California / Los Angeles

Fence Permit in Los Angeles, California

It depends

Sometimes, depending on the project

Before building a fence that may meet or exceed the permit threshold

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byLos Angeles Department of Building and Safety

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Typical job value
$7,200
declared valuation

Quick answer

Los Angeles allows masonry or concrete fences up to 6 feet in height without a building permit provided the construction meets LADBS specifications in Information Bulletin IB-P-BC2014-080. That bulletin requires masonry infill between pilasters to stay at or below 3 feet 6 inches with the upper portion filled by open wrought iron or other lightweight material. The 3 ft 6 in figure in the previous version of this record referred only to the masonry infill panel height and was not the total exempt fence height. An exemption threshold for non-masonry fences was not confirmed from any official LADBS page reviewed during this verification pass.

Typical threshold: masonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official page.

Diagram of the 6 ft fence height threshold for a fence permit in Los Angeles, California
Threshold illustrated: 6 ft. Whether Los Angeles requires a permit above or below this measurement is stated in the verdict on this page, verified 2026-06-18.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare fence installer quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before building a fence that may meet or exceed the permit threshold

What a fence permit costs in Los Angeles

Line item
fence permitBy formulaValuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A; the LADBS Valuation Table sets minimum declared valuation at $14 per sq ft of wall for concrete fences and $10 per sq ft for masonry, feeding the graduated brackets (posted base $65 for valuation up to $2,000).
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Los Angeles compares in California

That is the strictest fence permit threshold among the California jurisdictions we have verified: Sacramento, San Diego, and San Jose allow up to 7.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
Alameda CountyIt dependsPermit exemption height limit: 7 feet for fences of light materials, 5 feet 9 inches for fences of concrete, masonry, or similar heavy materials
Contra Costa CountyIt dependsheight of a fence, with concrete and masonry walls treated as walls rather than fences
Fresno CountyIt dependsFences not over 7 feet high are on the county's published list of work exempt from a building permit
Los Angelesthis pageIt dependsmasonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official page
SacramentoIt dependsfence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit
San DiegoIt dependsfence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit
San JoseIt dependsfence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit

Closest fence permit thresholds outside California

Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Los Angeles's 6 ft.

  • Boston, Massachusetts, permit required for fences over 6 feet in height per Massachusetts 780 CMR
  • Columbus, Ohio, fence over 6 ft in height requires a permit; fence 6 ft or under does not
  • Dallas, Texas, fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit
  • Jersey City, New Jersey, permit required if fence exceeds 6 feet or acts as a pool barrier

How to apply in Los Angeles

In Los Angeles, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own.

What most fence permit applications include:

  • For Los Angeles, a fence 7 feet or under is exempt from the model code's building permit, the same threshold the IRC uses for other small projects (IRC 2021 R105.2).
  • That exemption only removes the building-code permit. It does not authorize skipping a jurisdiction's own zoning approval, which is why an exempt fence can still need its own land-use or zoning permit rather than a building permit (IRC 2021 R105.2).
  • Whatever your jurisdiction calls that approval, the application centers on a basic site plan: a drawing of the property showing the fence's location, height, and material, and how it relates to the property lines (common local zoning practice).
  • For Los Angeles, the same plan is checked against required setbacks and, on corner lots or near intersections, a sight-triangle rule that caps fence height so it does not block sightlines for drivers (common local zoning practice).
  • For Los Angeles, a fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is handled as life-safety work rather than the light zoning process, and at least one state's adopted residential code requires a building permit for barrier fences regardless of the general fence exemption (Oregon Residential Specialty Code 2021, R101.2.2).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R105.2. Source. Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety sets the exact checklist for Los Angeles.

Where to apply in Los Angeles:

Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety

  • 201 N. Figueroa St., Los Angeles, CA 90012
  • Phone: (213) 473-3231

Fence Permit in Los Angeles compared with nearby California localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each California schedule saysVerified
Los AngelesIt dependsmasonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official pageValuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A
Alameda CountyIt dependsPermit exemption height limit: 7 feet for fences of light materials, 5 feet 9 inches for fences of concrete, masonry, or similar heavy materialsNo fence line item appears in the Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule...
Contra Costa CountyIt dependsheight of a fence, with concrete and masonry walls treated as walls rather than fencesLand Development Fee Schedule item 13, "Fences Greater than 7ft": Building Permit /...
Fresno CountyIt dependsFences not over 7 feet high are on the county's published list of work exempt from a building permitThe Master Schedule of Fees publishes no flat fence permit fee.
Los Angeles CountyIt dependsheight of a fence or freestanding block wall measured from the lowest adjacent grade; a masonry or concrete fence must also be set back from a public way at least a distance equal to its height to stay exemptNo fence line item is published.

