Fence Permit in Austin, Texas
It depends
Sometimes, depending on the project
Before building a fence that exceeds the applicable height limit
Issued byAustin Development Services Department
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Median to issue
- 19 days
- 39,585 records
Quick answer
Austin exempts most residential fences from a permit if they are 7 feet or under at any point and are not in a floodplain. Fences over 7 feet at any point require a permit from Austin Development Services. Fences over 6 feet along a public right-of-way also require a permit. Applications are submitted through the Residential Fence Permit Application web form linked from the Austin DSD fencing regulations page.
Typical threshold: fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit.

Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Fence installers usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare fence installer quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
Before building a fence that exceeds the applicable height limit
What a fence permit costs in Austin
How Austin compares in Texas
Across the Texas jurisdictions we have verified, the same threshold runs from 6 to 8, so a project that is exempt here may still need a permit one county over.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington | It depends | share of one side of an existing fence being repaired or replaced |
| Austinthis page | It depends | fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit |
| Corpus Christi | It depends | Fences taller than 7 feet in height need a building permit; fences 7 feet or less in height are on the city's published exemption list. |
| Dallas | It depends | fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit |
| El Paso | It depends | Masonry walls and fences are measured against 42 inches in height; chain link fences are measured against a separate and higher trigger of 6 feet in height. The material determines which of the two applies. |
| Houston | It depends | fences over 8 ft above grade require a permit; masonry or concrete fences require a permit regardless of height |
| San Antonio | It depends | fences over 6 ft in height require a permit; fences 6 ft or under generally do not require a permit in San Antonio |
Closest fence permit thresholds outside Texas
Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Austin's 7 ft.
- Chandler, Arizona, Fences not over 7 feet high are exempt from a building permit; a fence taller than 7 feet requires Planning approval and a building permit. A separate zoning limit caps front-yard fence height at 3 feet regardless of the building-permit threshold.
- Henrico County, Virginia, fences 7 feet or less in height that do not serve as a swimming pool barrier are exempt; taller fences and any fence serving as a pool barrier require a building permit
- Howard County, Maryland, fences 7 ft or under, not enclosing a pool, are exempt from a building permit; over 7 ft or enclosing a pool requires a Miscellaneous Structures building permit
- Minneapolis, Minnesota, fences no more than 7 feet high are exempt from a permit; fences over 7 feet require a building permit
How to apply in Austin
In Austin, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own.
What most fence permit applications include:
- For Austin, a fence 7 feet or under is exempt from the model code's building permit, the same threshold the IRC uses for other small projects (IRC 2021 R105.2).
- That exemption only removes the building-code permit. It does not authorize skipping a jurisdiction's own zoning approval, which is why an exempt fence can still need its own land-use or zoning permit rather than a building permit (IRC 2021 R105.2).
- Whatever your jurisdiction calls that approval, the application centers on a basic site plan: a drawing of the property showing the fence's location, height, and material, and how it relates to the property lines (common local zoning practice).
- For Austin, the same plan is checked against required setbacks and, on corner lots or near intersections, a sight-triangle rule that caps fence height so it does not block sightlines for drivers (common local zoning practice).
- For Austin, a fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is handled as life-safety work rather than the light zoning process, and at least one state's adopted residential code requires a building permit for barrier fences regardless of the general fence exemption (Oregon Residential Specialty Code 2021, R101.2.2).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R105.2. Source. Austin Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for Austin.
Where to apply in Austin:
Austin Development Services Department
- 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr., Austin, TX 78752
Fence Permit in Austin compared with nearby Texas localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Texas schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin | It depends | fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit | Fences are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the... | |
| Arlington | It depends | share of one side of an existing fence being repaired or replaced | Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No. | |
| Corpus Christi | It depends | Fences taller than 7 feet in height need a building permit; fences 7 feet or less in height are on the city's published exemption list. | The FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule (Rev. | |
| Dallas | It depends | fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit | No fence-specific line | |
| El Paso | It depends | Masonry walls and fences are measured against 42 inches in height; chain link fences are measured against a separate and higher trigger of 6 feet in height. The material determines which of the two applies. | FY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, Building Permits:... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Austin, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.
- In Austin: inspection duty attaches only to work for which a permit is required, so a fence that qualified for the permit exemption carries no inspection obligation under the model code (IRC 2021 R109.1).
