Electrical Permit in Dallas, Texas
Permit required
We could not confirm this
For all residential electrical work including wiring service upgrades and panel replacements
Issued byCity of Dallas Building Inspection
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required in Dallas for all residential electrical work including new wiring, circuit additions, service upgrades, and panel replacements. Dallas enforces the 2020 National Electrical Code with local amendments. Contractors must be registered with the city. Applications are submitted through the DallasNow portal.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all residential electrical work including wiring service upgrades and panel replacements
What an electrical permit costs in Dallas
How Dallas compares in Texas
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Threshold |
|---|---|---|
| Arlington | Permit required | Not specified |
| Austin | Permit required | Not specified |
| Corpus Christi | Permit required | An electrical permit is needed to replace a meter loop or panel, add receptacles or outlets, add circuits or lights, add a dryer plug, rewire a house, or add solar panels; communications cabling and low voltage work fall outside what the city permits at all. |
| Dallasthis page | Permit required | Not specified |
| El Paso | Permit required | Replacing a switch, receptacle, fuse, fan, light fixture, or similar equipment without altering the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing system is exempt. |
| Fort Worth | Permit required | Not specified |
| Houston | Permit required | Not specified |
How to apply in Dallas
In Dallas, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Dallas, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Dallas, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of Dallas Building Inspection sets the exact checklist for Dallas.
Where to apply in Dallas:
City of Dallas Building Inspection
- 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203
- Phone: 214-948-4480
Electrical Permit in Dallas compared with nearby Texas localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Texas schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade... | |
| Arlington | Permit required | Not specified | Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule, Effective June 1, 2026, Resolution No. | |
| Austin | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical trade permit base fee is $166.99, per the FY2025-26 DSD residential fee... | |
| Corpus Christi | Permit required | An electrical permit is needed to replace a meter loop or panel, add receptacles or outlets, add circuits or lights, add a dryer plug, rewire a house, or add solar panels; communications cabling and low voltage work fall outside what the city permits at all. | FY 2026 Development Fee Schedule, Electrical Permits: Residential $0.075 per square... | |
| El Paso | Permit required | Replacing a switch, receptacle, fuse, fan, light fixture, or similar equipment without altering the mechanical, electrical, or plumbing system is exempt. | FY 2026 Schedule C Departmental Fee List, Planning & Inspections, Electrical Permits:... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Dallas, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Dallas: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Dallas: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Dallas: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Dallas: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Dallas: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Dallas: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Dallas: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Dallas permit portal or by phone at 214-948-4480.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Dallas
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all residential electrical work including wiring service upgrades and panel replacements.
- Budget the fee. Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade permits), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Dallas, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Dallas permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Dallas Building Inspection. Phone: 214-948-4480. Address: 320 E. Jefferson Blvd., Dallas, TX 75203.
- Plan for inspections. In Dallas, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Dallas
In 2024, Dallas authorized permits for 6,038 new residential housing units (1,957 single-family, 4,081 in multi-family buildings), valued at $1.0B, down from 6,424 the year before. That works out to about 4.8 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 1,258,858.
About Dallas
Dallas has about 584,643 housing units. The median home is valued at $295,300, against a median household income of $67,760. About 42% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Dallas?
- An electrical permit is required in Dallas for all residential electrical work including new wiring, circuit additions, service upgrades, and panel replacements. Dallas enforces the 2020 National Electrical Code with local amendments. Contractors must be registered with the city. Applications are submitted through the DallasNow portal. Always confirm with the City of Dallas Building Inspection before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Dallas?
- Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I, includes standalone trade permits), value of work times 0.009652 times 1.33 with a $175 minimum plus a $125 single-trade inspection fee, per the fee schedule effective 7/1/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Dallas?
- You can apply through the Dallas permit portal or contact the City of Dallas Building Inspection directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Dallas?
- Under Texas law (Tex. Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6), 1301.051; Tex. Local Government Code 233.157(c)): Texas licenses individual construction trades rather than general contractors, so no state statute requires a license to act as your own general contractor on your own house. For electrical work, the state licensing law does not apply to work performed in or on a dwelling by a person who owns and resides in it, but only where no municipal ordinance specifically regulates that work, so city electrical licensing and permit rules still control inside city limits (Occupations Code 1305.003(a)(6)). For plumbing, a property owner does not need a state license to perform plumbing in the owner's homestead (Occupations Code 1301.051). In opt-in counties' unincorporated areas, an individual who builds their own house or acts as their own contractor is exempt from the Class C misdemeanor penalty for inspection notice failures if they intend to use the home as their primary residence (Local Government Code 233.157(c)). None of these exemptions waive local permit or inspection requirements where they apply. Confirm how Dallas applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Dallas
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | It depends | decks platforms walks or driveways not more than 30 inches above grade and not over any basement or story on single-family or duplex premises are exempt | No deck-specific line |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fences in side or rear yard over 6 ft require a permit; front yard fences over 4 ft require a permit | No fence-specific line |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed as a Mechanical Permit under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I)... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | detached patio covers of 200 sq ft or less on single-family or duplex premises are exempt; attached patio covers and those over 200 sq ft require a permit | No patio-cover line |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Billed under the Alterations or Repairs schedule (Table B-I), value of work times... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | prefabricated pools with walls completely above grade capacity under 5000 gallons and depth less than 24 inches are exempt; all other pools require a permit | No residential pool construction line (Code Compliance's annual pool operating permit is... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | It depends | re-roofing of single-family or duplex valued at $500 or less does not require a permit; re-roofing valued over $500 or full replacement requires a permit | No re-roofing line |
| Shed Permit | It depends | one-story detached utility or storage buildings under 200 sq ft without utilities on single-family or duplex premises are exempt from a permit | No shed-specific line |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No solar-specific line |
Electrical Permit in other Texas localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Dallas documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Dallas was verified. 2 official sources: dallascityhall.com, dallascityhall.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Dallas Building Inspection. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Texas localities