Do you need an EV charger permit in Virginia?
By Mario Bailey Last checked
- Always required
- 10
- of 10 jurisdictions
- Conditional
- 0
- depends on size or scope
- Not required
- 0
- exempt outright
EV Charger Permit rules nationwide, beyond Virginia.
Requirements and size thresholds for EV charger permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Virginia county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.
Comparing states? See EV charger permit rules across every locality we cover.
The application steps and inspection sequence for EV charger permits come from the model code rather than from Virginia law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how an EV charger permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Virginia jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.
Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.
| Locality | Permit required? | Typical threshold | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chesterfield County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Culpeper County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Fairfax County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Fauquier County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Henrico County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Loudoun County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Orange County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Prince William County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Spotsylvania County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| Stafford County | Yes | Not specified | Based on building code |
| No localities match your filter. | |||
What an EV charger permit costs in Virginia
8 Virginia jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.
No EV-specific line; a charger circuit falls under the county's electrical permit trigger for new wiring, $114 where rough-in is required or $57 for an installation using existing wiring, plus the 2% state levy, per the residential fee schedule effective 7/1/2025
last checked
Billed as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical Installation Fees at the $141.75 base fee for Level One (1 to 100 fixtures, circuits or equipment), per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01
last checked
No EV-specific line; a charger circuit bills as a single electrical trade permit at $84.15 including the technology fee, per the county fee schedule effective 7/1/2025
last checked
No EV-specific fee; charger circuits operate above 50 volts so they take the standard existing-dwelling electrical permit at $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and material cost plus $6 per additional $1,000 plus a 2% state levy, per the county electrical permit and fee pages
last checked
No EV-specific fee line; a home charger circuit files under the standard residential Electrical Permit at $70 for fixtures, receptacles and circuits, with a service upgrade a separate $70 (0-400 amps), per the July 2022 fee schedule
last checked
No EV-specific line; a home charger circuit bills under the residential Trades electric category at $0.15 per square foot with a $100 minimum, plus Virginia's 2% state surcharge, per the FY27 Tax and Fee Schedule
last checked
No permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing circuit per manufacturer instructions; hardwired installs are billed as stationary equipment on the Existing Dwellings electrical schedule, base fee $44.23 ($55.35 with surcharges) plus $11.80 per unit ($14.75 with surcharges), per the FY27 BDD Fee Schedule
last checked
Not separately itemized; an EV charger circuit falls under the residential All Trades electrical rate of $60 per trade per system, plus the 2 percent state levy and 2.75 percent technology fee, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 11/1/2024
last checked
Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.
Common questions about EV charger permits in Virginia
- Do I need an EV charger permit in Virginia?
- In most of Virginia, yes. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Virginia city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 10 Virginia jurisdictions we have verified for EV charger work, 10 require a permit outright, 0 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
Ready to move on your EV charger permit?
Hire it out
Sponsored
A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
Planning more than an EV charger permit? Check your whole project