Permit records
Austin permit search
Austin permit records are public. The jurisdiction publishes them through an online record search.
By Mario Bailey Last checked · 10 official sources
- Project types verified
- 10
- in Austin
- Median to issue
- 19 days
- 39,585 permits
- Search verified
- 12 Jul 2026
- we opened it ourselves
Search Austin permit records
The Records and Research page links the AB+C public search, which needs no registration.
Open the Austin record searchApplying rather than searching? Use the Austin permit portal
We opened this address ourselves on . Official government links only, and we check them on a schedule.
If the permit does not turn up
Older permits are often missing from online records, and a permit filed under a contractor's name will not surface in an address search that expects the owner. Austin Development Services Department can check the paper file.
- 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr., Austin, TX 78752
- Official permit page
- Official fee schedule
What needs a permit in Austin
Every project type we have verified in Austin, with the rule, the threshold, and the fee that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | uncovered decks with area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade and not attached to the dwelling and not providing required egress and not in floodplain are exempt | Uncovered decks are grouped with pools and fences under the Small Projects Plan Review... |
| Electrical Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permit | Fences are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | The Residential Change-Out Program charges $67.32 for the first HVAC system and $18.81... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | at-grade sidewalks, driveways, and concrete flatwork outside the public right-of-way are exempt; a covered patio or attached patio cover requires a residential building permit | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Plumbing trade permit base fee is $200.43, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated pools less than 24 inches deep are exempt; all other residential pools require a permit | Pools are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | asphalt shingle re-roofing is generally exempt unless property is in the Wildland-Urban Interface area and 50% or more of the roofing is being replaced | The FY2025-26 residential fee schedule lists a Residential Roof Replacement Inspection... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exempt | Not published |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Solar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power electrical permit... |