California / San Diego

Fence Permit in San Diego, California

It depends

Sometimes, depending on the project

Before building a fence taller than 7 feet

From an official source Verified

Issued byCity of San Diego Development Services Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

Fences 7 feet in height or less are exempt from a building permit in the City of San Diego. Fences exceeding 7 feet require a building permit from the Development Services Department. All fences must also comply with San Diego Municipal Code zoning regulations regardless of permit status.

Typical threshold: fence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit.

Diagram of the 7 ft fence height threshold for a fence permit in San Diego, California
Threshold illustrated: 7 ft. Whether San Diego requires a permit above or below this measurement is stated in the verdict on this page, verified 2026-06-17.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare fence installer quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before building a fence taller than 7 feet

What a fence permit costs in San Diego

Line item
fence permitBy formulaFence or wall over 7 feet high is billed per 100 linear feet under IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: custom plans $2,031.00 plan check base plus $529.71 inspection base, a pre-approved City Standard plan runs $1,148.29 plan check and $353.13 inspection per 100 LF.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How San Diego compares in California

Across the California jurisdictions we have verified, the same threshold runs from 6 to 7, so a project that is exempt here may still need a permit one county over.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
Alameda CountyIt dependsPermit exemption height limit: 7 feet for fences of light materials, 5 feet 9 inches for fences of concrete, masonry, or similar heavy materials
Contra Costa CountyIt dependsheight of a fence, with concrete and masonry walls treated as walls rather than fences
Fresno CountyIt dependsFences not over 7 feet high are on the county's published list of work exempt from a building permit
Los AngelesIt dependsmasonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official page
SacramentoIt dependsfence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit
San Diegothis pageIt dependsfence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit
San JoseIt dependsfence over 7 feet in rear or side yard or over 3 feet in front yard requires a permit

Closest fence permit thresholds outside California

Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest San Diego's 7 ft.

  • Austin, Texas, fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit
  • Chandler, Arizona, Fences not over 7 feet high are exempt from a building permit; a fence taller than 7 feet requires Planning approval and a building permit. A separate zoning limit caps front-yard fence height at 3 feet regardless of the building-permit threshold.
  • Henrico County, Virginia, fences 7 feet or less in height that do not serve as a swimming pool barrier are exempt; taller fences and any fence serving as a pool barrier require a building permit
  • Howard County, Maryland, fences 7 ft or under, not enclosing a pool, are exempt from a building permit; over 7 ft or enclosing a pool requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit

How to apply in San Diego

In San Diego, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own.

What most fence permit applications include:

  • For San Diego, a fence 7 feet or under is exempt from the model code's building permit, the same threshold the IRC uses for other small projects (IRC 2021 R105.2).
  • That exemption only removes the building-code permit. It does not authorize skipping a jurisdiction's own zoning approval, which is why an exempt fence can still need its own land-use or zoning permit rather than a building permit (IRC 2021 R105.2).
  • Whatever your jurisdiction calls that approval, the application centers on a basic site plan: a drawing of the property showing the fence's location, height, and material, and how it relates to the property lines (common local zoning practice).
  • For San Diego, the same plan is checked against required setbacks and, on corner lots or near intersections, a sight-triangle rule that caps fence height so it does not block sightlines for drivers (common local zoning practice).
  • For San Diego, a fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is handled as life-safety work rather than the light zoning process, and at least one state's adopted residential code requires a building permit for barrier fences regardless of the general fence exemption (Oregon Residential Specialty Code 2021, R101.2.2).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R105.2. Source. City of San Diego Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for San Diego.

Where to apply in San Diego:

City of San Diego Development Services Department

  • 7650 Mission Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92108
  • Phone: 619-446-5000

Fence Permit in San Diego compared with nearby California localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each California schedule saysVerified
San DiegoIt dependsfence over 7 feet in height requires a building permitFence or wall over 7 feet high is billed per 100 linear feet under IB-501 Table 501C...
Alameda CountyIt dependsPermit exemption height limit: 7 feet for fences of light materials, 5 feet 9 inches for fences of concrete, masonry, or similar heavy materialsNo fence line item appears in the Building Inspection Department Service Fee Schedule...
Contra Costa CountyIt dependsheight of a fence, with concrete and masonry walls treated as walls rather than fencesLand Development Fee Schedule item 13, "Fences Greater than 7ft": Building Permit /...
Fresno CountyIt dependsFences not over 7 feet high are on the county's published list of work exempt from a building permitThe Master Schedule of Fees publishes no flat fence permit fee.
Los AngelesIt dependsmasonry or concrete fence up to 6 ft in height may be built without a permit if it meets LADBS construction specifications in IB-P-BC2014-080; a solid masonry infill panel between pilasters may not exceed 3 ft 6 in with lightweight open material filling the remaining height; non-masonry fence height threshold not confirmed from official pageValuation-based building permit per LAMC 91.113 Table 1-A

Inspections and closing out your permit

In San Diego, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.

