Texas / Houston

Electrical Permit in Houston, Texas

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

For all new wiring circuits panel upgrades and electrical service work

From an official source Verified

Issued byHouston Permitting Center

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

An electrical permit is required in Houston for residential electrical work including new wiring, circuits, service upgrades, and sub-panel installations. Contractors must register their electrical license with the City. Permits are applied for through the iPermits online portal. Inspections are required before work is concealed.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

For all new wiring circuits panel upgrades and electrical service work

What an electrical permit costs in Houston

Line item
electrical permitBy formulaMinimum electrical permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with itemized charges per outlet, fixture or panel, per the 2026 Permit Fee Schedule effective 1/1/2026.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Houston compares in Texas

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
ArlingtonPermit requiredNot specified
AustinPermit requiredNot specified
Corpus ChristiPermit requiredAn electrical permit is needed to replace a meter loop or panel, add receptacles or outlets, add circuits or lights, add a dryer plug, rewire a house, or add solar panels; communications cabling and low voltage work fall outside what the city permits at all.
DallasPermit requiredNot specified
El PasoPermit requiredReplacing a switch, receptacle, fuse, fan, light fixture, or similar equipment without altering the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing system is exempt.
Fort WorthPermit requiredNot specified
Houstonthis pagePermit requiredNot specified

How to apply in Houston

In Houston, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.

What most electrical permit applications include:

  • Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
  • For Houston, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
  • For Houston, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
  • Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
  • Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).

General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Houston Permitting Center sets the exact checklist for Houston.

Where to apply in Houston:

Houston Permitting Center

Electrical Permit in Houston compared with nearby Texas localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Texas schedule saysVerified
HoustonPermit requiredNot specifiedMinimum electrical permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with...
ArlingtonPermit requiredNot specifiedPlanning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No.
AustinPermit requiredNot specifiedElectrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee...
Corpus ChristiPermit requiredAn electrical permit is needed to replace a meter loop or panel, add receptacles or outlets, add circuits or lights, add a dryer plug, rewire a house, or add solar panels; communications cabling and low voltage work fall outside what the city permits at all.FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Electrical Permits: Residential $0.075 per square...
DallasPermit requiredNot specifiedBilled under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Houston, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.

  1. In Houston: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
  2. In Houston: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
  3. In Houston: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
  4. In Houston: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
  5. In Houston: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
  6. In Houston: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
  7. In Houston: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Houston permit portal or by phone at 832.394.8860.

Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Houston

In 2024, Houston authorized permits for 11,898 new residential housing units (6,808 single-family, 5,090 in multi-family buildings), valued at $3.2B, down from 16,430 the year before. That works out to about 5.2 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 2,268,194.

About Houston

Houston has about 1,023,112 housing units. The median home is valued at $253,400, against a median household income of $62,894. About 42% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1981.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an electrical permit in Houston?
An electrical permit is required in Houston for residential electrical work including new wiring, circuits, service upgrades, and sub-panel installations. Contractors must register their electrical license with the City. Permits are applied for through the iPermits online portal. Inspections are required before work is concealed. Always confirm with the Houston Permitting Center before starting.
How much does an electrical permit cost in Houston?
Minimum electrical permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with itemized charges per outlet, fixture or panel, per the 2026 Permit Fee Schedule effective 1/1/2026. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Houston?
You can apply through the Houston permit portal or contact the Houston Permitting Center directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Houston?
Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Houston applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Houston

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitIt dependsdeck not exceeding 200 sq ft and not more than 30 in above grade and not attached to dwelling and not serving required exit door is exempt from permitNo dedicated deck fee
Fence PermitIt dependsfences over 8 ft above grade require a permit; masonry or concrete fences require a permit regardless of heightFences cost $73.85 for the first 100 lineal feet plus $11.41 per additional 100 lineal...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specified2% of total job cost plus $47.00 base fee plus administrative fee of $33.56
Patio PermitIt dependspatio covers and enclosed patios require a permit; unroofed ground-level concrete slabs generally do not; impervious cover limits may trigger additional reviewNo dedicated patio fee
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedMinimum plumbing permit fee is $97.56 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with itemized...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential pool plan review costs $94 plus a $127.56 plan review fee and $33.56 admin...
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedValuation based per the city fee schedule with a $33.56 administrative fee printed on...
Shed PermitIt dependsone-story detached accessory structure under 120 sq ft does not require a permitNo dedicated shed fee
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedSolar panel permit fee is $91.06 plus the $33.56 administrative fee, with plan review...

Electrical Permit in other Texas localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Houston documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this electrical permit page for Houston was verified. 1 official source: houstonpermittingcenter.org; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Houston Permitting Center. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Texas localities

Electrical permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Houston permit record

Permit required
Get quotes