Electrical Permit in Austin, Texas
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all residential electrical work including new wiring circuit additions and service upgrades
Issued byAustin Development Services Department
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
- Median to issue
- 10 days
- 11,464 records
Quick answer
A standalone electrical permit is required in Austin for residential electrical work not tied to a building permit, including new wiring, circuit additions, and service upgrades. Applications are submitted through the AB+C portal by a licensed electrical contractor or by an eligible homeowner through the Homestead Permit program. Projects with natural gas also require a separate plumbing permit.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all residential electrical work including new wiring circuit additions and service upgrades
What an electrical permit costs in Austin
How Austin compares in Texas
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington | Permit required | Not specified |
| Austinthis page | Permit required | Not specified |
| Corpus Christi | Permit required | An electrical permit is needed to replace a meter loop or panel, add receptacles or outlets, add circuits or lights, add a dryer plug, rewire a house, or add solar panels; communications cabling and low voltage work fall outside what the city permits at all. |
| Dallas | Permit required | Not specified |
| El Paso | Permit required | Replacing a switch, receptacle, fuse, fan, light fixture, or similar equipment without altering the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing system is exempt. |
| Fort Worth | Permit required | Not specified |
| Houston | Permit required | Not specified |
How to apply in Austin
In Austin, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Austin, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Austin, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Austin Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for Austin.
Where to apply in Austin:
Austin Development Services Department
- 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr., Austin, TX 78752
- Phone: 512-978-4000
Electrical Permit in Austin compared with nearby Texas localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Texas schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee... | |
| Arlington | Permit required | Not specified | Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No. | |
| Corpus Christi | Permit required | An electrical permit is needed to replace a meter loop or panel, add receptacles or outlets, add circuits or lights, add a dryer plug, rewire a house, or add solar panels; communications cabling and low voltage work fall outside what the city permits at all. | FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Electrical Permits: Residential $0.075 per square... | |
| Dallas | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade... | |
| El Paso | Permit required | Replacing a switch, receptacle, fuse, fan, light fixture, or similar equipment without altering the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing system is exempt. | FY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, Electrical Permits:... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Austin, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Austin: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Austin: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Austin: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Austin: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Austin: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Austin: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Austin: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Austin permit portal or by phone at 512-978-4000.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Austin
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all residential electrical work including new wiring circuit additions and service upgrades.
- Budget the fee. Electrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee schedule effective 10/01/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Austin, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Austin permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Austin Development Services Department. Phone: 512-978-4000. Address: 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr., Austin, TX 78752.
- Plan for inspections. In Austin, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Real Electrical Permit data in Austin
- Median to issue
- 10 days
- 11,464 records
Across 11,464 recent electrical permit records in Austin: they typically took 10 days to issue.
Medians of real issued-permit records, not a quote.
Data as of . Source: City of Austin issued construction permits (open data).
Permitting activity in Austin
In 2024, Austin authorized permits for 9,444 new residential housing units (1,946 single-family, 7,498 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.5B, down from 13,684 the year before. That works out to about 10.1 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 937,492.
About Austin
Austin has about 466,428 housing units. The median home is valued at $512,700, against a median household income of $91,461. About 44% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1993.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Austin?
- A standalone electrical permit is required in Austin for residential electrical work not tied to a building permit, including new wiring, circuit additions, and service upgrades. Applications are submitted through the AB+C portal by a licensed electrical contractor or by an eligible homeowner through the Homestead Permit program. Projects with natural gas also require a separate plumbing permit. Always confirm with the Austin Development Services Department before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Austin?
- Electrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee schedule effective 10/01/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- How long does an electrical permit take in Austin?
- Across 11,464 recent electrical permit records in Austin, the median time to issue was 10 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Austin?
- You can apply through the Austin permit portal or contact the Austin Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Austin?
- Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Austin applies this before you apply.
How the 10 days break down
Application filed
Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.
Review
A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.
Permit issued
Median across 11,464electrical permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.
Inspections
The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Austin
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered decks with area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade and not attached to the dwelling and not providing required egress and not in floodplain are exempt | Uncovered decks are grouped with pools and fences under the Small Projects Plan Review... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit | Fences are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | The Residential Change-Out Program charges $67.32 for the first HVAC system and $18.81... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | at-grade sidewalks, driveways, and concrete flatwork outside the public right-of-way are exempt; a covered patio or attached patio cover requires a residential building permit | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Plumbing trade permit base fee is $200.43, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated pools less than 24 inches deep are exempt; all other residential pools require a permit | Pools are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | asphalt shingle re-roofing is generally exempt unless property is in the Wildland-Urban Interface area and 50% or more of the roofing is being replaced | The FY2025-26 residential fee schedule lists a Residential Roof Replacement Inspection... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exempt | Not published |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Solar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power electrical permit... |
Electrical Permit in other Texas localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Austin documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Austin was verified. 2 official sources: austintexas.gov, austintexas.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Austin Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Texas localities