Solar Permit in Sacramento, California
Permit required
We could not confirm this
Before installing any residential solar PV system or battery storage system
Issued byCity of Sacramento Community Development Department Building Division
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
A building and electrical permit is required for all residential solar PV installations and battery storage systems in Sacramento. Applications are submitted online through the Accela permit portal. California AB 2188 streamlines solar permit approvals; Sacramento follows state solar permit requirements. A licensed contractor is required for permitted solar work.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Before you sign, ask the contractor:
- Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
- Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
- Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?
When a permit is usually needed
Before installing any residential solar PV system or battery storage system
What a solar permit costs in Sacramento
How Sacramento compares in California
No California jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Alameda County | Permit required | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective... |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Land Development Fee Schedule item 7, "Residential solar energy systems - roof... |
| Fresno County | Permit required | The Master Schedule of Fees has no solar or photovoltaic line item anywhere in... |
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Residential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component... |
| Los Angeles County | Permit required | Chapter 68, Section 6805 of the County of Los Angeles Building Code: 'The... |
| Orange County | Permit required | Solar Permits, Roof-Mounted (includes County Standard Plan): $428 for FY... |
| Sacramentothis page | Permit required | Valuation-based building permit per CDD-0245 (rev 07-12-2026) using contract... |
How to apply in Sacramento
In Sacramento, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.
What most solar permit applications include:
- Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
- For Sacramento, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
- Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
- For Sacramento, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
- For Sacramento, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
- Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).
General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of Sacramento Community Development Department Building Division sets the exact checklist for Sacramento.
Where to apply in Sacramento:
City of Sacramento Community Development Department Building Division
- 300 Richards Blvd., 3rd Floor, Sacramento, CA 95811
- Phone: 916-808-5318
- Email: ezpermit@cityofsacramento.org
Solar Permit in Sacramento compared with nearby California localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each California schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sacramento | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based building permit per CDD-0245 (rev 07-12-2026) using contract or... | |
| Alameda County | Permit required | Not specified | Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective July 1... | |
| Contra Costa County | Permit required | Not specified | Land Development Fee Schedule item 7, "Residential solar energy systems - roof mount and... | |
| Fresno County | Permit required | Not specified | The Master Schedule of Fees has no solar or photovoltaic line item anywhere in Section... | |
| Los Angeles | Permit required | Not specified | Residential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component fees per the... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Sacramento, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
- In Sacramento: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
- In Sacramento: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Sacramento: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
- In Sacramento: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
- In Sacramento: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
- In Sacramento: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Sacramento permit portal or by phone at 916-808-5318.
Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Solar Permit checklist for Sacramento
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: Before installing any residential solar PV system or battery storage system.
- Budget the fee. Valuation-based building permit per CDD-0245 (rev 07-12-2026) using contract or equipment value, $75 minimum permit plus $32 plan review; city permit fees are charged separately from any SolarAPP+ processing fee. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Sacramento, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit. Start at the Sacramento permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Sacramento Community Development Department Building Division. Phone: 916-808-5318. Address: 300 Richards Blvd., 3rd Floor, Sacramento, CA 95811.
- Plan for inspections. In Sacramento, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Sacramento
In 2024, Sacramento authorized permits for 2,043 new residential housing units (708 single-family, 1,335 in multi-family buildings), valued at $487M, down from 2,517 the year before. That works out to about 4 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 512,838.
About Sacramento
Sacramento has about 210,621 housing units. The median home is valued at $484,600, against a median household income of $83,753. About 51% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1976.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a solar permit in Sacramento?
- A building and electrical permit is required for all residential solar PV installations and battery storage systems in Sacramento. Applications are submitted online through the Accela permit portal. California AB 2188 streamlines solar permit approvals; Sacramento follows state solar permit requirements. A licensed contractor is required for permitted solar work. Always confirm with the City of Sacramento Community Development Department Building Division before starting.
- How much does a solar permit cost in Sacramento?
- Valuation-based building permit per CDD-0245 (rev 07-12-2026) using contract or equipment value, $75 minimum permit plus $32 plan review; city permit fees are charged separately from any SolarAPP+ processing fee. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for a solar permit in Sacramento?
- You can apply through the Sacramento permit portal or contact the City of Sacramento Community Development Department Building Division directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Sacramento?
- Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how Sacramento applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Sacramento
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered deck 30 inches or more above grade requires a building permit | Valuation-based building permit per CDD-0245 (rev 07-12-2026), printed minimum $75... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $105 permit fee for one-trade minor electrical work such as a panel change-out... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit | Valuation-based building permit per CDD-0245 (rev 07-12-2026), printed minimum $75... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $175 permit fee for HVAC change-outs and new installations plus a 10% technology... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | covered patios and patio covers require a building permit; at-grade sidewalks and driveways are exempt, as are unattached decks up to 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade | Patio covers are valued at $34.50 per square foot per CDD-0245's construction valuation... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $105 permit fee for one-trade minor plumbing work such as sewer repair, re-plumbing... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Valuation-based building permit per CDD-0245 (rev 07-12-2026) using contract value or... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | roof replacement involving structural framing or sheathing changes requires a permit; replacing only the roof covering may be exempt | Flat $175 permit fee for re-roofs plus a 10% technology surcharge, per CDD-0245 (rev... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | detached storage shed under 120 sq ft without electrical or plumbing does not require a permit | Valuation-based building permit per CDD-0245 (rev 07-12-2026), $75 minimum permit plus... |
Solar Permit in other California localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Sacramento documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this solar permit page for Sacramento was verified. 2 official sources: cityofsacramento.gov, cityofsacramento.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Sacramento Community Development Department Building Division. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Solar Permit requirements across California localities
Permit office
City of Sacramento Community Development Department Building Division
916-808-5318Permit portal