Virginia / Prince William County

EV Charger Permit in Prince William County, Virginia

Permit required

We could not confirm this

Based on building code Verified

Issued byPrince William County Building Development Division

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

What an EV charger permit costs in Prince William County

Line item
EV charger permitBy formulaNo permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing circuit per manufacturer instructions; hardwired installs are billed as stationary equipment on the Existing Dwellings electrical schedule, base fee $44.23 ($55.35 with surcharges) plus $11.80 per unit ($14.75 with surcharges), per the FY27 BDD Fee Schedule.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Prince William County compares in Virginia

No Virginia jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration...
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Henrico CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific fee
Loudoun CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific fee line
Orange CountyPermit requiredNo EV-specific line
Prince William Countythis pagePermit requiredNo permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing...

How to apply in Prince William County

In Prince William County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.

What most EV charger permit applications include:

  • For Prince William County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
  • For Prince William County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
  • For Prince William County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
  • Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
  • For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
  • For Prince William County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).

General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Prince William County Building Development Division sets the exact checklist for Prince William County.

Where to apply in Prince William County:

Prince William County Building Development Division

  • 5 County Complex Ct., Ste. 120, Prince William, VA 22192
  • Phone: (703) 792-6930
  • Email: bdd@pwcva.gov

EV Charger Permit in Prince William County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Prince William CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing circuit per...
Chesterfield CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific line
Culpeper CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Fairfax CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled as an electrical fixture under Residential Addition/Alteration Electrical...
Fauquier CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo EV-specific line

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Prince William County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.

  1. In Prince William County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
  2. In Prince William County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
  3. In Prince William County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
  4. In Prince William County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
  5. In Prince William County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
  6. In Prince William County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Prince William County permit portal or by phone at (703) 792-6930.

Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Prince William County

In 2024, Prince William County authorized permits for 1,418 new residential housing units (793 single-family, 625 in multi-family buildings), valued at $245M, down from 1,492 the year before. That works out to about 2.9 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 497,003.

About Prince William County

Prince William County has about 160,256 housing units. The median home is valued at $500,600, against a median household income of $128,873. About 74% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1994.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an EV charger permit in Prince William County?
A hardwired Level 2 charger requires a permit statewide. USBC Section 108.1 requires a permit before installations or alterations involving electric wiring, and the exemptions cover only sub-50-volt wiring, broadband and home automation systems, and like-for-like replacement of switches, standard receptacles, light fixtures, and ceiling fans. A new 240-volt branch circuit with hardwired charging equipment fits none of these, so an electrical permit is required. Always confirm with the Prince William County Building Development Division before starting.
How much does an EV charger permit cost in Prince William County?
No permit or fee if the charger is cord-and-plug connected to an existing circuit per manufacturer instructions; hardwired installs are billed as stationary equipment on the Existing Dwellings electrical schedule, base fee $44.23 ($55.35 with surcharges) plus $11.80 per unit ($14.75 with surcharges), per the FY27 BDD Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Prince William County?
You can apply through the Prince William County permit portal or contact the Prince William County Building Development Division directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Prince William County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Prince William County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Prince William County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNo dedicated line item
Deck PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required if deck floor is 16.5 inches or more above finished gradePriced per square foot of deck area at $0.1267 base ($0.1584 with surcharges), minimum...
Electrical PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required for new circuits or fixtures or receptacles; low-voltage wiring under 50 volts and replacement of existing fixtures in place are exemptExisting-dwelling electrical work is a base fee of $44.23 ($55.35 with surcharges) plus...
Fence PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required only for pool safety barriers or pedestrian safety fences; zoning approval required for all fencesNo building permit or BDD fee unless the fence is required for pedestrian safety or as a...
HVAC PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required for gas or oil furnace replacements or any HVAC upgrade requiring system modifications; simple like-for-like replacements may be exemptItemized by equipment: A/C equipment replacement $88.44 base ($110.65 total) for...
Patio PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required only if slab is designed to support a future building addition; standard grade-level patio slabs are exemptConcrete patio slabs on grade that are not designed to support a future structure and...
Plumbing PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required for alterations to supply or drain systems; like-for-like fixture replacement without altering systems is exemptResidential plumbing is a base fee of $88.44 ($110.65 with surcharges) plus $7.36 per...
Pool PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required for pools with surface area over 150 sq ft or depth of 24 inches or morePrivate residential swimming pool building permit is $146.41 base ($183.20 with...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required for replacement of more than 256 sq ft of roof decking; standard shingle re-roofing is exemptSingle-family reroofing is classified as ordinary repair and generally exempt from any...
Shed PermitIt dependsbuilding permit required for structures over 256 sq ft; zoning approval required for all shedsSheds one story and 256 sq ft or less need no building permit (trade permits still apply...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedRooftop residential solar panels are billed as stationary equipment on the Existing...
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedBilled under Plumbing as an appliance: base fee $88.44 ($110.65 with surcharges) plus...

EV Charger Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Prince William County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this EV charger permit page for Prince William County was verified. 1 official source: law.lis.virginia.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Prince William County Building Development Division. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Virginia localities

EV charger permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Prince William County permit record

Permit required
Get quotes