Virginia / Chesterfield County
EV Charger Permit in Chesterfield County, Virginia
Permit required
We could not confirm this
Issued byChesterfield County Department of Building Inspection
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
What an EV charger permit costs in Chesterfield County
How Chesterfield County compares in Virginia
No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Chesterfield Countythis page | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration... |
| Fauquier County | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Henrico County | Permit required | No EV-specific fee |
| Loudoun County | Permit required | No EV-specific fee line |
| Orange County | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Prince William County | Permit required | No permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing... |
How to apply in Chesterfield County
In Chesterfield County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.
What most EV charger permit applications include:
- For Chesterfield County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
- For Chesterfield County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
- For Chesterfield County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
- Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
- For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
- For Chesterfield County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).
General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Chesterfield County Department of Building Inspection sets the exact checklist for Chesterfield County.
Where to apply in Chesterfield County:
Chesterfield County Department of Building Inspection
- 9800 Government Center Parkway, Chesterfield, VA 23832
- Phone: (804) 751-4990
- Email: BIPermitsAndFees@chesterfield.gov
EV Charger Permit in Chesterfield County compared with nearby Virginia localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Virginia schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line | |
| Culpeper County | Permit required | Not specified | Not published | |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical... | |
| Fauquier County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line | |
| Henrico County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific fee |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Chesterfield County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
- In Chesterfield County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
- In Chesterfield County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
- In Chesterfield County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
- In Chesterfield County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
- In Chesterfield County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
- In Chesterfield County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Chesterfield County permit portal or by phone at (804) 751-4990.
Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your EV Charger Permit checklist for Chesterfield County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required.
- Budget the fee. No EV-specific line; a charger circuit falls under the county's electrical permit trigger for new wiring, $114 where rough-in is required or $57 for an installation using existing wiring, plus the 2% state levy, per the residential fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Chesterfield County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added. Start at the Chesterfield County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Chesterfield County Department of Building Inspection. Phone: (804) 751-4990. Address: 9800 Government Center Parkway, Chesterfield, VA 23832.
- Plan for inspections. In Chesterfield County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an EV charger permit in Chesterfield County?
- A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required. Always confirm with the Chesterfield County Department of Building Inspection before starting.
- How much does an EV charger permit cost in Chesterfield County?
- No EV-specific line; a charger circuit falls under the county's electrical permit trigger for new wiring, $114 where rough-in is required or $57 for an installation using existing wiring, plus the 2% state levy, per the residential fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Chesterfield County?
- You can apply through the Chesterfield County permit portal or contact the Chesterfield County Department of Building Inspection directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Chesterfield County?
- Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Chesterfield County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Chesterfield County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Falls under renovation, alteration or conversion: $114 if square footage does not... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $114 flat fee for a deck, carport, gazebo, or similar accessory addition per the... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $171 for a new single-family dwelling |
| Fence Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | No permit or fee for a standard residential fence |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $114 for a new HVAC system installation or system replacement with new ductwork |
| Patio Permit | It depends | on-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structure | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $228 for a new single-family dwelling |
| Pool Permit | It depends | pools, hot tubs, or spas (permanent or storable) greater than 150 sq ft surface area, 5,000 gallons capacity, and more than 24 inches deep require a building permit; smaller or shallower pools are exempt | $57 flat fee for an in-ground or above-ground swimming pool with barrier |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | like-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt statewide in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when roof sheathing or framing is replaced, and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areas | No permit or fee for ordinary reroofing or shingle replacement, which the county lists... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | sheds 256 sq ft or less require no permit; sheds 257 sq ft or larger (up to 400 sq ft) require a building permit | No permit fee for sheds 256 sq ft or less |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No solar-specific line |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | Replacing an electric water heater with a new electric unit needs no permit |
EV Charger Permit in other Virginia localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Chesterfield County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this EV charger permit page for Chesterfield County was verified. 1 official source: law.lis.virginia.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Chesterfield County Department of Building Inspection. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Virginia localities