Texas / Houston

Solar Permit in Houston, Texas

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing any residential solar PV system

From an official source Verified

Issued byHouston Permitting Center

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

A building permit (electrical) is required for residential solar panel installations in Houston. Plans must be sealed by a Texas licensed engineer or electrician. Plan review and inspection are both required. Applicants must also submit a separate interconnection application to CenterPoint Energy before installation begins.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Houston

Line item
solar permitBy formulaSolar panel permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with plan review possibly adding a valuation-based fee depending on scope, per the city's Solar Panel Permit page.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Houston compares in Texas

No Texas jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
ArlingtonPermit requiredPlanning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026...
AustinPermit requiredSolar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power...
Corpus ChristiPermit requiredThe FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule publishes no solar line item.
DallasPermit requiredNo solar-specific line
El PasoPermit requiredFY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, prices solar...
Fort WorthPermit requiredThe Schedule of Mechanical Fees, Table 1-H, carries a "Solar energy system:...
Houstonthis pagePermit requiredSolar panel permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with plan...

How to apply in Houston

In Houston, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Houston, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Houston, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Houston, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. Houston Permitting Center sets the exact checklist for Houston.

Where to apply in Houston:

Houston Permitting Center

Solar Permit in Houston compared with nearby Texas localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Texas schedule saysVerified
HoustonPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar panel permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with plan review...
ArlingtonPermit requiredNot specifiedPlanning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No.
AustinPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar permits carry a $32.47 intake fee plus a $111.66 auxiliary power electrical permit...
Corpus ChristiPermit requiredNo size or capacity threshold is published; adding solar panels is listed outright as work that needs a permit.The FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule publishes no solar line item.
DallasPermit requiredNot specifiedNo solar-specific line

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Houston, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Houston: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Houston: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Houston: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Houston: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Houston: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Houston: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Houston permit portal or by phone at 832.394.8860.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Houston

In 2024, Houston authorized permits for 11,898 new residential housing units (6,808 single-family, 5,090 in multi-family buildings), valued at $3.2B, down from 16,430 the year before. That works out to about 5.2 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,268,194.

About Houston

Houston has about 1,023,112 housing units. The median home is valued at $253,400, against a median household income of $62,894. About 42% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1981.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Houston?
A building permit (electrical) is required for residential solar panel installations in Houston. Plans must be sealed by a Texas licensed engineer or electrician. Plan review and inspection are both required. Applicants must also submit a separate interconnection application to CenterPoint Energy before installation begins. Always confirm with the Houston Permitting Center before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Houston?
Solar panel permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with plan review possibly adding a valuation-based fee depending on scope, per the city's Solar Panel Permit page. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Houston?
You can apply through the Houston permit portal or contact the Houston Permitting Center directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Houston?
Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Houston applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Houston

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsdeck not exceeding 200 sq ft and not more than 30 in above grade and not attached to dwelling and not serving required exit door is exempt from permitNo dedicated deck fee
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedMinimum electrical permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with...
Fence PermitIt dependsfences over 8 ft above grade require a permit; masonry or concrete fences require a permit regardless of heightFences cost $73.85 for the first 100 lineal feet plus $11.41 per additional 100 lineal...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specified2% of total job cost plus $47.00 base fee plus administrative fee of $33.56
Patio PermitIt dependspatio covers and enclosed patios require a permit; unroofed ground-level concrete slabs generally do not; impervious cover limits may trigger additional reviewNo dedicated patio fee
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedMinimum plumbing permit fee is $97.56 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with itemized...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential pool plan review costs $94 plus a $127.56 plan review fee and $33.56 admin...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation based per the city fee schedule with a $33.56 administrative fee printed on...
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story detached accessory structure under 120 sq ft does not require a permitNo dedicated shed fee

Solar Permit in other Texas localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Houston documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Houston was verified. 1 official source: houstonpermittingcenter.org; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Houston Permitting Center. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Texas localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Houston permit record

Permit required
Get quotes