  1. In San Diego: inspection duty attaches only to work for which a permit is required, so a fence that qualified for the permit exemption carries no inspection obligation under the model code (IRC 2021 R109.1).
  2. In San Diego: where a fence permit was issued, the process skips the staged foundation, frame, and rough-in inspections used for buildings and goes straight to one final inspection once the fence is finished (IRC 2021 R109.1.6).
  3. In San Diego: that single check is typically a zoning compliance inspection rather than a structural review, confirming the fence matches the approved height and site plan (common local practice).
  4. A fence built as a swimming-pool barrier breaks that light-touch pattern in San Diego: it is separately inspected for barrier compliance, commonly required before the pool itself can be signed off (ISPSC 305; local pool-barrier inspection programs).
  5. In San Diego: that barrier inspection checks dimensional rules from the swimming pool and spa code rather than ordinary fence rules, including the minimum 48 inch barrier height and limits on openings and gaps a young child could pass through (ISPSC 305).
  6. Gate hardware is inspected too in San Diego: a self-closing, self-latching gate is part of the barrier requirement, since an unlatched gate defeats the fence's purpose as a barrier (ISPSC 305).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the San Diego permit portal or by phone at 619-446-5000.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R109, and ISPSC 2021 Section 305 (barriers). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in San Diego

In 2024, San Diego authorized permits for 6,615 new residential housing units (775 single-family, 5,840 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.5B, up from 5,765 the year before. That works out to about 4.7 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,422,420.

About San Diego

San Diego has about 559,653 housing units. The median home is valued at $848,500, against a median household income of $104,321. About 48% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1978.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a fence permit in San Diego?
Fences 7 feet in height or less are exempt from a building permit in the City of San Diego. Fences exceeding 7 feet require a building permit from the Development Services Department. All fences must also comply with San Diego Municipal Code zoning regulations regardless of permit status. Fence over 7 feet in height requires a building permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a fence permit cost in San Diego?
Fence or wall over 7 feet high is billed per 100 linear feet under IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: custom plans $2,031.00 plan check base plus $529.71 inspection base, a pre-approved City Standard plan runs $1,148.29 plan check and $353.13 inspection per 100 LF. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a fence permit in San Diego?
You can apply through the San Diego permit portal or contact the City of San Diego Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a fence permit themselves in San Diego?
Under California law (Business & Professions Code 7044(a)-(b); Business & Professions Code 7031.5): California exempts an owner-builder from contractor licensing when the owner personally performs the work, or uses only wage employees, on their own property and does not intend the improvements for sale. A homeowner may also directly hire licensed trade contractors for up to four single-family residences a year, or improve their own principal residence without a general contractor's license, as long as they have actually lived there for the 12 months before the work is finished. Selling a self-built structure within one year of completion creates a rebuttable presumption that it was built for sale, which defeats the exemption, and selling five or more structures within a year makes that presumption conclusive. Separately, every city or county that requires a building permit must also require the applicant to file a signed statement giving their contractor license number or the basis of their claimed exemption; a false or missing statement carries a $500 civil penalty. Confirm how San Diego applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in San Diego

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsdeck over 200 sq ft or over 30 inches above grade or attached to a dwelling requires a permitPer IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Deck with pre-approved plans $1,148.29 plan...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled per circuit or panel under IB-103 Table 2 effective May 2026: circuits 15-45 amps...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled per unit under IB-103 Table 1B effective May 2026: air handler or mini-split...
Patio PermitIt dependspatio cover accessory to a dwelling under 300 sq ft of projected roof area and no taller than 12 ft and not in a yard setback does not require a permitPer IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Patio Cover with pre-approved plans $1,501.42...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled per fixture under IB-103 Table 3B effective May 2026: water heater $122.97...
Pool PermitIt dependsprefabricated above-ground pool 5000 gallons or less and under 18 inches deep is exempt; all other pools require a permitPer IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026: Pool/Spa per master plan for a single dwelling...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsrenewal of roof covering without structural changes is generally exempt; permit required if structural work is needed or roof weight increases above 6 lbs per sq ftPer IB-501 Table 501C effective May 2026, cross-referenced from IB-123: roof...
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story detached accessory structure under 120 sq ft used as non-habitable storage does not require a permitNo dedicated shed line in the fee schedule
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPer IB-301 effective May 2026: no-plan-review residential PV systems pay only a $275.80...

Fence Permit in other California localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not San Diego documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this fence permit page for San Diego was verified. 2 official sources: sandiego.gov, sandiego.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of San Diego Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Fence Permit requirements across California localities

Fence permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing San Diego permit record

It depends
Get quotes