Virginia / Stafford County

EV Charger Permit in Stafford County, Virginia

Permit required

We could not confirm this

Based on building code Verified

Issued byStafford County Building Division

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

What an EV charger permit costs in Stafford County

Line item
EV charger permitBy formulaNot separately itemized; an EV charger circuit falls under the residential All Trades electrical rate of $60 per trade per system, plus the 2 percent state levy and 2.75 percent technology fee, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 11/1/2024.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Stafford County compares in Virginia

No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration...
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Henrico CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific fee
Loudoun CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific fee line
Orange CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Stafford Countythis pagePermit requiredNot separately itemized

How to apply in Stafford County

In Stafford County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.

What most EV charger permit applications include:

  • For Stafford County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
  • For Stafford County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
  • For Stafford County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
  • Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
  • For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
  • For Stafford County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).

General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Stafford County Building Division sets the exact checklist for Stafford County.

Where to apply in Stafford County:

Stafford County Building Division

  • 1300 Courthouse Road, Stafford, VA 22554
  • Phone: (540) 658-8650

EV Charger Permit in Stafford County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Stafford CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNot separately itemized
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific line
Culpeper CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical...
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific line

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Stafford County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.

  1. In Stafford County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
  2. In Stafford County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
  3. In Stafford County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
  4. In Stafford County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
  5. In Stafford County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
  6. In Stafford County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Stafford County permit portal or by phone at (540) 658-8650.

Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Stafford County

In 2024, Stafford County authorized permits for 361 new residential housing units, valued at $127M, down from 541 the year before. That works out to about 2.1 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 168,919.

About Stafford County

Stafford County has about 53,864 housing units. The median home is valued at $458,800, against a median household income of $133,792. About 81% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1997.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an EV charger permit in Stafford County?
A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required. Always confirm with the Stafford County Building Division before starting.
How much does an EV charger permit cost in Stafford County?
Not separately itemized; an EV charger circuit falls under the residential All Trades electrical rate of $60 per trade per system, plus the 2 percent state levy and 2.75 percent technology fee, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 11/1/2024. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Stafford County?
You can apply through the Stafford County permit portal or contact the Stafford County Building Division directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Stafford County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Stafford County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Stafford County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedBilled as a residential alteration at $0.10 per sq ft ($75 minimum) plan review and...
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as a residential addition at $0.10 per sq ft ($75 minimum) plan review and $0.14...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential electrical trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per...
Fence PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNot published
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential mechanical trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per...
Patio PermitIt dependson-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structureNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential plumbing trade work bills under the All Trades line at $60 per trade per...
Pool PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required if pool is 150 sq ft or larger or holds 5000 gallons or more or is over 24 inches deepResidential pool plan review is $229 and inspection $222
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependslike-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt statewide in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when roof sheathing or framing is replaced, and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areasStructural roof replacement (not shingles only) bills at $0.04 per sq ft ($50 minimum)...
Shed PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required for sheds over 256 sq ft; zoning permit required for all shedsSheds process as accessory structures under the residential additions schedule at $0.10...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedAlternative energy system review, which the schedule lists as covering solar, is $100...
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNot separately itemized

EV Charger Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Stafford County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this EV charger permit page for Stafford County was verified. 1 official source: law.lis.virginia.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Stafford County Building Division. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Virginia localities

EV charger permit rules nationwide

Permit required
Get quotes