Maryland / Montgomery County

Solar Permit in Montgomery County, Maryland

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential rooftop solar PV system

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byMontgomery County Department of Permitting Services

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Permit fee
$261.18
from the published schedule
Median to issue
20 days
6,440 records
Typical job value
$26,000
declared valuation

Quick answer

Two permits are required for residential rooftop solar in Montgomery County: a building permit for panel attachment and an electrical permit for service connection. The county eSolar program provides expedited same-day electronic permit issuance for eligible projects. Homeowners may not apply for solar permits in their own name; a contractor with an MHIC license is required.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential rooftop solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Montgomery County

Line item
solar permit$261.18$261.18 flat for rooftop solar panels, with a reduced $130.59 fee for rooftop solar panel refer-backs, per DPS-Fees-ResConst-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Montgomery County compares in Maryland

No Maryland jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Baltimore CountyPermit requiredBuilding Permit Fee Schedule effective 07/01/26: Solar Power System...
Howard CountyPermit required$50 per structure for a residential roof- or ground-mounted solar collector...
Montgomery Countythis pagePermit required$261.18 flat for rooftop solar panels, with a reduced $130.59 fee for rooftop...
Prince George's CountyPermit requiredDPIE Fee Schedule, effective March 2, 2025: "Solar Panels (Roof-mounted) -...

How to apply in Montgomery County

In Montgomery County, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Montgomery County, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Montgomery County, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Montgomery County, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services sets the exact checklist for Montgomery County.

Where to apply in Montgomery County:

Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services

  • 2425 Reedie Drive 7th Floor Wheaton MD 20902
  • Phone: 240-777-0311

Solar Permit in Montgomery County compared with nearby Maryland localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Maryland schedule saysVerified
Montgomery CountyPermit requiredNot specified$261.18 flat for rooftop solar panels, with a reduced $130.59 fee for rooftop solar...
Baltimore CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedBuilding Permit Fee Schedule effective 07/01/26: Solar Power System, Residential (Roof...
Howard CountyPermit requiredNot specified$50 per structure for a residential roof- or ground-mounted solar collector...
Prince George's CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedDPIE Fee Schedule, effective March 2, 2025: "Solar Panels (Roof-mounted) - Residential"...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Montgomery County, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Montgomery County: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Montgomery County: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Montgomery County: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Montgomery County: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Montgomery County: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Montgomery County: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Montgomery County permit portal or by phone at 240-777-0311.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

First-time inspection pass rates in Montgomery County

Measured from Montgomery County's own inspection event log: how often each inspection type passes on the first visit.

  • FINAL: 72% pass first time (n=16,764)
  • FOOTING,PIERS, FOUNDATION: 85% pass first time (n=8,077)
  • FRAMING OR CLOSE IN-ADD&ALTER: 75% pass first time (n=8,057)
  • PERMIT NOTIFICATION SIGN: 77% pass first time (n=5,681)
  • INSULATION INSPECTION: 91% pass first time (n=5,502)

to . Source: Montgomery County permit inspections (open data). Full study.

Permitting activity in Montgomery County

In 2024, Montgomery County authorized permits for 3,656 new residential housing units (1,491 single-family, 2,165 in multi-family buildings), valued at $901M, up from 2,860 the year before. That works out to about 3.4 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,082,273.

About Montgomery County

Montgomery County has about 405,127 housing units. The median home is valued at $615,200, against a median household income of $128,733. About 65% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Montgomery County?
Two permits are required for residential rooftop solar in Montgomery County: a building permit for panel attachment and an electrical permit for service connection. The county eSolar program provides expedited same-day electronic permit issuance for eligible projects. Homeowners may not apply for solar permits in their own name; a contractor with an MHIC license is required. Always confirm with the Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Montgomery County?
$261.18 flat for rooftop solar panels, with a reduced $130.59 fee for rooftop solar panel refer-backs, per DPS-Fees-ResConst-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
How long does a solar permit take in Montgomery County?
Across 6,440 recent residential permit records in Montgomery County, the median time to issue was 20 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Montgomery County?
You can apply through the Montgomery County permit portal or contact the Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Montgomery County?
Under Maryland law (Md. Code, Bus. Occ. and Prof. 12-301(b), 6-607(1); Public Safety 12-505): It depends on the trade and the county. Plumbing: state law exempts an individual who personally provides plumbing services in their own residence, but homeowners may not make final connections between the residence and public or private water supply or disposal systems, and Baltimore County plus the WSSC-area counties are largely carved out of the state plumbing title. Electrical: the Maryland Electricians Act prohibits providing electrical services for compensation without a license; it has no express homeowner exemption, so uncompensated work on one's own home falls outside the licensing prohibition, but each county decides whether it will issue an electrical permit to an unlicensed homeowner. Building permits are issued by local jurisdictions, which set their own owner-applicant rules. Confirm how Montgomery County applies this before you apply.

How the 20 days break down

Day 0

Application filed

Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.

Day 1–19

Review

A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.

Day 20

Permit issued

Median across 6,440residential permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.

After

Inspections

The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Montgomery County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedFiled as a residential Alteration Building Permit at $0.78 per sq ft of altered area...
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specified$223.87 flat for an open unenclosed deck 500 sq ft or less, or $0.8830 per sq ft for...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specified$111.94 minimum fee for a residential one or two family dwelling electrical permit...
EV Charger PermitIt dependsNot specified$62.19 for an Electrical Charging Station under Other Electrical Equipment, charged in...
Fence PermitPermit requiredNot specified$89.54 flat Fence Permit fee per DPS-Fees-ResConst-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedMechanical Permit minimum fee $80.84 for a residential one or two family dwelling...
Patio PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNo fee for a ground-level concrete or paver patio since no permit is required
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo county DPS fee for plumbing
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specified$360.68 for a private in-ground swimming pool including its fence per...
Roof Replacement PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNo fee for replacing only the roof covering since no permit is required
Shed PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPriced as an Accessory Building: $136.80 flat for 200 sq ft or less, or $0.8830 per sq...
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNo county DPS fee

Solar Permit in other Maryland localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Montgomery County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Montgomery County was verified. 2 official sources: montgomerycountymd.gov, montgomerycountymd.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Maryland localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Montgomery County permit record

Permit required $261.18
Get quotes