Electrical Permit in Fauquier County, Virginia
It depends
Sometimes, depending on the project
For new wiring or circuits; may be exempt for like-for-like replacement of fixtures or switches not being moved
Issued byFauquier County Department of Community Development
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Fauquier County requires an electrical permit for new wiring, outlets, circuits, and lighting. Ordinary repairs such as replacing electrical fixtures, switches, or appliances in the same location are typically exempt from the permit requirement. Trade permits are issued over the counter and are typically processed the same day the application is received.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For new wiring or circuits; may be exempt for like-for-like replacement of fixtures or switches not being moved
What an electrical permit costs in Fauquier County
How Fauquier County compares in Virginia
No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington County | Permit required | Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | $171 for a new single-family dwelling |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base... |
| Fauquier Countythis page | It depends | A single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the... |
| Henrico County | Permit required | Existing-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor... |
| Loudoun County | Permit required | Base fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits... |
| Orange County | Permit required | Billed under the residential Trades category at $0.15 per square foot with a... |
How to apply in Fauquier County
In Fauquier County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Fauquier County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Fauquier County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Fauquier County Department of Community Development sets the exact checklist for Fauquier County.
Where to apply in Fauquier County:
Fauquier County Department of Community Development
- 16 Courthouse Square, Warrenton, VA 20186
- Phone: (540) 422-8220
Electrical Permit in Fauquier County compared with nearby Virginia localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Virginia schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fauquier County | It depends | Not specified | A single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum | |
| Arlington County | Permit required | Like for like replacement of switches, receptacles, lighting fixtures and similar elements of the same type, size and location is exempt unless located in plenums or penetrating fire rated or smoke protected construction. | Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule | |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | Not specified | $171 for a new single-family dwelling | |
| Culpeper County | It depends | Not specified | Not published | |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Not specified | Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Fauquier County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Fauquier County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Fauquier County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Fauquier County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Fauquier County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Fauquier County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Fauquier County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Fauquier County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Fauquier County permit portal or by phone at (540) 422-8220.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Fauquier County
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Usually needed: For new wiring or circuits; may be exempt for like-for-like replacement of fixtures or switches not being moved.
- Budget the fee. A single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum; service upgrades run $75 to $180 by amperage, per the county fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Fauquier County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Fauquier County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Fauquier County Department of Community Development. Phone: (540) 422-8220. Address: 16 Courthouse Square, Warrenton, VA 20186.
- Plan for inspections. In Fauquier County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Fauquier County
In 2024, Fauquier County authorized permits for 286 new residential housing units, valued at $102M, up from 247 the year before. That works out to about 3.8 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 75,865.
About Fauquier County
Fauquier County has about 28,454 housing units. The median home is valued at $543,700, against a median household income of $129,495. About 78% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1986.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Fauquier County?
- Fauquier County requires an electrical permit for new wiring, outlets, circuits, and lighting. Ordinary repairs such as replacing electrical fixtures, switches, or appliances in the same location are typically exempt from the permit requirement. Trade permits are issued over the counter and are typically processed the same day the application is received. Always confirm with the Fauquier County Department of Community Development before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Fauquier County?
- A single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum; service upgrades run $75 to $180 by amperage, per the county fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Fauquier County?
- You can apply through the Fauquier County permit portal or contact the Fauquier County Department of Community Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Fauquier County?
- Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Fauquier County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Fauquier County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Billed as a residential alteration at $0.16 per square foot with a $100 minimum plus the... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Not published |
| EV Charger Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line |
| Fence Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Fences need no building permit but placing one still needs a Zoning Permit priced flat... |
| HVAC Permit | It depends | Not specified | A single-trade mechanical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | on-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structure | No fee |
| Plumbing Permit | It depends | Not specified | A single-trade plumbing permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | over 150 sq ft surface area or 5000 or more gallons or more than 24 inches in depth | A residential pool is a flat $100 above-ground or $250 in-ground plus the 10% technology... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | like-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt statewide in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when roof sheathing or framing is replaced, and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areas | Roofing or siding only work with no other proposed work is a flat $100 plus the 10%... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | single-story structures under 256 sq ft are exempt from building permit; 256 sq ft or larger requires a building and zoning permit | Sheds over the 256 sq ft single-story no-utilities exemption bill as accessory... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No solar-specific line |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | A gas water heater needs a trade permit at $84.15 including the technology fee |
Electrical Permit in other Virginia localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Fauquier County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Fauquier County was verified. 2 official sources: fauquiercounty.gov, fauquiercounty.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Fauquier County Department of Community Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Virginia localities