Electrical Permit in Howard County, Maryland
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For new wiring, circuits, fixtures, service upgrades, or equipment installation
Issued byHoward County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Permit fee
- $50
- from the published schedule
Quick answer
Howard County DILP requires an electrical permit for residential electrical work. The FY2027 Electrical Permit Fee Schedule states that 'a permit is required' for electrical work even on specified county-owned buildings that are exempted only from the fee, not the permit itself, confirming permits are otherwise required for private residential electrical work generally. An Electrical Permit Application and Master Electrician license registration are required through the Forms & Fees page and Citizen's Access Portal. The non-refundable application fee is $50, plus a per-outlet or per-equipment fee.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For new wiring, circuits, fixtures, service upgrades, or equipment installation
What an electrical permit costs in Howard County
How Howard County compares in Maryland
No Maryland jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Baltimore County | It depends | Electrical Permit Fee Schedule effective 11/26/18: Residential Service (each... |
| Howard Countythis page | Permit required | $50 non-refundable permit application fee, plus $50 for 25 or fewer... |
| Montgomery County | Permit required | $111.94 minimum fee for a residential one or two family dwelling electrical... |
| Prince George's County | Permit required | DPIE Fee Schedule, effective March 2, 2025, prices electrical work by item:... |
How to apply in Howard County
In Howard County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Howard County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Howard County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits sets the exact checklist for Howard County.
Where to apply in Howard County:
Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits
- 3430 Court House Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21043
- Phone: 410-313-2455
- Email: buildingtech@howardcountymd.gov
Electrical Permit in Howard County compared with nearby Maryland localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Maryland schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard County | Permit required | Not specified | $50 non-refundable permit application fee, plus $50 for 25 or fewer outlets/fixtures... | |
| Baltimore County | It depends | Not specified | Electrical Permit Fee Schedule effective 11/26/18: Residential Service (each meter)... | |
| Montgomery County | Permit required | Not specified | $111.94 minimum fee for a residential one or two family dwelling electrical permit... | |
| Prince George's County | Permit required | Not specified | DPIE Fee Schedule, effective March 2, 2025, prices electrical work by item: "Electrical... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Howard County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Howard County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Howard County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Howard County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Howard County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Howard County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Howard County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Howard County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Howard County permit portal or by phone at 410-313-2455.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Howard County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For new wiring, circuits, fixtures, service upgrades, or equipment installation.
- Budget the fee. $50 non-refundable permit application fee, plus $50 for 25 or fewer outlets/fixtures (higher tiers for more outlets or equipment); FY2027 Electrical Permit Fee Schedule. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Howard County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Howard County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits. Phone: 410-313-2455. Address: 3430 Court House Drive, Ellicott City, MD 21043.
- Plan for inspections. In Howard County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Howard County?
- Howard County DILP requires an electrical permit for residential electrical work. The FY2027 Electrical Permit Fee Schedule states that 'a permit is required' for electrical work even on specified county-owned buildings that are exempted only from the fee, not the permit itself, confirming permits are otherwise required for private residential electrical work generally. An Electrical Permit Application and Master Electrician license registration are required through the Forms & Fees page and Citizen's Access Portal. The non-refundable application fee is $50, plus a per-outlet or per-equipment fee. Always confirm with the Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Howard County?
- $50 non-refundable permit application fee, plus $50 for 25 or fewer outlets/fixtures (higher tiers for more outlets or equipment); FY2027 Electrical Permit Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Howard County?
- You can apply through the Howard County permit portal or contact the Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Howard County?
- Under Maryland law (Md. Code, Bus. Occ. and Prof. 12-301(b), 6-607(1); Public Safety 12-505): It depends on the trade and the county. Plumbing: state law exempts an individual who personally provides plumbing services in their own residence, but homeowners may not make final connections between the residence and public or private water supply or disposal systems, and Baltimore County plus the WSSC-area counties are largely carved out of the state plumbing title. Electrical: the Maryland Electricians Act prohibits providing electrical services for compensation without a license; it has no express homeowner exemption, so uncompensated work on one's own home falls outside the licensing prohibition, but each county decides whether it will issue an electrical permit to an unlicensed homeowner. Building permits are issued by local jurisdictions, which set their own owner-applicant rules. Confirm how Howard County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Howard County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Interior alterations to a single family home need a $25 filing fee plus $50 for an area... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $50 per structure (Miscellaneous Structures Accessory permit, FY2027 Building Permit Fee... |
| EV Charger Permit | It depends | Not specified | Not itemized by name |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences 7 ft or under, not enclosing a pool, are exempt from a building permit; over 7 ft or enclosing a pool requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit | $50 per structure for fences over 7 feet high or enclosing a pool (Miscellaneous... |
| HVAC Permit | It depends | Not specified | $50 non-refundable application fee |
| Patio Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Patios file under miscellaneous accessory structures per the county's residential permit... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $50 non-refundable filing fee (other than Express Plumbing Permit) |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $100 for above-ground pools |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | roof covering replacement with no other structural repairs is exempt, including up to 64 sq ft of roof sheathing; replacing more sheathing or any other structural repair requires a building permit | Not published |
| Shed Permit | It depends | sheds under 200 sq ft (one-story, non-conditioned, detached) are exempt from a building permit; 200 sq ft or more requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit | $50 per structure for sheds over 200 and up to 400 sq ft (Miscellaneous Structures... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | $50 per structure for a residential roof- or ground-mounted solar collector... |
| Water Heater Permit | It depends | Not specified | Water heater replacement bills as the $50 plumbing filing fee plus the $25... |
Electrical Permit in other Maryland localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Howard County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Howard County was verified. 3 official sources: howardcountymd.gov, howardcountymd.gov, howardcountymd.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Howard County Department of Inspections, Licenses and Permits. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Maryland localities
Maryland rule changes
- Howard County, MD raises shed and fence permit-exemption limits (CB24-2025)
CB24-2025 (Bill No. 24-2025) ·
- Montgomery County, MD FY27 permit fee schedules take effect
FY27 Fee Schedule (Council-approved FY27 Budget) ·