Virginia / Culpeper County

Electrical Permit in Culpeper County, Virginia

It depends

We could not confirm this

For new wiring, service upgrades, subpanel work, or added circuits; may be exempt for simple device or fixture replacements

Based on building code Verified

Issued byCulpeper County Building Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Culpeper County requires a Residential Electrical permit for new circuits, service upgrades, and electrical additions. Virginia state code exempts the replacement of switches, receptacles (125V up to 20A), lighting fixtures, and ceiling fans in residential buildings when no wiring changes are made. Applications are accepted through the county online portal.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For new wiring, service upgrades, subpanel work, or added circuits; may be exempt for simple device or fixture replacements

What an electrical permit costs in Culpeper County

Line item
electrical permitNot publishedCulpeper County publishes no fee for this permit type in a schedule we can verify. Ask Culpeper County Building Department how the fee is calculated for your project.

How Culpeper County compares in Virginia

No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Arlington CountyPermit requiredFees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyPermit required$171 for a new single-family dwelling
Culpeper Countythis pageIt dependsNot published
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredResidential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base...
Fauquier CountyIt dependsA single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the...
Henrico CountyPermit requiredExisting-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor...
Loudoun CountyPermit requiredBase fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits...

How to apply in Culpeper County

In Culpeper County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Culpeper County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Culpeper County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Culpeper County Building Department sets the exact checklist for Culpeper County.

Where to apply in Culpeper County:

Culpeper County Building Department

Electrical Permit in Culpeper County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Culpeper CountyIt dependsNot specifiedNot published
Arlington CountyPermit requiredLike for like replacement of switches, receptacles, lighting fixtures and similar elements of the same type, size and location is exempt unless located in plenums or penetrating fire rated or smoke protected construction.Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNot specified$171 for a new single-family dwelling
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for...
Fauquier CountyIt dependsNot specifiedA single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Culpeper County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Culpeper County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Culpeper County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Culpeper County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Culpeper County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Culpeper County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Culpeper County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Culpeper County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Culpeper County permit portal or by phone at (540) 727-3405.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Culpeper County

In 2024, Culpeper County authorized permits for 425 new residential housing units (365 single-family, 60 in multi-family buildings), valued at $137M, up from 294 the year before. That works out to about 7.6 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 56,125.

About Culpeper County

Culpeper County has about 19,529 housing units. The median home is valued at $386,400, against a median household income of $96,098. About 75% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1992.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Culpeper County?
Culpeper County requires a Residential Electrical permit for new circuits, service upgrades, and electrical additions. Virginia state code exempts the replacement of switches, receptacles (125V up to 20A), lighting fixtures, and ceiling fans in residential buildings when no wiring changes are made. Applications are accepted through the county online portal. Always confirm with the Culpeper County Building Department before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Culpeper County?
Fees are set by Culpeper County and are not published here. Contact the office for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Culpeper County?
You can apply through the Culpeper County permit portal or contact the Culpeper County Building Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Culpeper County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Culpeper County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Culpeper County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?Threshold
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specified
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specified
EV Charger PermitPermit requiredNot specified
Fence PermitPermit requiredNot specified
HVAC PermitIt dependsNot specified
Patio PermitIt dependson-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structure
Plumbing PermitIt dependsNot specified
Pool PermitIt dependsover 150 sq ft surface area or 24 inches or more in depth
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsNot specified
Shed PermitIt dependsover 256 sq ft
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specified
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specified

Electrical Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Culpeper County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Culpeper County was verified. 3 official sources: web.culpepercounty.gov, web.culpepercounty.gov, law.lis.virginia.gov. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Culpeper County Building Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Virginia localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

It depends
Get quotes