Virginia / Fauquier County

EV Charger Permit in Fauquier County, Virginia

Permit required

We could not confirm this

Based on building code Verified

Issued byFauquier County Department of Community Development

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

What an EV charger permit costs in Fauquier County

Line item
EV charger permitBy formulaNo EV-specific line; a charger circuit bills as a single electrical trade permit at $84.15 including the technology fee, per the county fee schedule effective 7/1/2025.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Fauquier County compares in Virginia

No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration...
Fauquier Countythis pagePermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Henrico CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific fee
Loudoun CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific fee line
Orange CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Prince William CountyPermit requiredNo permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing...

How to apply in Fauquier County

In Fauquier County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.

What most EV charger permit applications include:

  • For Fauquier County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
  • For Fauquier County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
  • For Fauquier County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
  • Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
  • For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
  • For Fauquier County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).

General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Fauquier County Department of Community Development sets the exact checklist for Fauquier County.

Where to apply in Fauquier County:

Fauquier County Department of Community Development

  • 16 Courthouse Square, Warrenton, VA 20186
  • Phone: (540) 422-8220

EV Charger Permit in Fauquier County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific line
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific line
Culpeper CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical...
Henrico CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific fee

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Fauquier County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.

  1. In Fauquier County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
  2. In Fauquier County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
  3. In Fauquier County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
  4. In Fauquier County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
  5. In Fauquier County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
  6. In Fauquier County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Fauquier County permit portal or by phone at (540) 422-8220.

Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Fauquier County

In 2024, Fauquier County authorized permits for 286 new residential housing units, valued at $102M, up from 247 the year before. That works out to about 3.8 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 75,865.

About Fauquier County

Fauquier County has about 28,454 housing units. The median home is valued at $543,700, against a median household income of $129,495. About 78% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1986.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an EV charger permit in Fauquier County?
A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required. Always confirm with the Fauquier County Department of Community Development before starting.
How much does an EV charger permit cost in Fauquier County?
No EV-specific line; a charger circuit bills as a single electrical trade permit at $84.15 including the technology fee, per the county fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Fauquier County?
You can apply through the Fauquier County permit portal or contact the Fauquier County Department of Community Development directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Fauquier County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Fauquier County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Fauquier County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedBilled as a residential alteration at $0.16 per square foot with a $100 minimum plus the...
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Electrical PermitIt dependsNot specifiedA single-trade electrical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum
Fence PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedFences need no building permit but placing one still needs a Zoning Permit priced flat...
HVAC PermitIt dependsNot specifiedA single-trade mechanical permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75...
Patio PermitIt dependson-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structureNo fee
Plumbing PermitIt dependsNot specifiedA single-trade plumbing permit is $84.15 including the technology fee at the $75 minimum...
Pool PermitIt dependsover 150 sq ft surface area or 5000 or more gallons or more than 24 inches in depthA residential pool is a flat $100 above-ground or $250 in-ground plus the 10% technology...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependslike-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt statewide in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when roof sheathing or framing is replaced, and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areasRoofing or siding only work with no other proposed work is a flat $100 plus the 10%...
Shed PermitIt dependssingle-story structures under 256 sq ft are exempt from building permit; 256 sq ft or larger requires a building and zoning permitSheds over the 256 sq ft single-story no-utilities exemption bill as accessory...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo solar-specific line
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedA gas water heater needs a trade permit at $84.15 including the technology fee

EV Charger Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Fauquier County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this EV charger permit page for Fauquier County was verified. 1 official source: law.lis.virginia.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Fauquier County Department of Community Development. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Virginia localities

EV charger permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Fauquier County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes