are billed at 3 percent of the...
Shed PermitIt dependssingle-story shed 256 sq ft or larger requires a building permit; under 256 sq ft no permit requiredSheds over 256 square feet are billed as a new building under Table 1's area rate, $0.15...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedSee Fairfax County LDS fee schedule for current solar permit fees
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedBilled as a household appliance permit, $78.75 for one appliance per Ch.

Electrical Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Fairfax County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Fairfax County was verified. 2 official sources: fairfaxcounty.gov, fairfaxcounty.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Fairfax County Land Development Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Virginia localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Fairfax County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes