Texas / Austin

Solar Permit in Austin, Texas

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential solar PV system connected to the Austin Energy grid

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byAustin Development Services Department

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Median to issue
19 days
39,585 records

Quick answer

A residential solar PV installation in Austin requires two separate approvals: an Auxiliary Power Electrical Permit from Austin Development Services (applied through the AB+C portal) and an approved Distributed Generation Planning Application (DGPA) from Austin Energy. Installation must be performed by a licensed electrical contractor. Austin Energy conducts a final solar inspection before the system is energized.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential solar PV system connected to the Austin Energy grid

What a solar permit costs in Austin

Line item
solar permitBy formulaSolar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power electrical permit base fee, then a tiered solar inspection fee starting at $74.44 for 1-50 kW systems, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee schedule effective 10/01/2025.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Austin compares in Texas

No Texas jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
ArlingtonPermit requiredPlanning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026...
Austinthis pagePermit requiredSolar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power...
Corpus ChristiPermit requiredThe FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule publishes no solar line item.
DallasPermit requiredNo solar-specific line
El PasoPermit requiredFY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, prices solar...
Fort WorthPermit requiredThe Schedule of Mechanical Fees, Table 1-H, carries a "Solar energy system:...
HoustonPermit requiredSolar panel permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with plan...

How to apply in Austin

In Austin, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Austin, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Austin, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Austin, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Austin Development Services Department sets the exact checklist for Austin.

Where to apply in Austin:

Austin Development Services Department

  • 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr., Austin, TX 78752
  • Phone: 512-978-4000

Solar Permit in Austin compared with nearby Texas localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Texas schedule saysVerified
AustinPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power electrical permit...
ArlingtonPermit requiredNot specifiedPlanning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No.
Corpus ChristiPermit requiredNo size or capacity threshold is published; adding solar panels is listed outright as work that needs a permit.The FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule publishes no solar line item.
DallasPermit requiredNot specifiedNo solar-specific line
El PasoPermit requiredNot specifiedFY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, prices solar across...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Austin, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Austin: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Austin: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Austin: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Austin: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Austin: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Austin: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Austin permit portal or by phone at 512-978-4000.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Austin

In 2024, Austin authorized permits for 9,444 new residential housing units (1,946 single-family, 7,498 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.5B, down from 13,684 the year before. That works out to about 10.1 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 937,492.

About Austin

Austin has about 466,428 housing units. The median home is valued at $512,700, against a median household income of $91,461. About 44% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1993.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Austin?
A residential solar PV installation in Austin requires two separate approvals: an Auxiliary Power Electrical Permit from Austin Development Services (applied through the AB+C portal) and an approved Distributed Generation Planning Application (DGPA) from Austin Energy. Installation must be performed by a licensed electrical contractor. Austin Energy conducts a final solar inspection before the system is energized. Always confirm with the Austin Development Services Department before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Austin?
Solar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power electrical permit base fee, then a tiered solar inspection fee starting at $74.44 for 1-50 kW systems, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee schedule effective 10/01/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
How long does a solar permit take in Austin?
Across 39,585 recent residential permit records in Austin, the median time to issue was 19 days. Individual projects vary with scope and office workload, so confirm with the office.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Austin?
You can apply through the Austin permit portal or contact the Austin Development Services Department directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Austin?
Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Austin applies this before you apply.

How the 19 days break down

Day 0

Application filed

Submitted through the permit portal, with the fee due at submission.

Day 1–18

Review

A correction request restarts this leg, which is the single largest reason a permit takes longer than the median.

Day 19

Permit issued

Median across 39,585residential permit records in the last 12 months. Half were faster, half slower.

After

Inspections

The sequence in the checklist above. Work that is covered up before its inspection generally has to be reopened.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Austin

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsuncovered decks with area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 30 inches above grade and not attached to the dwelling and not providing required egress and not in floodplain are exemptUncovered decks are grouped with pools and fences under the Small Projects Plan Review...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedElectrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences over 7 ft high at any point require a permit; fences over 6 ft along public ROW require a permit; fences in a floodplain at any height require a permitFences are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedThe Residential Change-Out Program charges $67.32 for the first HVAC system and $18.81...
Patio PermitIt dependsat-grade sidewalks, driveways, and concrete flatwork outside the public right-of-way are exempt; a covered patio or attached patio cover requires a residential building permitNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedPlumbing trade permit base fee is $200.43, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee...
Pool PermitIt dependsprefabricated pools less than 24 inches deep are exempt; all other residential pools require a permitPools are named directly in the Small Projects Plan Review fee of $132.86, per the...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsasphalt shingle re-roofing is generally exempt unless property is in the Wildland-Urban Interface area and 50% or more of the roofing is being replacedThe FY2025-26 residential fee schedule lists a Residential Roof Replacement Inspection...
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exemptNot published

Solar Permit in other Texas localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Austin documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Austin was verified. 2 official sources: austintexas.gov, austintexas.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Austin Development Services Department. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Texas localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Austin permit record

Permit required
Get quotes