California / Los Angeles

Solar Permit in Los Angeles, California

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential rooftop solar PV system

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byLos Angeles Department of Building and Safety

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Typical job value
$7,200
declared valuation

Quick answer

A building permit is required for residential solar PV installations in Los Angeles. Systems of 10 kW or less on one- or two-family dwellings qualify for an Express Permit (no plan check required) through PermitLA if additional electrical criteria are met. Systems exceeding 10 kW or not meeting the express criteria require a full plan check.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential rooftop solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Los Angeles

Line item
solar permitBy formulaResidential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component fees per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule: $6 per combiner box, $6 per PV module, inverters from $8 for 0 to 3.0 kW, with a structural building permit possible for roof support.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Los Angeles compares in California

No California jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Alameda CountyPermit requiredBuilding Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective...
Contra Costa CountyPermit requiredLand Development Fee Schedule item 7, "Residential solar energy systems - roof...
Fresno CountyPermit requiredThe Master Schedule of Fees has no solar or photovoltaic line item anywhere in...
Los Angelesthis pagePermit requiredResidential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component...
Los Angeles CountyPermit requiredChapter 68, Section 6805 of the County of Los Angeles Building Code: 'The...
Orange CountyPermit requiredSolar Permits, Roof-Mounted (includes County Standard Plan): $428 for FY...
Riverside CountyPermit requiredRoof Mount Solar Residential (BEL-RSLRR), described in the schedule as...

How to apply in Los Angeles

In Los Angeles, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Los Angeles, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Los Angeles, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Los Angeles, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety sets the exact checklist for Los Angeles.

Where to apply in Los Angeles:

Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety

  • 201 N. Figueroa St., Los Angeles, CA 90012
  • Phone: (213) 473-3231

Solar Permit in Los Angeles compared with nearby California localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each California schedule saysVerified
Los AngelesPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component fees per the...
Alameda CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedBuilding Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule (Schedule A, effective July 1...
Contra Costa CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedLand Development Fee Schedule item 7, "Residential solar energy systems - roof mount and...
Fresno CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedThe Master Schedule of Fees has no solar or photovoltaic line item anywhere in Section...
Los Angeles CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedChapter 68, Section 6805 of the County of Los Angeles Building Code: 'The combined...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Los Angeles, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Los Angeles: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Los Angeles: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Los Angeles: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Los Angeles: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Los Angeles: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Los Angeles: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Los Angeles permit portal or by phone at (213) 473-3231.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

First-time inspection pass rates in Los Angeles

Measured from Los Angeles's own inspection event log: how often each inspection type passes on the first visit.

  • Final: 62% pass first time (n=80,069)
  • Smoke Detectors: 90% pass first time (n=38,441)
  • Floor/Roof Diaphrgm/Shear Wall: 61% pass first time (n=33,475)
  • Interior/Exterior Lathing: 50% pass first time (n=23,574)
  • Footing/Foundation/Slab: 58% pass first time (n=21,651)

to . Source: City of Los Angeles building and safety inspections (open data). Full study.

Permitting activity in Los Angeles

In 2024, Los Angeles authorized permits for 10,488 new residential housing units (3,041 single-family, 7,447 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.6B, down from 13,154 the year before. That works out to about 2.6 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 3,970,219.

About Los Angeles

Los Angeles has about 1,537,034 housing units. The median home is valued at $879,500, against a median household income of $80,366. About 36% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1964.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Los Angeles?
A building permit is required for residential solar PV installations in Los Angeles. Systems of 10 kW or less on one- or two-family dwellings qualify for an Express Permit (no plan check required) through PermitLA if additional electrical criteria are met. Systems exceeding 10 kW or not meeting the express criteria require a full plan check. Always confirm with the Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Los Angeles?
Residential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component fees per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule: $6 per combiner box, $6 per PV module, inverters from $8 for 0 to 3.0 kW, with a structural building permit possible for roof support. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Los Angeles?
You can apply through the Los Angeles permit portal or contact the Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Los Angeles?
Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how Los Angeles applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Los Angeles

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBuilding permit fee is graduated by declared project valuation per LAMC 91.113 Table...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev 12/2016):...
Fence PermitIt dependsmasonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official pageValuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per piece of equipment per LADBS Fee Sch.3 (7/2017), for example a gas furnace...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per fixture per LADBS Fee Sch.5 (7/2017), for example a toilet at $23 and a...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedThe pool shell takes a valuation-based building permit with the LADBS Valuation Table...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story shed under 120 sq ft and under 12 ft in height with no electrical or plumbing does not require a permitNo shed-specific valuation multiplier printed

Solar Permit in other California localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Los Angeles documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Los Angeles was verified. 2 official sources: dbs.lacity.gov, dbs.lacity.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across California localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Los Angeles permit record

Permit required
Get quotes