EV Charger Permit in Montgomery County, Maryland
It depends
We could not confirm this
Issued byMontgomery County Department of Permitting Services
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Permit fee
- $62.19
- from the published schedule
- Median to issue
- 20 days
- 6,440 records
- Typical job value
- $26,000
- declared valuation
Quick answer
Permit requirements are set by the county, but the work is regulated statewide: every electrical installation in Maryland must conform to the National Electrical Code or the county's adopted electrical code, and state law makes it unlawful to provide electrical services without any permit a local jurisdiction requires. In practice a new 240-volt branch circuit for a hardwired Level 2 charger is permit-triggering work under county electrical codes, but no statewide statute says so directly.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
What an EV charger permit costs in Montgomery County
How to apply in Montgomery County
In Montgomery County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.
What most EV charger permit applications include:
- For Montgomery County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
- For Montgomery County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
- For Montgomery County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
- Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
- For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
- For Montgomery County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).
General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services sets the exact checklist for Montgomery County.
Where to apply in Montgomery County:
Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services
- 2425 Reedie Drive 7th Floor Wheaton MD 20902
- Phone: 240-777-0311
EV Charger Permit in Montgomery County compared with nearby Maryland localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Maryland schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Montgomery County | It depends | Not specified | $62.19 for an Electrical Charging Station under Other Electrical Equipment, charged in... | |
| Howard County | It depends | Not specified | Not itemized by name |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Montgomery County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
- In Montgomery County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
- In Montgomery County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
- In Montgomery County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
- In Montgomery County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
- In Montgomery County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
- In Montgomery County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Montgomery County permit portal or by phone at 240-777-0311.
Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your EV Charger Permit checklist for Montgomery County
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project.
- Budget the fee. $62.19 for an Electrical Charging Station under Other Electrical Equipment, charged in addition to the $111.94 residential electrical permit minimum fee, per DPS-Fees-Electrical-Mechanical-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Montgomery County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added. Start at the Montgomery County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services. Phone: 240-777-0311. Address: 2425 Reedie Drive 7th Floor Wheaton MD 20902.
- Plan for inspections. In Montgomery County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
First-time inspection pass rates in Montgomery County
Measured from Montgomery County's own inspection event log: how often each inspection type passes on the first visit.
- FINAL: 72% pass first time (n=16,764)
- FOOTING,PIERS, FOUNDATION: 85% pass first time (n=8,077)
- FRAMING OR CLOSE IN-ADD&ALTER: 75% pass first time (n=8,057)
- PERMIT NOTIFICATION SIGN: 77% pass first time (n=5,681)
- INSULATION INSPECTION: 91% pass first time (n=5,502)
to . Source: Montgomery County permit inspections (open data). Full study.
Permitting activity in Montgomery County
In 2024, Montgomery County authorized permits for 3,656 new residential housing units (1,491 single-family, 2,165 in multi-family buildings), valued at $901M, up from 2,860 the year before. That works out to about 3.4 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,082,273.
About Montgomery County
Montgomery County has about 405,127 housing units. The median home is valued at $615,200, against a median household income of $128,733. About 65% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an EV charger permit in Montgomery County?
- Permit requirements are set by the county, but the work is regulated statewide: every electrical installation in Maryland must conform to the National Electrical Code or the county's adopted electrical code, and state law makes it unlawful to provide electrical services without any permit a local jurisdiction requires. In practice a new 240-volt branch circuit for a hardwired Level 2 charger is permit-triggering work under county electrical codes, but no statewide statute says so directly. Always confirm with the Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services before starting.
- How much does an EV charger permit cost in Montgomery County?
- $62.19 for an Electrical Charging Station under Other Electrical Equipment, charged in addition to the $111.94 residential electrical permit minimum fee, per DPS-Fees-Electrical-Mechanical-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- How long does an EV charger permit take in Montgomery County?
- Across 6,440 recent residential permit records in Montgomery County, the median time to issue was 20 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
- Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Montgomery County?
- You can apply through the Montgomery County permit portal or contact the Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Montgomery County?
- Under Maryland law (Md. Code, Bus. Occ. and Prof. 12-301(b), 6-607(1); Public Safety 12-505): It depends on the trade and the county. Plumbing: state law exempts an individual who personally provides plumbing services in their own residence, but homeowners may not make final connections between the residence and public or private water supply or disposal systems, and Baltimore County plus the WSSC-area counties are largely carved out of the state plumbing title. Electrical: the Maryland Electricians Act prohibits providing electrical services for compensation without a license; it has no express homeowner exemption, so uncompensated work on one's own home falls outside the licensing prohibition, but each county decides whether it will issue an electrical permit to an unlicensed homeowner. Building permits are issued by local jurisdictions, which set their own owner-applicant rules. Confirm how Montgomery County applies this before you apply.
How the 20 days break down
Application filed
Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.
Review
A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.
Permit issued
Median across 6,440residential permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.
Inspections
The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Montgomery County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Filed as a residential Alteration Building Permit at $0.78 per sq ft of altered area... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $223.87 flat for an open unenclosed deck 500 sq ft or less, or $0.8830 per sq ft for... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $111.94 minimum fee for a residential one or two family dwelling electrical permit... |
| Fence Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $89.54 flat Fence Permit fee per DPS-Fees-ResConst-FY27.pdf effective 2026-07-01 |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Mechanical Permit minimum fee $80.84 for a residential one or two family dwelling... |
| Patio Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | No fee for a ground-level concrete or paver patio since no permit is required |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No county DPS fee for plumbing |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $360.68 for a private in-ground swimming pool including its fence per... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | No fee for replacing only the roof covering since no permit is required |
| Shed Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Priced as an Accessory Building: $136.80 flat for 200 sq ft or less, or $0.8830 per sq... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $261.18 flat for rooftop solar panels, with a reduced $130.59 fee for rooftop solar... |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | No county DPS fee |
EV Charger Permit in other Maryland localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Montgomery County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this EV charger permit page for Montgomery County was verified. 1 official source: mgaleg.maryland.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Montgomery County Department of Permitting Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Maryland localities
Maryland rule changes
- Howard County, MD raises shed and fence permit-exemption limits (CB24-2025)
CB24-2025 (Bill No. 24-2025) ·
- Montgomery County, MD FY27 permit fee schedules take effect
FY27 Fee Schedule (Council-approved FY27 Budget) ·