Solar Permit in San Diego, California
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
Before installing any residential solar PV or battery storage system
Issued byCity of San Diego Development Services Department
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required for all residential solar PV installations in San Diego. A building or combination permit is also required if structural modifications are needed to support the system. Roof-mounted systems on single-family or duplex homes up to 38.4 kW AC output can be self-issued with no plan review using the DSD template. Ground-mounted systems with supports over 5 feet above grade also require a building permit.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Before you sign, ask the contractor:
- Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
- Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
- Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?
When a permit is usually needed
Before installing any residential solar PV or battery storage system
What a solar permit costs in San Diego
How San Diego compares in California
No California jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Alameda County | Permit required | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective... |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Land Development Fee Schedule item 7, "Residential solar energy systems - roof... |
| Fresno County | Permit required | The Master Schedule of Fees has no solar or photovoltaic line item anywhere in... |
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Residential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component... |
| Los Angeles County | Permit required | Chapter 68, Section 6805 of the County of Los Angeles Building Code: 'The... |
| Orange County | Permit required | Solar Permits, Roof-Mounted (includes County Standard Plan): $428 for FY... |
| San Diegothis page | Permit required | Per IB-301 effective May 2026: no-plan-review residential PV systems pay only... |
How to apply in San Diego
In San Diego, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.
What most solar permit applications include:
- Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
- For San Diego, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
- Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
- For San Diego, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
- For San Diego, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
- Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).
General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of San Diego Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for San Diego.
Where to apply in San Diego:
City of San Diego Development Services Department
- 7650 Mission Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92108
- Phone: 619-446-5000
Solar Permit in San Diego compared with nearby California localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each California schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| San Diego | Permit required | Not specified | Per IB-301 effective May 2026: no-plan-review residential PV systems pay only a $275.80... | |
| Alameda County | Permit required | Not specified | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective July 1... | |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Not specified | Land Development Fee Schedule item 7, "Residential solar energy systems - roof mount and... | |
| Fresno County | Permit required | Not specified | The Master Schedule of Fees has no solar or photovoltaic line item anywhere in Section... | |
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Not specified | Residential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component fees per the... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In San Diego, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
- In San Diego: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
- In San Diego: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- In San Diego: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
- In San Diego: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
- In San Diego: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
- In San Diego: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Diego permit portal or by phone at 619-446-5000.
Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Solar Permit checklist for San Diego
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: Before installing any residential solar PV or battery storage system.
- Budget the fee. Per IB-301 effective May 2026: no-plan-review residential PV systems pay only a $275.80 first system inspection fee, systems needing plan review pay $154.20 plan check plus $275.80 inspection for the first system or inverter. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In San Diego, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit. Start at the San Diego permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of San Diego Development Services Department. Phone: 619-446-5000. Address: 7650 Mission Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92108.
- Plan for inspections. In San Diego, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in San Diego
In 2024, San Diego authorized permits for 6,615 new residential housing units (775 single-family, 5,840 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.5B, up from 5,765 the year before. That works out to about 4.7 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,422,420.
About San Diego
San Diego has about 559,653 housing units. The median home is valued at $848,500, against a median household income of $104,321. About 48% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1978.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a solar permit in San Diego?
- An electrical permit is required for all residential solar PV installations in San Diego. A building or combination permit is also required if structural modifications are needed to support the system. Roof-mounted systems on single-family or duplex homes up to 38.4 kW AC output can be self-issued with no plan review using the DSD template. Ground-mounted systems with supports over 5 feet above grade also require a building permit. Always confirm with the City of San Diego Development Services Department before starting.
- How much does a solar permit cost in San Diego?
- Per IB-301 effective May 2026: no-plan-review residential PV systems pay only a $275.80 first system inspection fee, systems needing plan review pay $154.20 plan check plus $275.80 inspection for the first system or inverter. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a solar permit in San Diego?
- You can apply through the San Diego permit portal or contact the City of San Diego Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in San Diego?
- Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how San Diego applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in San Diego
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | deck over 200 sq ft or over 30 inches above grade or attached to a dwelling requires a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Deck with pre-approved plans $1,148.29 plan... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per circuit or panel under IB-103 Table 2 effective May 2026: circuits 15-45 amps... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit | Fence or wall over 7 feet high is billed per 100 linear feet under IB-501 Table 501C... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per unit under IB-103 Table 1B effective May 2026: air handler or mini-split... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | patio cover accessory to a dwelling under 300 sq ft of projected roof area and no taller than 12 ft and not in a yard setback does not require a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Patio Cover with pre-approved plans $1,501.42... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed per fixture under IB-103 Table 3B effective May 2026: water heater $122.97... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated above-ground pool 5000 gallons or less and under 18 inches deep is exempt; all other pools require a permit | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Pool/Spa per master plan for a single dwelling... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | renewal of roof covering without structural changes is generally exempt; permit required if structural work is needed or roof weight increases above 6 lbs per sq ft | Per IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026, cross-referenced from IB-123: roof... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached accessory structure under 120 sq ft used as non-habitable storage does not require a permit | No dedicated shed line in the fee schedule |
Solar Permit in other California localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Diego documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this solar permit page for San Diego was verified. 2 official sources: sandiego.gov, sandiego.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Diego Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Solar Permit requirements across California localities