EV Charger Permit in Howard County, Maryland
It depends
We could not confirm this
Issued byHoward County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Permit requirements are set by the county, but the work is regulated statewide: every electrical installation in Maryland must conform to the National Electrical Code or the county's adopted electrical code, and state law makes it unlawful to provide electrical services without any permit a local jurisdiction requires. In practice a new 240-volt branch circuit for a hardwired Level 2 charger is permit-triggering work under county electrical codes, but no statewide statute says so directly.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
What an EV charger permit costs in Howard County
How to apply in Howard County
In Howard County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.
What most EV charger permit applications include:
- For Howard County, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
- For Howard County, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
- For Howard County, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
- Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
- For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
- For Howard County, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).
General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits sets the exact checklist for Howard County.
Where to apply in Howard County:
Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits
- 3430 Court House Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21043
- Phone: 410-313-2455
- Email: buildingtech@howardcountymd.gov
EV Charger Permit in Howard County compared with nearby Maryland localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Maryland schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard County | It depends | Not specified | Not itemized by name | |
| Montgomery County | It depends | Not specified | $62.19 for an Electrical Charging Station under Other Electrical Equipment, charged in... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Howard County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
- In Howard County: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
- In Howard County: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
- In Howard County: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
- In Howard County: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
- In Howard County: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
- In Howard County: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Howard County permit portal or by phone at 410-313-2455.
Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your EV Charger Permit checklist for Howard County
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project.
- Budget the fee. Not itemized by name; an EV charger circuit falls under the $50 electrical permit application fee plus the $50 flat fee for residential alterations or a service heavy-up, plus a 10% technology fee, per the FY27 Electrical Permit Fee Schedule effective 7/1/2026. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Howard County, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added. Start at the Howard County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits. Phone: 410-313-2455. Address: 3430 Court House Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21043.
- Plan for inspections. In Howard County, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an EV charger permit in Howard County?
- Permit requirements are set by the county, but the work is regulated statewide: every electrical installation in Maryland must conform to the National Electrical Code or the county's adopted electrical code, and state law makes it unlawful to provide electrical services without any permit a local jurisdiction requires. In practice a new 240-volt branch circuit for a hardwired Level 2 charger is permit-triggering work under county electrical codes, but no statewide statute says so directly. Always confirm with the Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits before starting.
- How much does an EV charger permit cost in Howard County?
- Not itemized by name; an EV charger circuit falls under the $50 electrical permit application fee plus the $50 flat fee for residential alterations or a service heavy-up, plus a 10% technology fee, per the FY27 Electrical Permit Fee Schedule effective 7/1/2026. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Howard County?
- You can apply through the Howard County permit portal or contact the Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Howard County?
- Under Maryland law (Md. Code, Bus. Occ. and Prof. 12-301(b), 6-607(1); Public Safety 12-505): It depends on the trade and the county. Plumbing: state law exempts an individual who personally provides plumbing services in their own residence, but homeowners may not make final connections between the residence and public or private water supply or disposal systems, and Baltimore County plus the WSSC-area counties are largely carved out of the state plumbing title. Electrical: the Maryland Electricians Act prohibits providing electrical services for compensation without a license; it has no express homeowner exemption, so uncompensated work on one's own home falls outside the licensing prohibition, but each county decides whether it will issue an electrical permit to an unlicensed homeowner. Building permits are issued by local jurisdictions, which set their own owner-applicant rules. Confirm how Howard County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Howard County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Interior alterations to a single family home need a $25 filing fee plus $50 for an area... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $50 per structure (Miscellaneous Structures Accessory permit, FY2027 Building Permit Fee... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $50 non-refundable permit application fee, plus $50 for 25 or fewer outlets/fixtures... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences 7 ft or under, not enclosing a pool, are exempt from a building permit; over 7 ft or enclosing a pool requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit | $50 per structure for fences over 7 feet high or enclosing a pool (Miscellaneous... |
| HVAC Permit | It depends | Not specified | $50 non-refundable application fee |
| Patio Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Patios file under miscellaneous accessory structures per the county's residential permit... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $50 non-refundable filing fee (other than Express Plumbing Permit) |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $100 for above-ground pools |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | roof covering replacement with no other structural repairs is exempt, including up to 64 sq ft of roof sheathing; replacing more sheathing or any other structural repair requires a building permit | Not published |
| Shed Permit | It depends | sheds under 200 sq ft (one-story, non-conditioned, detached) are exempt from a building permit; 200 sq ft or more requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit | $50 per structure for sheds over 200 and up to 400 sq ft (Miscellaneous Structures... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $50 per structure for a residential roof- or ground-mounted solar collector... |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | Water heater replacement bills as the $50 plumbing filing fee plus the $25... |
EV Charger Permit in other Maryland localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Howard County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this EV charger permit page for Howard County was verified. 1 official source: mgaleg.maryland.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Maryland localities
Maryland rule changes
- Howard County, MD raises shed and fence permit-exemption limits (CB24-2025)
CB24-2025 (Bill No. 24-2025) ·
- Montgomery County, MD FY27 permit fee schedules take effect
FY27 Fee Schedule (Council-approved FY27 Budget) ·