Do you need an electrical permit in Virginia?
By Mario Bailey Last checked
- Always required
- 9
- of 12 jurisdictions
- Conditional
- 3
- depends on size or scope
- Not required
- 0
- exempt outright
Electrical Permit rules nationwide, beyond Virginia.
Requirements and size thresholds for electrical permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Virginia county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.
Comparing states? See electrical permit rules across every locality we cover.
What to know about electrical permits in Virginia
Electrical permits in Virginia cover new wiring, service upgrades, and added circuits, while simple device swaps are often exempt. Costs vary by locality and scope. A licensed electrician is strongly recommended, because electrical work is a common cause of inspection failures and safety issues.
The application steps and inspection sequence for electrical permits come from the model code rather than from Virginia law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how an electrical permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Virginia jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.
Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.
| Locality | Permit required? | Typical threshold | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arlington County | Yes | Like for like replacement of switches, receptacles, lighting fixtures and similar elements of the same type, size and location is exempt unless located in plenums or penetrating fire rated or smoke protected construction. | Confirmed on official page |
| Chesterfield County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Culpeper County | Conditional | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Fairfax County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Fauquier County | Conditional | Not specified | From an official source |
| Henrico County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Loudoun County | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Orange County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Prince William County | Conditional | building permit required for new circuits or fixtures or receptacles; low-voltage wiring under 50 volts and replacement of existing fixtures in place are exempt | Confirmed on official page |
| Spotsylvania County | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Stafford County | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Virginia Beach | Yes | State code exempts like-for-like replacement of snap switches, dimmer and control switches, 125 volt 15 or 20 ampere receptacles, luminaires, and ceiling fans; other electrical work needs a permit. | From an official source |
| No localities match your filter. | |||
What an electrical permit costs in Virginia
9 Virginia jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.
$171 for a new single-family dwelling; $114 for an addition, renovation, or conversion requiring new rough-in ($57 if rough-in is pre-existing); $57 for a service change, installation, replacement, or repair, per the FY2025-26 residential fee schedule
last checked
Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for Level One (1 to 100 fixtures, circuits or equipment), rising by level to $265.65 for over 175, per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01
last checked
A single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum; service upgrades run $75 to $180 by amperage, per the county fee schedule effective 7/1/2025
last checked
Existing-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and materials cost, plus $6 per additional $1,000 or fraction thereof, plus a 2% state levy; a new-dwelling trade permit is a $100 flat fee plus $2 state levy ($102 total), per Henrico's residential trade permit fee schedule.
last checked
Base fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits in a 1 or 2 family dwelling is $70; service equipment upgrades are $70 for 0-400 amps or $100 above 400 amps, per the July 2022 fee schedule
last checked
Billed under the residential Trades category at $0.15 per square foot with a $100 minimum, plus Virginia's 2% state surcharge, per the FY27 Tax and Fee Schedule
last checked
Existing-dwelling electrical work is a base fee of $44.23 ($55.35 with surcharges) plus itemized add-ons: fixtures or receptacles $8.85 per 10 ($11.10), circuits $2.94 each ($3.70), stationary equipment $11.80 each ($14.75), subpanel $25.06 ($31.35), per the FY27 BDD Fee Schedule
last checked
Minimum electrical permit is $100, totaling $147 over the counter after the 2% building surcharge and $45 processing fee, per the county electrical-only packet under the 7/1/2025 Unified Fee Schedule
last checked
Residential electrical trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per system, plus the 2 percent state levy and 2.75 percent technology fee, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 11/1/2024
last checked
Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.
Common questions about electrical permits in Virginia
- Do I need an electrical permit in Virginia?
- In most of Virginia, yes. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Virginia city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 12 Virginia jurisdictions we have verified for electrical work, 9 require a permit outright, 3 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
- Is there an electrical permit exemption in Virginia?
- 3 of the 12 Virginia jurisdictions we cover set a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one Virginia county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each Virginia jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.
Ready to move on your electrical permit?
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
Planning more than an electrical permit? Check your whole project