Electrical Permit in Stafford County, Virginia
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For new wiring, service changes, and replacement of electrical equipment or fixtures
Issued byStafford County Building Division
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required in Stafford County for residential wiring, service upgrades, and equipment installation under the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. Exemptions are narrow, covering items such as wiring that operates below 50 volts. Work is inspected by the county building department.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For new wiring, service changes, and replacement of electrical equipment or fixtures
What an electrical permit costs in Stafford County
How Stafford County compares in Virginia
No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington County | Permit required | Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | $171 for a new single-family dwelling |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base... |
| Fauquier County | It depends | A single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the... |
| Henrico County | Permit required | Existing-dwelling trade permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor... |
| Loudoun County | Permit required | Base fee for adding, replacing or relocating fixtures, receptacles or circuits... |
| Stafford Countythis page | Permit required | Residential electrical trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per... |
How to apply in Stafford County
In Stafford County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Stafford County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Stafford County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Stafford County Building Division sets the exact checklist for Stafford County.
Where to apply in Stafford County:
Stafford County Building Division
- 1300 Courthouse Road, Stafford, VA 22554
- Phone: (540) 658-8650
Electrical Permit in Stafford County compared with nearby Virginia localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Virginia schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stafford County | Permit required | Not specified | Residential electrical trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per... | |
| Arlington County | Permit required | Like for like replacement of switches, receptacles, lighting fixtures and similar elements of the same type, size and location is exempt unless located in plenums or penetrating fire rated or smoke protected construction. | Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule | |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | Not specified | $171 for a new single-family dwelling | |
| Culpeper County | It depends | Not specified | Not published | |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Not specified | Residential addition or alteration electrical work starts at the $141.75 base fee for... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Stafford County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Stafford County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Stafford County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Stafford County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Stafford County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Stafford County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Stafford County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Stafford County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Stafford County permit portal or by phone at (540) 658-8650.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Stafford County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For new wiring, service changes, and replacement of electrical equipment or fixtures.
- Budget the fee. Residential electrical trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per system, plus the 2 percent state levy and 2.75 percent technology fee, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 11/1/2024. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Stafford County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Stafford County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Stafford County Building Division. Phone: (540) 658-8650. Address: 1300 Courthouse Road, Stafford, VA 22554.
- Plan for inspections. In Stafford County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Stafford County
In 2024, Stafford County authorized permits for 361 new residential housing units, valued at $127M, down from 541 the year before. That works out to about 2.1 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 168,919.
About Stafford County
Stafford County has about 53,864 housing units. The median home is valued at $458,800, against a median household income of $133,792. About 81% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1997.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Stafford County?
- An electrical permit is required in Stafford County for residential wiring, service upgrades, and equipment installation under the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. Exemptions are narrow, covering items such as wiring that operates below 50 volts. Work is inspected by the county building department. Always confirm with the Stafford County Building Division before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Stafford County?
- Residential electrical trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per system, plus the 2 percent state levy and 2.75 percent technology fee, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 11/1/2024. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Stafford County?
- You can apply through the Stafford County permit portal or contact the Stafford County Building Division directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Stafford County?
- Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Stafford County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Stafford County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Billed as a residential alteration at $0.10 per sq ft ($75 minimum) plan review and... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a residential addition at $0.10 per sq ft ($75 minimum) plan review and $0.14... |
| EV Charger Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Not separately itemized |
| Fence Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Not published |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential mechanical trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | on-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structure | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Residential plumbing trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | building permit required if pool is 150 sq ft or larger or holds 5000 gallons or more or is over 24 inches deep | Residential pool plan review is $229 and inspection $222 |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | like-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt statewide in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when roof sheathing or framing is replaced, and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areas | Structural roof replacement (not shingles only) bills at $0.04 per sq ft ($50 minimum)... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | building permit required for sheds over 256 sq ft; zoning permit required for all sheds | Sheds process as accessory structures under the residential additions schedule at $0.10... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Alternative energy system review, which the schedule lists as covering solar, is $100... |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | Not separately itemized |
Electrical Permit in other Virginia localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Stafford County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Stafford County was verified. 2 official sources: law.lis.virginia.gov, staffordcountyva.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Stafford County Building Division. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Virginia localities