Maryland / Montgomery County

Electrical Permit in Montgomery County, Maryland

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For any new electrical work circuits fixtures or service upgrades

From an official source Verified

Issued byMontgomery County Department of Permitting Services

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Permit fee
$111.94
from the published schedule
Median to issue
20 days
6,440 records
Typical job value
$26,000
declared valuation

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required in Montgomery County for all new electrical work, new circuits, fixture installations, and service upgrades. The applicant must have a Montgomery County Master Electrician license. Applications are submitted electronically through the DPS eServices portal and a non-refundable filing fee is required at the time of application.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For any new electrical work circuits fixtures or service upgrades

What an electrical permit costs in Montgomery County

Line item
electrical permit$111.94$111.94 minimum fee for a residential one or two family dwelling electrical permit, charged in addition to itemized equipment fees, per DPS-Fees-Electrical-Mechanical-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Montgomery County compares in Maryland

No Maryland jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Baltimore CountyIt dependsElectrical Permit Fee Schedule effective 11/26/18: Residential Service (each...
Howard CountyPermit required$50 non-refundable permit application fee, plus $50 for 25 or fewer...
Montgomery Countythis pagePermit required$111.94 minimum fee for a residential one or two family dwelling electrical...
Prince George's CountyPermit requiredDPIE Fee Schedule, effective March 2, 2025, prices electrical work by item:...

How to apply in Montgomery County

In Montgomery County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Montgomery County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Montgomery County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services sets the exact checklist for Montgomery County.

Where to apply in Montgomery County:

Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services

  • 2425 Reedie Drive 7th Floor Wheaton MD 20902
  • Phone: 240-777-0311

Electrical Permit in Montgomery County compared with nearby Maryland localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Maryland schedule saysVerified
Montgomery CountyPermit requiredNot specified$111.94 minimum fee for a residential one or two family dwelling electrical permit...
Baltimore CountyIt dependsNot specifiedElectrical Permit Fee Schedule effective 11/26/18: Residential Service (each meter)...
Howard CountyPermit requiredNot specified$50 non-refundable permit application fee, plus $50 for 25 or fewer outlets/fixtures...
Prince George's CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedDPIE Fee Schedule, effective March 2, 2025, prices electrical work by item: "Electrical...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Montgomery County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Montgomery County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Montgomery County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Montgomery County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Montgomery County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Montgomery County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Montgomery County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Montgomery County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Montgomery County permit portal or by phone at 240-777-0311.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

First-time inspection pass rates in Montgomery County

Measured from Montgomery County's own inspection event log: how often each inspection type passes on the first visit.

  • FINAL: 72% pass first time (n=16,764)
  • FOOTING,PIERS, FOUNDATION: 85% pass first time (n=8,077)
  • FRAMING OR CLOSE IN-ADD&ALTER: 75% pass first time (n=8,057)
  • PERMIT NOTIFICATION SIGN: 77% pass first time (n=5,681)
  • INSULATION INSPECTION: 91% pass first time (n=5,502)

to . Source: Montgomery County permit inspections (open data). Full study.

Permitting activity in Montgomery County

In 2024, Montgomery County authorized permits for 3,656 new residential housing units (1,491 single-family, 2,165 in multi-family buildings), valued at $901M, up from 2,860 the year before. That works out to about 3.4 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,082,273.

About Montgomery County

Montgomery County has about 405,127 housing units. The median home is valued at $615,200, against a median household income of $128,733. About 65% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Montgomery County?
An electrical permit is required in Montgomery County for all new electrical work, new circuits, fixture installations, and service upgrades. The applicant must have a Montgomery County Master Electrician license. Applications are submitted electronically through the DPS eServices portal and a non-refundable filing fee is required at the time of application. Always confirm with the Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Montgomery County?
$111.94 minimum fee for a residential one or two family dwelling electrical permit, charged in addition to itemized equipment fees, per DPS-Fees-Electrical-Mechanical-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
How long does an electrical permit take in Montgomery County?
Across 6,440 recent residential permit records in Montgomery County, the median time to issue was 20 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Montgomery County?
You can apply through the Montgomery County permit portal or contact the Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Montgomery County?
Under Maryland law (Md. Code, Bus. Occ. and Prof. 12-301(b), 6-607(1); Public Safety 12-505): It depends on the trade and the county. Plumbing: state law exempts an individual who personally provides plumbing services in their own residence, but homeowners may not make final connections between the residence and public or private water supply or disposal systems, and Baltimore County plus the WSSC-area counties are largely carved out of the state plumbing title. Electrical: the Maryland Electricians Act prohibits providing electrical services for compensation without a license; it has no express homeowner exemption, so uncompensated work on one's own home falls outside the licensing prohibition, but each county decides whether it will issue an electrical permit to an unlicensed homeowner. Building permits are issued by local jurisdictions, which set their own owner-applicant rules. Confirm how Montgomery County applies this before you apply.

How the 20 days break down

Day 0

Application filed

Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.

Day 1–19

Review

A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.

Day 20

Permit issued

Median across 6,440residential permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.

After

Inspections

The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Montgomery County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedFiled as a residential Alteration Building Permit at $0.78 per sq ft of altered area...
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specified$223.87 flat for an open unenclosed deck 500 sq ft or less, or $0.8830 per sq ft for...
EV Charger PermitIt dependsNot specified$62.19 for an Electrical Charging Station under Other Electrical Equipment, charged in...
Fence PermitPermit requiredNot specified$89.54 flat Fence Permit fee per DPS-Fees-ResConst-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedMechanical Permit minimum fee $80.84 for a residential one or two family dwelling...
Patio PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNo fee for a ground-level concrete or paver patio since no permit is required
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo county DPS fee for plumbing
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specified$360.68 for a private in-ground swimming pool including its fence per...
Roof Replacement PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNo fee for replacing only the roof covering since no permit is required
Shed PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPriced as an Accessory Building: $136.80 flat for 200 sq ft or less, or $0.8830 per sq...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specified$261.18 flat for rooftop solar panels, with a reduced $130.59 fee for rooftop solar...
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNo county DPS fee

Electrical Permit in other Maryland localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Montgomery County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Montgomery County was verified. 2 official sources: montgomerycountymd.gov, montgomerycountymd.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Maryland localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Montgomery County permit record

Permit required $111.94
Get quotes