EV Charger Permit in Orange County, Virginia
Permit required
We could not confirm this
Issued byOrange County Building Inspections
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
What an EV charger permit costs in Orange County
How Orange County compares in Virginia
No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration... |
| Fauquier County | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Henrico County | Permit required | No EV-specific fee |
| Loudoun County | Permit required | No EV-specific fee line |
| Orange Countythis page | Permit required | No EV-specific line |
| Prince William County | Permit required | No permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing... |
How to apply in Orange County
In Orange County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.
What most EV charger permit applications include:
- For Orange County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
- For Orange County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
- For Orange County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
- Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
- For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
- For Orange County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).
General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Orange County Building Inspections sets the exact checklist for Orange County.
Where to apply in Orange County:
Orange County Building Inspections
- 128 W. Main Street, Orange, VA 22960
- Phone: (540) 672-4574
EV Charger Permit in Orange County compared with nearby Virginia localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Virginia schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orange County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line | |
| Chesterfield County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line | |
| Culpeper County | Permit required | Not specified | Not published | |
| Fairfax County | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical... | |
| Fauquier County | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Orange County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
- In Orange County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
- In Orange County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
- In Orange County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
- In Orange County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
- In Orange County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
- In Orange County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Call Orange County at (540) 672-4574 to schedule.
Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your EV Charger Permit checklist for Orange County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required.
- Budget the fee. No EV-specific line; a home charger circuit bills under the residential Trades electric category at $0.15 per square foot with a $100 minimum, plus Virginia's 2% state surcharge, per the FY27 Tax and Fee Schedule. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Orange County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added. Start at the official Orange County permit page.
- Keep the office details handy. Orange County Building Inspections. Phone: (540) 672-4574. Address: 128 W. Main Street, Orange, VA 22960.
- Plan for inspections. In Orange County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Orange County
In 2024, Orange County authorized permits for 412 new residential housing units (410 single-family, 2 in multi-family buildings), valued at $104M, down from 422 the year before. That works out to about 10.6 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 38,986.
About Orange County
Orange County has about 15,895 housing units. The median home is valued at $337,300, against a median household income of $94,175. About 78% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1992.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an EV charger permit in Orange County?
- A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required. Always confirm with the Orange County Building Inspections before starting.
- How much does an EV charger permit cost in Orange County?
- No EV-specific line; a home charger circuit bills under the residential Trades electric category at $0.15 per square foot with a $100 minimum, plus Virginia's 2% state surcharge, per the FY27 Tax and Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Orange County?
- Apply through the Orange County Building Inspections. The official permit page and contact details are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Orange County?
- Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Orange County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Orange County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Bills as the residential Alteration category at $0.25 per square foot with a $150... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed at $0.15 per square foot with a $75 minimum under the residential deck, porch, or... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the residential Trades category at $0.15 per square foot with a $100... |
| Fence Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Flat $75 fee under the residential accessory structures fence and retaining wall line... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the residential Trades category for mechanical work at $0.15 per square... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | on-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structure | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the residential Trades category for plumbing work at $0.15 per square foot... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | pools over 150 sq ft of surface area or 24 inches or more in depth require a building permit; smaller, shallower pools are exempt | Flat $100 for an above-ground pool or hot tub, or $200 for an in-ground pool, each... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | like-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt statewide in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when roof sheathing or framing is replaced, and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areas | Most single family reroofs are permit-exempt under the Virginia residential code, so no... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | over 256 sq ft requires building permit; 150 to 256 sq ft requires zoning permit only; under 150 sq ft no permits required | Billed at $0.25 per square foot with a $75 minimum under the residential utility... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Ground-mounted solar with electric is $0.10 per square foot with a $150 minimum |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | No water-heater line |
EV Charger Permit in other Virginia localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Orange County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this EV charger permit page for Orange County was verified. 1 official source: law.lis.virginia.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Orange County Building Inspections. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Virginia localities