Virginia

Do you need a deck permit in Virginia?

By Mario Bailey Last checked

Always required
11
of 12 jurisdictions
Conditional
1
depends on size or scope
Not required
0
exempt outright

Deck Permit rules nationwide, beyond Virginia.

Framing a backyard deck: fresh lumber and a nail gun on new decking

Requirements and size thresholds for deck permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Virginia county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.

Comparing states? See deck permit rules across every locality we cover.

The application steps and inspection sequence for deck permits come from the model code rather than from Virginia law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a deck permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Virginia jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.

Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.

Locality Permit required? Typical threshold Confidence
Arlington County Yes No size exemption is published for decks; new decks and deck modifications are treated as additions requiring a Residential Building Permit. Confirmed on official page
Chesterfield County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Culpeper County Yes Not specified Based on building code
Fairfax County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Fauquier County Yes Not specified From an official source
Henrico County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Loudoun County Yes Not specified Confirmed on official page
Orange County Yes Not specified From an official source
Prince William County Conditional building permit required if deck floor is 16.5 inches or more above finished grade Confirmed on official page
Spotsylvania County Yes Not specified From an official source
Stafford County Yes Not specified From an official source
Virginia Beach Yes No size or height exemption; the city states permits are required for construction of a new deck no matter the size or height. Confirmed on official page

What a deck permit costs in Virginia

9 Virginia jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.

Chesterfield County $114

$114 flat fee for a deck, carport, gazebo, or similar accessory addition per the FY2025-26 residential fee schedule

last checked

Fairfax County by formula

Billed as an addition under Table 1's area-based residential rate, $0.15 to $0.28 per square foot depending on construction type, subject to the $141.75 base fee minimum, per Appendix Q effective 2026-07-01

last checked

Henrico County by formula

Existing-dwelling addition or alteration permit fee applies: $100 for the first $5,000 of labor and materials cost, plus $6 per additional $1,000 or fraction thereof, plus a 2% state levy; total capped at $693.60, per Henrico's residential building permit fee schedule.

last checked

Loudoun County by formula

A county-typical (pre-approved design) deck under 1,000 sq ft outside an incorporated town is a flat $265 covering building and zoning permits; a custom-plan deck under 1,000 sq ft is $395, per the county's Decks page

last checked

Orange County by formula

Billed at $0.15 per square foot with a $75 minimum under the residential deck, porch, or ramp line, plus Virginia's 2% state surcharge, per the FY27 Tax and Fee Schedule

last checked

Prince William County by formula

Priced per square foot of deck area at $0.1267 base ($0.1584 with surcharges), minimum $219.64 base ($274.80 total) for decks over 250 sq ft or $88.44 base ($110.65 total) for decks 250 sq ft or less; decks with all flooring within 16.5 inches of grade need no building permit, per the FY27 BDD Fee Schedule

last checked

Spotsylvania County by formula

Decks with or without electric needing no plan review are a flat $160; decks requiring plan review are $250, per the 7/1/2025 Unified Fee Schedule

last checked

Stafford County by formula

Billed as a residential addition at $0.10 per sq ft ($75 minimum) plan review and $0.14 per sq ft ($50 minimum) construction with no separate deck line, plus the 2 percent state levy and 2.75 percent technology fee, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 11/1/2024

last checked

Virginia Beach by formula

Residential fees start at $50 plus area or valuation based charges (non-heated new work is $50 plus $4 per 100 sq ft), plus a 2% state levy and a $10 technology fee (rev Jul-2025)

last checked

Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.

Common questions about deck permits in Virginia

Do I need a deck permit in Virginia?
In most of Virginia, yes. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Virginia city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 12 Virginia jurisdictions we have verified for deck work, 11 require a permit outright, 1 depends on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
Is there a deck permit exemption in Virginia?
1 of the 12 Virginia jurisdictions we cover sets a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one Virginia county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each Virginia jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.

Ready to move on your deck permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your deck, they usually handle the permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare deck contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

Planning more than a deck permit? Check your whole project