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Los Angeles, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.

  1. In Los Angeles: inspection duty attaches only to work for which a permit is required, so a fence that qualified for the permit exemption carries no inspection obligation under the model code (IRC 2021 R109.1).
  2. In Los Angeles: where a fence permit was issued, the process skips the staged foundation, frame, and rough-in inspections used for buildings and goes straight to one final inspection once the fence is finished (IRC 2021 R109.1.6).
  3. In Los Angeles: that single check is typically a zoning compliance inspection rather than a structural review, confirming the fence matches the approved height and site plan (common local practice).
  4. A fence built as a swimming-pool barrier breaks that light-touch pattern in Los Angeles: it is separately inspected for barrier compliance, commonly required before the pool itself can be signed off (ISPSC 305; local pool-barrier inspection programs).
  5. In Los Angeles: that barrier inspection checks dimensional rules from the swimming pool and spa code rather than ordinary fence rules, including the minimum 48 inch barrier height and limits on openings and gaps a young child could pass through (ISPSC 305).
  6. Gate hardware is inspected too in Los Angeles: a self-closing, self-latching gate is part of the barrier requirement, since an unlatched gate defeats the fence's purpose as a barrier (ISPSC 305).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Los Angeles permit portal or by phone at (213) 473-3231.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R109, and ISPSC 2021 Section 305 (barriers). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

First-time inspection pass rates in Los Angeles

Measured from Los Angeles's own inspection event log: how often each inspection type passes on the first visit.

  • Final: 62% pass first time (n=80,069)
  • Smoke Detectors: 90% pass first time (n=38,441)
  • Floor/Roof Diaphrgm/Shear Wall: 61% pass first time (n=33,475)
  • Interior/Exterior Lathing: 50% pass first time (n=23,574)
  • Footing/Foundation/Slab: 58% pass first time (n=21,651)

to . Source: City of Los Angeles building and safety inspections (open data). Full study.

Permitting activity in Los Angeles

In 2024, Los Angeles authorized permits for 10,488 new residential housing units (3,041 single-family, 7,447 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.6B, down from 13,154 the year before. That works out to about 2.6 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 3,970,219.

About Los Angeles

Los Angeles has about 1,537,034 housing units. The median home is valued at $879,500, against a median household income of $80,366. About 36% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1964.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a fence permit in Los Angeles?
Los Angeles allows masonry or concrete fences up to 6 feet in height without a building permit provided the construction meets LADBS specifications in Information Bulletin IB-P-BC2014-080. That bulletin requires masonry infill between pilasters to stay at or below 3 feet 6 inches with the upper portion filled by open wrought iron or other lightweight material. The 3 ft 6 in figure in the previous version of this record referred only to the masonry infill panel height and was not the total exempt fence height. An exemption threshold for non-masonry fences was not confirmed from any official LADBS page reviewed during this verification pass. Masonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official page. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a fence permit cost in Los Angeles?
Valuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A; the LADBS Valuation Table sets minimum declared valuation at $14 per sq ft of wall for concrete fences and $10 per sq ft for masonry, feeding the graduated brackets (posted base $65 for valuation up to $2,000). See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a fence permit in Los Angeles?
You can apply through the Los Angeles permit portal or contact the Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a fence permit themselves in Los Angeles?
Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how Los Angeles applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Los Angeles

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBuilding permit fee is graduated by declared project valuation per LAMC 91.113 Table...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per installed item per the LADBS Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (rev 12/2016):...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per piece of equipment per LADBS Fee Sch.3 (7/2017), for example a gas furnace...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized per fixture per LADBS Fee Sch.5 (7/2017), for example a toilet at $23 and a...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedThe pool shell takes a valuation-based building permit with the LADBS Valuation Table...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story shed under 120 sq ft and under 12 ft in height with no electrical or plumbing does not require a permitNo shed-specific valuation multiplier printed
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential rooftop PV is an electrical permit with itemized per-component fees per the...

Fence Permit in other California localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Los Angeles documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this fence permit page for Los Angeles was verified. 2 official sources: dbs.lacity.gov, dbs.lacity.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Los Angeles Department of Building and Safety. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Fence Permit requirements across California localities

Fence permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Los Angeles permit record

It depends
Get quotes