Electrical Permit in Loudoun County, Virginia
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all new wiring and service work
Issued byLoudoun County Department of Building and Development
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required in Loudoun County for new wiring, outlets, circuits, lighting, and panel upgrades. Contractors must hold a master electrical license and a valid Loudoun County business license. Permit applications are submitted through the LandMARC online portal. The county also requires plan review for some residential fuel gas permits as of October 2025.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all new wiring and service work
What an electrical permit costs in Loudoun County
How Loudoun County compares in Virginia
No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington County | Permit required | Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | $171 for a new single-family dwelling |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base... |
| Fauquier County | It depends | A single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the... |
| Henrico County | Permit required | Existing-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor... |
| Loudoun Countythis page | Permit required | Base fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits... |
| Orange County | Permit required | Billed under the residential Trades category at $0.15 per square foot with a... |
How to apply in Loudoun County
In Loudoun County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Loudoun County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Loudoun County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Loudoun County Department of Building and Development sets the exact checklist for Loudoun County.
Where to apply in Loudoun County:
Loudoun County Department of Building and Development
- 1 Harrison Street SE, Leesburg, VA 20175
- Phone: (703) 777-0220
Electrical Permit in Loudoun County compared with nearby Virginia localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Virginia schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Loudoun County | Permit required | Not specified | Base fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits in a 1 or... | |
| Arlington County | Permit required | Like for like replacement of switches, receptacles, lighting fixtures and similar elements of the same type, size and location is exempt unless located in plenums or penetrating fire rated or smoke protected construction. | Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule | |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | Not specified | $171 for a new single-family dwelling | |
| Culpeper County | It depends | Not specified | Not published | |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Not specified | Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Loudoun County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Loudoun County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Loudoun County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Loudoun County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Loudoun County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Loudoun County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Loudoun County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Loudoun County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Loudoun County permit portal or by phone at (703) 777-0220.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Loudoun County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all new wiring and service work.
- Budget the fee. Base fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits in a 1 or 2 family dwelling is $70; service equipment upgrades are $70 for 0-400 amps or $100 above 400 amps, per the July 2022 fee schedule. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Loudoun County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Loudoun County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Loudoun County Department of Building and Development. Phone: (703) 777-0220. Address: 1 Harrison Street SE, Leesburg, VA 20175.
- Plan for inspections. In Loudoun County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Loudoun County
In 2024, Loudoun County authorized permits for 3,314 new residential housing units (1,496 single-family, 1,818 in multi-family buildings), valued at $458M, up from 1,782 the year before. That works out to about 7.5 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 443,380.
About Loudoun County
Loudoun County has about 144,804 housing units. The median home is valued at $701,000, against a median household income of $178,707. About 78% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 2002.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Loudoun County?
- An electrical permit is required in Loudoun County for new wiring, outlets, circuits, lighting, and panel upgrades. Contractors must hold a master electrical license and a valid Loudoun County business license. Permit applications are submitted through the LandMARC online portal. The county also requires plan review for some residential fuel gas permits as of October 2025. Always confirm with the Loudoun County Department of Building and Development before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Loudoun County?
- Base fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits in a 1 or 2 family dwelling is $70; service equipment upgrades are $70 for 0-400 amps or $100 above 400 amps, per the July 2022 fee schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Loudoun County?
- You can apply through the Loudoun County permit portal or contact the Loudoun County Department of Building and Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Loudoun County?
- Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Loudoun County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Loudoun County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Billed as a residential alteration: building permit fee is 1% of construction cost plus... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | A county-typical (pre-approved design) deck under 1,000 sq ft outside an incorporated... |
| EV Charger Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific fee line |
| Fence Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Typical residential fences are exempt from the Zoning Permit requirement so no fee applies |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Base Mechanical Permit fee for adding, replacing or relocating central heating or air... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | on-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structure | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Base fee for adding, replacing or relocating plumbing equipment in a 1 or 2 family... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $260 covers both the county building and zoning permit fees for a residential pool... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | permit required if replacing more than 256 sq ft of roof decking or making structural changes or changing roofing materials | No dedicated fee line |
| Shed Permit | It depends | under 256 sq ft requires zoning permit only; 256 sq ft or larger requires a building permit in addition to zoning permit | Zoning-only permit is $165 |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Building permit fee is $230 and electrical permit fee is $70 for rooftop systems |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | No dedicated line |
Electrical Permit in other Virginia localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Loudoun County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Loudoun County was verified. 2 official sources: loudoun.gov, loudoun.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Loudoun County Department of Building and Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Virginia localities