Maryland / Howard County

Deck Permit in Howard County, Maryland

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before constructing or structurally altering any residential deck, regardless of height above grade

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byHoward County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Permit fee
$50
from the published schedule

Quick answer

Howard County DILP requires a building permit with construction plans for decks and screened porches of all sizes, regardless of height, effective September 1, 2022 (Residential Accessory Structure Memo). The county's local IRC amendment (Sec. 105.2, item 14.A.7) technically exempts only a narrow case: detached freestanding decks under 25 square feet and less than 30 inches above grade. In practice this excludes only very small platforms; any deck attached to the house, larger, or more elevated needs a permit. The Miscellaneous Structures Accessory permit fee is $50 per structure.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds your deck, they usually handle the permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare deck contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before constructing or structurally altering any residential deck, regardless of height above grade

What your deck permit must meet in Maryland

Maryland requires every local jurisdiction to enforce the same residential code edition statewide, currently the 2021 IRC. The state's own amendments touch only scope, administration, and energy provisions, not the deck-framing chapter, so decks are built to the unmodified national model code as the statewide baseline.

  • The statewide baseline is the model code itself: the 2021 International Residential Code is incorporated by reference in the Maryland Building Performance Standards (COMAR 09.12.51.04).
  • Maryland's amendments to the IRC cover only Chapter 1 (Scope and Administration) and the Chapter 11 energy-efficiency provisions; no structural chapter, including the deck-framing provisions, is modified, so deck construction follows the published 2021 IRC text (COMAR 09.12.51.04).

Based on 2021 IRC, adopted via COMAR 09.12.51 Maryland Building Performance Standards. Read the code. Local amendments can be stricter; confirm the current requirement with your office before you build.

What a deck permit costs in Howard County

Line item
deck permit$50$50 per structure (Miscellaneous Structures Accessory permit, FY2027 Building Permit Fee Schedule).
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Howard County compares in Maryland

No Maryland jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Baltimore CountyIt dependsBuilding Permit Fee Schedule effective 07/01/26: Decks (Open Deck) (under 600...
Howard Countythis pagePermit required$50 per structure (Miscellaneous Structures Accessory permit, FY2027 Building...
Montgomery CountyPermit required$223.87 flat for an open unenclosed deck 500 sq ft or less, or $0.8830 per sq...
Prince George's CountyPermit requiredDPIE Fee Schedule, effective March 2, 2025, line item "Deck or Pergola"...

How to apply in Howard County

In Howard County, a residential deck permit application is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the IRC deck provisions. In practice that means a scaled site plan locating the deck and its setbacks, plus deck plans and structural details covering the footings, posts, beams, joists, ledger, guards, and stairs.

What most deck permit applications include:

  • For Howard County, a permit application identifying the work, the deck's size (square footage), and whether electrical work such as lights or receptacles is included, submitted for plan review before construction begins (IRC R106).
  • For Howard County, a scaled site plan (for example 1/4 inch to 1 foot) showing the new deck's location relative to the house, its overall length and width, and dimensioned distances from the deck to all property lines and other structures so required setbacks can be verified (IRC R106.1.1).
  • For Howard County, a deck plan drawn to scale showing overall dimensions and the framing layout: joist size, spacing, span, and species; beam size and span; post size and height; and footing or pier size and depth (IRC R507.4 posts, R507.5 beams, R507.6 joists, R507.3 footings).
  • For Howard County, a section or side elevation with connection details showing the ledger attachment to the house band joist with flashing, the fastener or bolt schedule, joist hangers, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the required lateral load connection (IRC R507.9 ledger connection, R507.9.2 lateral connection, R507.2.4 flashing).
  • Footing sizing derived from tributary area, the soil bearing value, and design loads per IRC Table R507.3.1, with footings shown bearing on undisturbed soil at the frost depth required by the jurisdiction (IRC R507.3).
  • Details for the guards required where the walking surface is more than 30 inches above grade, and for the stairs and handrails, showing guard height and opening limits, stair riser and tread dimensions, and handrail location (IRC R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).
  • For designs that fall outside the prescriptive R507 tables (for example multi-story or stacked decks, or a ledger attached to a cantilever), engineered and stamped structural plans are submitted in place of the prescriptive details (IRC R507.1 and R301).

General submittal guidance from IRC R106.1.1 (construction documents) and IRC R507 (exterior decks), 2021 IRC. Source. Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits sets the exact checklist for Howard County.