- In Austin: where a fence permit was issued, the process skips the staged foundation, frame, and rough-in inspections used for buildings and goes straight to one final inspection once the fence is finished (IRC 2021 R109.1.6).
- In Austin: that single check is typically a zoning compliance inspection rather than a structural review, confirming the fence matches the approved height and site plan (common local practice).
- A fence built as a swimming-pool barrier breaks that light-touch pattern in Austin: it is separately inspected for barrier compliance, commonly required before the pool itself can be signed off (ISPSC 305; local pool-barrier inspection programs).
- In Austin: that barrier inspection checks dimensional rules from the swimming pool and spa code rather than ordinary fence rules, including the minimum 48 inch barrier height and limits on openings and gaps a young child could pass through (ISPSC 305).
- Gate hardware is inspected too in Austin: a self-closing, self-latching gate is part of the barrier requirement, since an unlatched gate defeats the fence's purpose as a barrier (ISPSC 305).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Austin permit portal.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), 2021 edition, Section R109, and ISPSC 2021 Section 305 (barriers). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Fence Permit checklist for Austin
- Confirm the requirement. Sometimes, depending on the project. Typical threshold: fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit. Usually needed: Before building a fence that exceeds the applicable height limit.
- Budget the fee. Fences are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee schedule effective 10/01/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Austin, most residential fences fall under the model code's 7-foot building-permit exemption, so the real approval step is a lightweight zoning or land-use permit built around a simple site plan showing the fence's location, height, and material, checked against setbacks and any corner-lot sight-triangle rule. A fence that will serve as a required swimming-pool barrier is the exception, since barrier fences carry life-safety requirements of their own. Start at the Austin permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Austin Development Services Department. Address: 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr., Austin, TX 78752.
- Plan for inspections. In Austin, inspection follows the permit: a fence that never needed one gets no inspection at all under the model code, and a permitted fence typically gets a single final check rather than the staged inspections used for a house. The exception is a fence serving as a swimming-pool barrier, which gets its own dedicated barrier inspection covering height, gaps, and gate hardware.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Austin
In 2024, Austin authorized permits for 9,444 new residential housing units (1,946 single-family, 7,498 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.5B, down from 13,684 the year before. That works out to about 10.1 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 937,492.
About Austin
Austin has about 466,428 housing units. The median home is valued at $512,700, against a median household income of $91,461. About 44% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1993.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need a fence permit in Austin?
- Austin exempts most residential fences from a permit if they are 7 feet or under at any point and are not in a floodplain. Fences over 7 feet at any point require a permit from Austin Development Services. Fences over 6 feet along a public right-of-way also require a permit. Applications are submitted through the Residential Fence Permit Application web form linked from the Austin DSD fencing regulations page. Fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit. Always confirm with the office before starting.
- How much does a fence permit cost in Austin?
- Fences are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee schedule effective 10/01/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- How long does a fence permit take in Austin?
- Across 39,585 recent residential permit records in Austin, the median time to issue was 19 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
- Where do you apply for a fence permit in Austin?
- You can apply through the Austin permit portal or contact the Austin Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull a fence permit themselves in Austin?
- Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Austin applies this before you apply.
How the 19 days break down
Application filed
Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.
Review
A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.
Permit issued
Median across 39,585residential permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.
Inspections
The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Austin
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered decks with area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade and not attached to the dwelling and not providing required egress and not in floodplain are exempt | Uncovered decks are grouped with pools and fences under the Small Projects Plan Review... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | The Residential Change-Out Program charges $67.32 for the first HVAC system and $18.81... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | at-grade sidewalks, driveways, and concrete flatwork outside the public right-of-way are exempt; a covered patio or attached patio cover requires a residential building permit | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Plumbing trade permit base fee is $200.43, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated pools less than 24 inches deep are exempt; all other residential pools require a permit | Pools are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | asphalt shingle re-roofing is generally exempt unless property is in the Wildland-Urban Interface area and 50% or more of the roofing is being replaced | The FY2025-26 residential fee schedule lists a Residential Roof Replacement Inspection... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exempt | Not published |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Solar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power electrical permit... |
Fence Permit in other Texas localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Austin documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this fence permit page for Austin was verified. 2 official sources: austintexas.gov, austintexas.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Austin Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page