Where to apply in Howard County:

Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits

Deck Permit in Howard County compared with nearby Maryland localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Maryland schedule saysVerified
Howard CountyPermit requiredNot specified$50 per structure (Miscellaneous Structures Accessory permit, FY2027 Building Permit Fee...
Baltimore CountyIt dependsdeck floor area, with a permit also required for any deck more than 16 inches above the lowest gradeBuilding Permit Fee Schedule effective 07/01/26: Decks (Open Deck) (under 600 sf) $105.00
Montgomery CountyPermit requiredNot specified$223.87 flat for an open unenclosed deck 500 sq ft or less, or $0.8830 per sq ft for...
Prince George's CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedDPIE Fee Schedule, effective March 2, 2025, line item "Deck or Pergola", minimum permit...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Howard County, deck work is inspected in sequence as it is built: the footings before concrete is placed, the framing before the decking boards go down, and a final inspection once the deck is complete. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if missed.

  1. Footing or pier inspection in Howard County: after the holes are dug and any forms or reinforcing are set but before concrete is placed, the inspector checks footing depth and diameter, a flat undisturbed bearing surface, and that the holes are free of water (IRC R109.1.1 foundation inspection; R507.3 footings).
  2. Framing inspection in Howard County: after the deck is framed but before the decking conceals it, the inspector verifies the ledger attachment and its flashing, the fastener and bolt schedule, joist hangers and metal connectors, post-to-beam and post-to-footing connections, and the lateral load connection; call it before decking is installed (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R507.9 ledger and flashing).
  3. Final inspection in Howard County: after the deck is complete and before it is used, the inspector confirms guard height and opening limits (a 4 inch sphere must not pass, 4 3/8 inch at stairs), stair riser and tread dimensions, handrail height and graspability where there are 4 or more risers, stair landings, and required stair lighting (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R312 guards, R311.7 stairs and handrails).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Howard County permit portal or by phone at 410-313-2455.

Inspection sequence from IRC R109 (inspections: R109.1.1 footing before concrete, R109.1.4 frame, R109.1.6 final), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a deck permit in Howard County?
Howard County DILP requires a building permit with construction plans for decks and screened porches of all sizes, regardless of height, effective September 1, 2022 (Residential Accessory Structure Memo). The county's local IRC amendment (Sec. 105.2, item 14.A.7) technically exempts only a narrow case: detached freestanding decks under 25 square feet and less than 30 inches above grade. In practice this excludes only very small platforms; any deck attached to the house, larger, or more elevated needs a permit. The Miscellaneous Structures Accessory permit fee is $50 per structure. Always confirm with the Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits before starting.
How much does a deck permit cost in Howard County?
$50 per structure (Miscellaneous Structures Accessory permit, FY2027 Building Permit Fee Schedule). See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a deck permit in Howard County?
You can apply through the Howard County permit portal or contact the Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a deck permit themselves in Howard County?
Under Maryland law (Md. Code, Bus. Occ. and Prof. 12-301(b), 6-607(1); Public Safety 12-505): It depends on the trade and the county. Plumbing: state law exempts an individual who personally provides plumbing services in their own residence, but homeowners may not make final connections between the residence and public or private water supply or disposal systems, and Baltimore County plus the WSSC-area counties are largely carved out of the state plumbing title. Electrical: the Maryland Electricians Act prohibits providing electrical services for compensation without a license; it has no express homeowner exemption, so uncompensated work on one's own home falls outside the licensing prohibition, but each county decides whether it will issue an electrical permit to an unlicensed homeowner. Building permits are issued by local jurisdictions, which set their own owner-applicant rules. Confirm how Howard County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Howard County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedInterior alterations to a single family home need a $25 filing fee plus $50 for an area...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specified$50 non-refundable permit application fee, plus $50 for 25 or fewer outlets/fixtures...
EV Charger PermitIt dependsNot specifiedNot itemized by name
Fence PermitIt dependsfences 7 ft or under, not enclosing a pool, are exempt from a building permit; over 7 ft or enclosing a pool requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit$50 per structure for fences over 7 feet high or enclosing a pool (Miscellaneous...
HVAC PermitIt dependsNot specified$50 non-refundable application fee
Patio PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedPatios file under miscellaneous accessory structures per the county's residential permit...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specified$50 non-refundable filing fee (other than Express Plumbing Permit)
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specified$100 for above-ground pools
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsroof covering replacement with no other structural repairs is exempt, including up to 64 sq ft of roof sheathing; replacing more sheathing or any other structural repair requires a building permitNot published
Shed PermitIt dependssheds under 200 sq ft (one-story, non-conditioned, detached) are exempt from a building permit; 200 sq ft or more requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit$50 per structure for sheds over 200 and up to 400 sq ft (Miscellaneous Structures...
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specified$50 per structure for a residential roof- or ground-mounted solar collector...
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedWater heater replacement bills as the $50 plumbing filing fee plus the $25...

Deck Permit in other Maryland localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Howard County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this deck permit page for Howard County was verified. 4 official sources: howardcountymd.gov, howardcountymd.gov, howardcountymd.gov, howardcountymd.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Deck Permit requirements across Maryland localities

Deck permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Howard County permit record

Permit required $50
Get quotes